We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Customer Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Customer Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This Howard Jonson's hotel has some of the best staff I have ever experienced.Cedric,the manager, went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The rooms were very clean and we saw security frequently driving the property. The food was fantastic! I recommend the club sandwich and the burgers!! A special thanks to Cedric,Renee and Byrd. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 534pamelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our exceptional staff and delicious food. Our staff strives to go above and beyond for each of our guests. As you mention, our hotel offers 24 hour security and we have an on-site, full restaurant with daily specials. I hope you were able to enjoy some of the beautiful Ocala area during your stay. Our hotel is minutes from Silver Springs State Park, Silver River and the Ocala National Forest. We are a great stopping point for those traveling to the Orlando attractions and theme parks. Please keep us in mind next time you're in the area! We always enjoy welcoming back friendly faces. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    431
    211
    91
    63
See reviews for
433
326
168
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The room was clean, everything worked. The kids enjoyed the pool and mini golf. The breakfast was ok, but most of the items that were served for an additional charge are offered as part of the continental breakfast at other chains. The major negative of our stay at this property is that our party booked 3 rooms for a week with queen beds. Upon check in we were told that the rooms were not all together, so instead of the property making sure our rooms were together to begin with, they downgraded us to double beds in order for all the rooms to be near each other. When someone books multiple rooms in ADVANCE!! it should be obvious that the rooms should be booked together nd not all over the property. Whether the rooms are booked directly through the hotel or through a third party. Other than that it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: clean rooms good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you, Timothy, for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your clean room, our outdoor swimming pool and the mini golf course! I do apologize that we couldn't accommodate your three queen rooms side by side. As your reservation came over through Expedia on the day of arrival, we weren't able to place the three rooms together. Room placement is based upon availability and we were quite full making it impossible for us to find three queen rooms next to each other. We did our best to accommodate your wishes to be close. I am sorry you were disappointed! As we do have a full restaurant on-site, we don't provide a full, hot complimentary breakfast; however, we do offer a deluxe continental breakfast for our guests at no charge. Should you come back to the Ocala area, please let us know in advance! We would love the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional stay! Thanks again for the feedback. We greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Cedric and Abby were wonderful. They were very professional and so very friendly. I would stay here again just for the stellar customer service I received. The room was adequately furnished, but does need to be remodeled.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you, Josie, for the great review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the exceptional service provided by Cedric and Abby. We have a wonderful staff here at our hotel. We truly believe in going above and beyond for each and every guest. Our general manager has read your review and thanks you for the suggestions. They take great pride in consistently updating, renovating and refreshing all of our guest rooms with fresh paint, new bedding, 40" Flat Screen TVs and more. Please do visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

It's been a while since I've stayed at a motel like this, an older place where each individual room door opens to the outside. I expected a scuzzy place, with dirty carpet and a big dent in the middle of the mattress. I was wrong. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff I met were all nice. I avoided the free breakfast after the first day because the place was crowded, with many little ones heading to the theme parks, and the choices didn't thrill me, neither did eating from styrofoam plates. You can order made-to-order eggs and meat for an additional charge. They also serve dinner, but the place is small, nothing like the Howard Johnson's restaurants of my childhood. It looked like no one ate there for dinner, and most of the staff were outside smoking or otherwise waiting for customers to appear. Be aware that Howard Johnson's also asks people who stay there to submit reviews, which are then submitted to TripAdvisor, one suspects only positive reviews are passed along. I choose to post through my own TripAdvisor account. Other than the restaurant and the questionable reviews, I would recommend this as a clean and affordable place to stay.

Green Features: I saw a bin for plastic recycling at the base of the stairs, not sure if they recycle paper. The notice about saving towels from being washed was on the shower curtain bar way over my head, i couldn't read it.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbyduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you, Shelby, for a great review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! We take our guests' feedback very seriously and use it as an opportunity to improve upon our service and product. We appreciate it! We want each guest to leave having had an excellent experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your clean room and comfy bed. We take great pride in maintaining our hotel rooms and grounds. I am sorry that you found our breakfast area to be a bit crowded. We do have busy times which does sometimes cause our breakfast area to be a bit crowded. Howard Johnson requests that you review your stays in order for each hotel to improve and to ensure an excellent stay experience. You may chose to post anywhere you wish! Again, we greatly appreciate it. We hope to see you again upon your next trip to the Ocala, Florida area. We are within close proximity to the Orlando attractions and minutes from Silver Springs State Park and Wild Waters...a convenient stopping point for many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

First off the staff from Cedric who we thought was security was a great help he came to our room at 10:30pm to help us get our laptop and tablet on the wi-fi he was very patient and walked us through the steps.Eddie who checked us in called us as we were on our way to the hotel to see how our trip was going which we have never had any other hotel check on our drive to the hotel once we got their the check in was smooth and fast.The rooms were very clean.We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed both of them the food from the hotel was just as good as going out to eat.

We found out when we went to check out that Cedric was the manager and when he checked us out he made sure we enjoyed our stay and hopes we would return to stay there if we came back to town we assured him we would stay there again without a second thought.

I would like to add we have stayed at some 5 star hotels and would not go back not because I was not happy with the room it was because of the staff I like people to be themselves and not act like what they are doing is a job the staff at this hotel treats you like friends and are willing to help with anything you need down to printing out directions for you if you need to get somewhere around town.Thanks for 2 great days away from home

Room Tip: We stayed to the side of the pool much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you, James, for the excellent review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! I am pleased to hear that Cedric provided you with exceptional service during your stay. As you mentioned, we do have an on-site restaurant which provides for full, cook-to-order meals throughout the day. Ask us about our daily specials next time you're in town! No request is too great for our guests here at Howard Johnson Ocala. We want you to leave feeling completely satisfied! Thank you for taking a moment to review us. We greatly appreciate feedback from our guests! I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#7 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing