We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but doesn't consistently deliver HH benefits”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Ocala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Ocala
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
GreenLeadersGold level
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
217 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good hotel but doesn't consistently deliver HH benefits”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I have been travelling to this hotel off and on for the past 3 years. As a Hilton diamond member, I should be given certain benefits which is spotty at this particular hotel. Overall, the hotel is fine. There is a bar and restaurant which is to be expected at a Hilton. The breakfast in the restaurant is consistently very good. The restaurant staff are excellent, at breakfast and dinner. The hotel has an executive lounge which is available if you book an executive level room or have a high status with the chain. There have been several occasions where I have not been upgraded to an executive room despite availability (according to the very nice lady who runs the lounge). The front desk staff are poorly trained and never welcome me back or acknowledge my hotel status. Their computers tell them this information. The rooms are clean and average sized.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    338
    145
    63
    40
See reviews for
421
347
102
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
louisiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We've stayed numerous times at the Hilton Ocala. This was our first visit in more than a year. The room was clean and comfortable. For the first time, the Hilton wanted to charge me for internet service. I chose not to use it, as I think internet service should be free. The television is very slow to change channels (a problem i've observed at numerous hotels).
We eat breakfast in the hotel every time and are rarely disappointed. Our favorite waitress, Sherry, tells us the best dishes, and she's never wrong. The buffet is adequate; we order off the menu. Buy your breakfast coupons at the front desk, and save a few dollars off the price.
I always ask for their best rates and am usually rewarded with an excellent rate. We paid $99 a night on this trip. The hotel is right beside I 75, but you don't hear the highway from the hotel. It's a pleasant hotel and I'll stay there again. I've found it the best value in Ocala.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room facing the pool. There's a large horse paddock behind the pool. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Ocala isn't a large city so i didn't expect anything like Four Seasons Maui. If you are here for a few days on business it is probably the best place you will find. Lots of college sports teams stay here when they play U of F so lobby can get a bit cramped. Rooms are comfortable but need a little updating. A bit overpriced for being in Ocala though

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iscreenwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
398 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We recently spent two days here while visiting friends in Ocala. We were pleasantly surprised by the country feel in the middle of the city next to I-75. While we were there the hotel hosted private group meetings, and a big wedding, and we did not feel a pinch in the service. The bar was very good and the food service better than your average hotel. In addition there are several walkable restaurants nearby. To our surprise our room got cleaned while we were at breakfast. Our room had everything we like such as a very comfortable bed, two luggage racks, two chairs, a shower cap and a small safe. Buddy (the house horse) and his carriage were delightful touch.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Your comments are very much appreciated, and we hope to have you as our guest the next time you visit the area. We certainly can be busy at times, and weddings are such wonderful events...it is our goal that no matter the reason for your stay with us you receive the same level of service each and every time. Happy Holidays from the Hilton Ocala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
destin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

this was our 2nd stay at this hotel while driving through south florida. Employees are very friendly. Hotel is clean and convenient to, many restaurants and the mall. The whole family enjoys this Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
It's always nice to see the nice comments, as our team strives to make sure everyone has the most perfect stay possible. Our goal is to be your "home away from home" and provide you the hospitality and comfort you expect from Hilton Ocala. We look forward to you returning in the future.
Karl Kaufmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The hotel is in a great location for a trip to Ocala and even backs up to what looks like some horse stables. The price is usually very reasonable and the stay very comfortable. The Executive lounge was ok, it had some snack food and drinks, but all alcohol has an additional charge. Breakfast was just average as well. The waitstaff were very attentive and nice, but the food was just barely acceptable. The eggs were quite poor in quality and the rest of the food medicore at best.
Overall, comfortable place to stay for a quick trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl K, Owner at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you for yoyr feedback. We do find that many guests are pleasently surprised at just how large and welcoming the exterior amenities are at the hotel. With our full-court basketball, tennis, beach volleyball, enormous pool and spa deck, as well as the 6-acre grass & oak paddock out back...there is plenty of room to relax. And yes...you can take a job or quiet walk through the horse farms that are adjacent to the hotel.
We look forward to your return visit, and future comments to help our team improve every day.
Karl Kaufmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I am a hilton honors member that was traveling south from my cabin in NC with pets. VERY PET friendly hotel but there is a charge that comes with that of $49.00. The setting is perfect if you have a dog because the back property is one big field manicured with horses in the back. Perfect for pet walking.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. My major complaint were the below items that attention to detail could have corrected...for example.

1. My door key did not work..now mind you, this was a PAIN because I was loaded down w/ luggage, cooler, cat, dog and food and the freak'n door didn't work--traveling alone --no one to fetch a new key. I had reserved this room in advance and if the hotel had been paying attention to detail this would not have happened. Ended up needed batteries--oh please!
2. Bed comfortable but sheets felt like sand paper--whats up w/ that?
3. Make up mirror broken--light broken--attention to detail would have had that thing working or replaced.
4. The refrigerator needed to be defrosted. Pretty sorry little refrigerator had a freezer so small, I don't know what would fit in it. I rented this room for the refrigerator and couldn't use it (this was a huge suite-too).
5. They had 2- elevators but only one worked and slow, slow, slow.

It is an older hotel but very nice setting and very nice staff worth going back to again. I would suggest to Management that a little more attention to detail would make this a top notch hotel. I'll be back to see if they've improved...so look out.

Room Tip: pool view rooms would be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbosock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Your comments are very valuable in making our team the best possible. There are some things that are unpredictable, and I certainly feel that our team responded to your needs in a timely manner. We look forward to your return visit, and I certainly hope you have the time to meet me and our management team while here.
Karl Kaufmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ocala

Property: Hilton Ocala
Address: 3600 SW 36th Ave, Ocala, FL 34474-4474
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocala
#3 Business Hotel in Ocala
#5 Family Hotel in Ocala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Ocala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Ocala is truely a "Piece of Paradise in the Heart of Horse Country." Located just off I-75 at SR200 you will find the area's most popular restaurants within walking or a short drive distance from the hotel. At the Hilton Ocala, you will find every comfort of home or office. Each room features comfortable, plush bedding, ample work-desk space, modern decor, and more. Our 8th & 9th VIP floors include access to our 9th floor VIP lounge with morning continental breakfast, evening appetizers, drink specials, and more.When it's time to relax, induldge in our large outdoor heated pool or whirlpool, or just relax on our enormous pool deck. If a little exercise is part of your day, take a jog outback in the glade and visit Buddy, our resident Clydesdale horse, and enjoy our outdoor fitness stations or workout in our well-equipped in door fitness center.The Starting Gate lobby bar is perfect for a cool beverage, dinner, or late night snack. Arthur's Restaurant is on of Ocala's most popular dining destinations open for Breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday Brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ocala Hotel Ocala
Hilton Hotel Ocala
Ocala Hilton Hotel
Hilton Ocala Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing