We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I was skeptical to stay here because of some of the reviews I read, but since it was just for one night and the price was right, I decided to take a chance (the Thanksgiving holiday spiked the rates of other hotels in the area). I must say I was pleasantly surprised. I was able to check-in early, the manager on duty was very pleasant and accommodating, my room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. Maybe I was reading old reviews but I found my stay to be more than acceptable. I do have one complaint though. I have an uncommon last name and apparently so does a male guest who regularly stays at Howard Johnson, sensitive information the employee found no problem in sharing with me. What if I was this man's wife and had no idea he was sneaking off to some hotel. Because of this gross violation of privacy, I gave 3 stars instead of 4.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdeason61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that our staff was able to give you a clean, comfortable room at a great value over the Thanksgiving holiday. We know that many hotels are sold out over these days and we are glad that we could accommodate you. I apologize that our staff believed you to be related to, or married to another guest based on your last name. Although we try to keep guest information private, it sounds like your staff member mistook you for someone you were not and shared information they should not have. It is actually common to have families check in with different first names on the reservation but the same last name for the individual checking in. I will speak to our staff about trying to be more careful about disclosing any information that is needed. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,083 - 1,089 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

My daughter and I stay at this hotel fairly often whenvisiting my grandchildren/great-grandchildren. The hotel is convenient and clean and the staff is friendly. We enjoy the continental breakfast, the hotel is quiet and has nice ammenities. This time was over a holiday and our room had only one towel and the hairdryer was broken, they also did not empty the trash. They gave us more towels from the desk and said they would report the dryer.This was the only time I had anything to complain about and would recommend the hotel as a comfortable, reasonable priced motel.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been non-smoking on the first floor, AC's work well and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I m so pleased that you and your family have had great stays with us in the past. I apologize that this time there was a broken hairdryer and that the trash was not emptied. We always try to ensure a clean and well-maintained hotel as you know from your prior stays. We hope that next time we can make up for it by giving you excellent service and a sparkling clean room. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank VegasCat15
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the room was roomy and clean, and the food at the restaurant was delicious. I highly recommend Howard Johnson Inn, Ocala, Florida!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajmacdonaldjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Aj, thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the clean rooms and friendly staff. We are especially happy that you got to try to food at the restaurant. It is a simple menu but it is good old home cooking with hearty portions, reasonable prices, and fast service. There is also room service too ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Cedric is an amazing manager!!! The rooms are clean the staff is helpful and breakfast is awesome!!!! Rooms are fairly priced and they allow pets with a deposit! The hot tub is amazing after a long day!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vap1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We are so pleased that you and your fuzzy friend enjoyed your time with us. As you mentioned, we are pet friendly and will allow pets in designated rooms with a fee. We are also pleased that you got a chance to enjoy the hot tub. Our heated outdoor pool and hot tub are some of our favorite guest amenities. Thank you again and we hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff at check-in were friendly and professional. The facility seemed well maintained and my room was large and clean. There was a good work area and the wifi worked well, but the area would be much better with a table lamp and more electrical outlets. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The free breakfast was about average. Overall, this hotel offers very good value for the traveler.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Arthur, thank you so much for your review of our Howard Johnson of Ocala hotel! We are very pleased that you felt that you got good value for your money. We always try to make every guest feel this way with the free wi-fi, the free breakfast, the clean rooms and the friendly service, all of which you noted. We will keep your comment about the electrical outlets in mind. This is a problem that we are looking into ways to solve and we hope to have a solution in the next year. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
347 reviews
13 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Ocala Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing