We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    471
    224
    102
    64
See reviews for
496
354
184
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Needed to stop for the night and decided to try the Howard Johnson's in Ocala, Fl. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Employees Cedric and Jake were a wonderful addition to our stay. They were smiling, helpful and truly welcoming to all guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkeyinMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Markey, thank you for taking the time to review our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala, Florida! It always puts a smile on our face to read that our guests were truly happy with their stay. Our staff takes great pride in keeping our guest rooms clean and refreshed. We have updated all of our rooms with new flat screen TVs, carpeting and bedding. We work diligently to maintain and update our hotel! I am pleased to hear that Cedric and Jake made you feel welcome. Thanks again for letting others know how wonderfully we are doing. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Conveniently located, clean, and good wifi. I would recommend it as a good budget hotel. It is just off rte 75. Staff were friendly. Rooms are dated but I wasn't spending time in the room. I just cared that it was clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88ShellyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you, Shelly, for the great review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala, Florida! Our budget hotel provides for exceptional service, clean rooms at a great value. We take great pride in going above and beyond for all of our guests. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and your room to be clean. To us, there is no greater compliment! We are always looking to improve upon our product and service. Please let us know what would have made your stay a more excellent one. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haliburton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had not counted on our usual places being fully booked by the time we arrived at Ocala. We went from one place to another and all were booked. But we were tired and needed a place to stay. Finally we noticed the HJ place down a narrow street and decided to check it out. Yes, they had a room available. Cost was $150 plus tax. That is more than twice the amount we paid for more appealing places on route to Florida. But tired and in need of getting away from the incredible i75 traffic we took a room.

First the positive - the staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful - they even tried to help us find alternative accommodations near-by. But none were available. So they get good points on that matter.

One other positive was the small attached restaurant. They offered up a nightly special that was reasonably priced, prepared by a real chef and was excellent value. Other than the special the other food choices were extremely limited and mostly from-frozen items.

It's downhill from here. The room smelled of chemical cleaner. The bed was reasonably comfortable but the linens, pillows and other appointments were out of an era gone by. The heater/air conditioner was extremely noisy. The room faced directly on to i75 and the pounding truck noise was relentless for the entire night. Neighbours could be heard through the walls. The phone didn't work. The bathroom was more-or-less clean but had no vent fan so everything fogged up after a shower. To its credit there was a small fridge and coffee maker.

A breakfast was included and was about average. Most of the usual items as well as boiled egg and waffles. limited fruit, cereals, etc. You could upgrade to a cooked breakfast from the restaurant for a cost.

In summary, we would only use this place again if we had no other options.

Room Tip: There are two separate accommodation buildings. One faces directly on to i75. The other is at right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dan thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Our guest feedback is of the utmost importance to us as it helps us to improve upon our overall guest satisfaction. Florida hotels are at peak season right now and every weekend in the month of March is a special event weekend for us here in the Ocala area which is why you had difficulty finding a room. We are happy that you chose us! Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our friendly, helpful staff and our restaurant. As we are quite a drive from other restaurants, we find that providing our guests with dining options is a convenience most thoroughly enjoy. It would be most helpful if you would provide us with more information on your room so that we can investigate the smell, bedding and phone issues. All of our guest rooms have been refreshed with new bedding, carpets and televisions so I am not sure why the bedding would have been dated. We reinvest most of the monies earned into improving, refreshing and updating our grounds and guest rooms. As we are a budget option hotel, you won't find the perks of a higher end property. As you mentioned, our location off of I-75 leaves us vulnerable to traffic noise. Unfortunately there isn't anyway for us to remedy that. Our email address is howardjohnsonocala@hdghotels.com. We would appreciate you letting us know the room number and the dates of your stay so that we can look into the issues. Only our guests can help us to improve and so your feedback is priceless to us. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#5 of 34 in Ocala
331 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#8 of 34 in Ocala
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Ocala Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing