We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was good, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Overall experience was good if you are looking for a place only to sleep because you'll spend around the city.
This is an old hotel but room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable.
Staff was amazing all the time
My only complaint would be about the breakfast, it was really disappointed, coffee was terrible too.

Overall, I would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaySosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for the review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel! We value our guest feedback and take each review seriously as it is a way to improve upon our service and product. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our sparkling clean guest rooms and our exceptional staff. We pride ourselves on providing you with an excellent stay experience. I do apologize that you didn't enjoy our breakfast and coffee. If you wouldn't mind taking a moment to let us know specifically what it was that disappointed you, we would appreciate it. Our email is howardjohnsonocala@hdghotels.com. Should you visit our area again, please be sure to let us know. We always want to make it right for our guests. It would be our pleasure to make a reservation for you and set up a fantastic breakfast experience! Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

yes the hotel was a little older but it was well maintained and clean, they have a great pool area for the kids and the adults. The room was nice and quiet with comfortable beds. Our safe did not operate but other than that it was just fine. Now for the best part of our stay there, the staff, what a great group of professionals. We were greeted by Dorian upon arrival and let me tell you I have been in some of the nicest hotels in the world in my travels and never have I been treated with such respect and sincerity. He is the best I have ever had the pleasure at dealing with, just an awesome job. We had a storm our first night there which blew one of the phases of electricity so we had only partial power (which was no fault of theirs) and they offered us free hot breakfast at no charge and if I can say the food was really good both for dinner and breakfast. I can only say good things and if it was newer it would of scored a perfect five...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_B1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for the excellent review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala hotel! I am thrilled to hear that Dorian provided you with exceptional service during your stay. I will be sure to pass along your compliments. As you mentioned, we are an older property; however, most of our rooms have been completely updated including new carpeting, bedding, flat screen TVs and bathroom fixtures. We take great pride in keeping our hotel sparkling clean and updated! Thank you for noticing and appreciating our efforts. Our hot, cooked-to-order breakfast is available at a minimal charge and provides you with a delicious way to start your day. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is an old hotel, but Room was clean, bed was comfortable and staff was pleasant. Breakfast area was well maintained. Air was alittle loud . had a nice flat screen tv. Left our charger and within 5 minutes of checkout they called. Thank you Toy,for your. honesty and integrity.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bemytravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for the excellent review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your fresh, clean room with our comfy Serta beds. As you mentioned, all of our rooms have 40" flat screen televisions with premium channels. We always strive to go above and beyond for our guests which is why when you forget something, we do everything we can to get it back to you! Thank you again for taking the time to review us. Our guest feedback is extremely important to us as it is the only way we can improve. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Glad they were so friendly and welcoming, and my room was probably one of the best.

But the overall facility needs updating. Confusing entrance to property and buildings/room numbers not marked or lighted well. Good location, some road noise, BUT such a value as only there 8 hours. liked the small sofa and floor lamp for reading.

Room Tip: am rewards member so it helps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you, Ronald, for reviewing our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala. Guest feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve upon our product and service. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your clean room with your sofa and floor lamp! Our rooms are constantly being updated, refreshed and remodeled. As we are an older, exterior corridor property we go to great lengths to maintain our grounds and all of our guest rooms. We thank you for being a rewards member with Wyndham and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This Howard Jonson's hotel has some of the best staff I have ever experienced.Cedric,the manager, went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The rooms were very clean and we saw security frequently driving the property. The food was fantastic! I recommend the club sandwich and the burgers!! A special thanks to Cedric,Renee and Byrd. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 534pamelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our exceptional staff and delicious food. Our staff strives to go above and beyond for each of our guests. As you mention, our hotel offers 24 hour security and we have an on-site, full restaurant with daily specials. I hope you were able to enjoy some of the beautiful Ocala area during your stay. Our hotel is minutes from Silver Springs State Park, Silver River and the Ocala National Forest. We are a great stopping point for those traveling to the Orlando attractions and theme parks. Please keep us in mind next time you're in the area! We always enjoy welcoming back friendly faces. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The room was clean, everything worked. The kids enjoyed the pool and mini golf. The breakfast was ok, but most of the items that were served for an additional charge are offered as part of the continental breakfast at other chains. The major negative of our stay at this property is that our party booked 3 rooms for a week with queen beds. Upon check in we were told that the rooms were not all together, so instead of the property making sure our rooms were together to begin with, they downgraded us to double beds in order for all the rooms to be near each other. When someone books multiple rooms in ADVANCE!! it should be obvious that the rooms should be booked together nd not all over the property. Whether the rooms are booked directly through the hotel or through a third party. Other than that it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: clean rooms good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you, Timothy, for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your clean room, our outdoor swimming pool and the mini golf course! I do apologize that we couldn't accommodate your three queen rooms side by side. As your reservation came over through Expedia on the day of arrival, we weren't able to place the three rooms together. Room placement is based upon availability and we were quite full making it impossible for us to find three queen rooms next to each other. We did our best to accommodate your wishes to be close. I am sorry you were disappointed! As we do have a full restaurant on-site, we don't provide a full, hot complimentary breakfast; however, we do offer a deluxe continental breakfast for our guests at no charge. Should you come back to the Ocala area, please let us know in advance! We would love the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional stay! Thanks again for the feedback. We greatly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Cedric and Abby were wonderful. They were very professional and so very friendly. I would stay here again just for the stellar customer service I received. The room was adequately furnished, but does need to be remodeled.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you, Josie, for the great review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the exceptional service provided by Cedric and Abby. We have a wonderful staff here at our hotel. We truly believe in going above and beyond for each and every guest. Our general manager has read your review and thanks you for the suggestions. They take great pride in consistently updating, renovating and refreshing all of our guest rooms with fresh paint, new bedding, 40" Flat Screen TVs and more. Please do visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#5 of 34 in Ocala
343 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Ocala Conference Center
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range: £47 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing