We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good night's stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Abbotsford BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good night's stay”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff at check-in were friendly and professional. The facility seemed well maintained and my room was large and clean. There was a good work area and the wifi worked well, but the area would be much better with a table lamp and more electrical outlets. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The free breakfast was about average. Overall, this hotel offers very good value for the traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Arthur, thank you so much for your review of our Howard Johnson of Ocala hotel! We are very pleased that you felt that you got good value for your money. We always try to make every guest feel this way with the free wi-fi, the free breakfast, the clean rooms and the friendly service, all of which you noted. We will keep your comment about the electrical outlets in mind. This is a problem that we are looking into ways to solve and we hope to have a solution in the next year. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    448
    215
    100
    64
See reviews for
462
344
176
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Is a great hotel I can stay anywhere and I think this is the best. Cedric in the night crew are fantastic
Very clean rooms great breakfast in the morning with fresh raisin bran Kellogg's and very crist and lite waffles
But the putting green is the best please do not ever get rid of that
I come up several times a month and will not stay anywhere else
Richard Sprys.

Room Tip: Ask for remodel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you Richard! As I am sure you know by now, Cedric and our staff love familiar faces and are eager to welcome home our regulars. We are very happy to have you. The putt putt course is a staple of our Howard Johnson of Ocala and we think that it gives the place a fun and casual feeling that most guests get a kick out of. Thank you again for your review and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Canaveral, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed in the inn based on the price they were offering that night (approximate $50). The inn is old but the room was well maintained, comfortable and worth price. The front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Daniel, thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We are so pleased that you found our staff friendly and our rooms clean and well-maintained. Although we are an older hotel, we are in the process of upgrading many features. We are currently swapping out all furniture in the rooms with new furniture. We are also swapping out the old box TVs with 40 inch LCD flat screens so that our guests can enjoy free HBO and other channels even more. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have you back again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is my second visit here & already have a weeks stay booked for Christmas week! The staff is wonderful! The rooms are very clean...love having the fridge & microwave in room and on-site restaurant, not a huge menu but everything has been good. Can't beat free breakfast too! We will be moving close by & expect our future visitors to utilize this while in the area!

Room Tip: My room was facing the highway.....could cause sleep issues if you have noise issues!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJE131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our Howard Johnson staff and our facilities. We are so pleased that you have chosen to stay wit us on these several occasions while planning your move to Ocala. Ocala and Marion County are great places to live and work. The same attractions that draw visitors to the area also make the quality of life great for those who live here. We hope that once you settle in, you will be able to visit some popular attractions like the Santos Trail, the Cross Florida Greenway, the Ocala Naitonal Forest and the Rainbow River. All of these and more make Ocala great. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#12 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing