We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cape Canaveral, Florida
1 review
“Good stay for the price.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed in the inn based on the price they were offering that night (approximate $50). The inn is old but the room was well maintained, comfortable and worth price. The front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Daniel, thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We are so pleased that you found our staff friendly and our rooms clean and well-maintained. Although we are an older hotel, we are in the process of upgrading many features. We are currently swapping out all furniture in the rooms with new furniture. We are also swapping out the old box TVs with 40 inch LCD flat screens so that our guests can enjoy free HBO and other channels even more. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have you back again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    457
    216
    101
    64
See reviews for
478
346
178
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is my second visit here & already have a weeks stay booked for Christmas week! The staff is wonderful! The rooms are very clean...love having the fridge & microwave in room and on-site restaurant, not a huge menu but everything has been good. Can't beat free breakfast too! We will be moving close by & expect our future visitors to utilize this while in the area!

Room Tip: My room was facing the highway.....could cause sleep issues if you have noise issues!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJE131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our Howard Johnson staff and our facilities. We are so pleased that you have chosen to stay wit us on these several occasions while planning your move to Ocala. Ocala and Marion County are great places to live and work. The same attractions that draw visitors to the area also make the quality of life great for those who live here. We hope that once you settle in, you will be able to visit some popular attractions like the Santos Trail, the Cross Florida Greenway, the Ocala Naitonal Forest and the Rainbow River. All of these and more make Ocala great. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneida, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have been staying at this HJ for several years and have never had a bad experience! The recent and current re-modeling and re-decorating is great and gives the place a new, fresh look. The staff is great, good location, fair prices, clean rooms. Who could ask for more???

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkl7317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for your very flattering comments for our Howard Johnson hotel of Ocala! We are so pleased that we can welcome you back every time you visit Ocala and surprise you with new additions and upgrades to our hotel. We are constantly improving while still focusing on continued maintenance and upkeep. We are hoping to offer even more value to our guests in the coming year so we can't wait until your next visit to show you what we have in store!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Value was there. Breakfast was below average except for the fruit and waffles. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
The room was nice and we liked the ref and microwave included. More towels that were softer would have made it nicer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroBeachBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Brenda, thank you for your comments about our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the amenities that our hotel had to offer. We know that some guests like having the microwave and mini-fridge so they can dine in their room or store leftovers. However, for those guests who want to grab a bit out, we have a restaurant onsite that serves breakfast and dinner. We offer the complimentary breakfast that you mentioned but we also have many breakfast combos available also if you want to really indulge. Thank you again for taking the time to tell others about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel was very nice for the money. I was there with an event at a decent rate, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The a/c was hard to use, could have had better directions on how to use it. I arrived late and Theresa was friendly and efficient and greeted me in the morning as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Brad, thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala! We are pleased that our hotel could suit your needs while in town for an event. We wish that you had more time to spent with us so that you could enjoy other features of our property such as the restaurant, fitness center, pool and hot tub, and business center. We always want every guest to get the most value out of their stay as possible. Hopefully you will get to come back another time. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
322 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#12 of 34 in Ocala
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn Ocala
Quality Inn Ocala
#15 of 34 in Ocala
234 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing