We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, not Grat”
Review of Hilton Ocala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Ocala
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
GreenLeadersGold level
Olean, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Okay, not Grat”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This property is in need of major update. Rooms were musty with an old deodorized air conditioner smell. Bed has springs popping out side of mattress and desk lamp was missing in my room. Public areas run down, lobby pantry a joke and at least one very rude front desk staff person...he was less than helpful.

Room Tip: Upper floors appeared somewhat better, but not much.
See more room tips
Green Features: FCC bulbs were too dim to see, read ,shave or function in room.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsandmark9121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
The reason we are the most sought after full-service hotel in the region is our constant attention to detail and continual upgrades to our property. Each guest has their own perception as to what they experieced during their stay and our goal is to reach a strong consistancy of excellence time and time again.
We hope you stop by and speak to our staff and let us show you why we are rated one of the top 100 Hilton Hotels in the company time and time again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    348
    145
    63
    41
See reviews for
432
351
105
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

After two long days of driving with two large dogs in the back seat, it was great to have a nice place to spend the night. The dogs always add a wrinkle to travel plans, since the better hotels often refuse service. This Hilton, however, was more than a pleasant surprise. As far as the actual facility, it was fairly typical of this grade hotels: clean, close to the interstate, decent parking, relatively quiet, professional staff, and better-than-expected grounds. Being able to take the dogs out for a brisk run in the very nice, wooded field behind the hotel was a definite bonus. If you are on your way to the Keys or Miami from points north, this is a good place to fortify yourself for the interstate highway demolition derby that ensues south of Ocala. Goodness, we passed at least fifteen wrecks from here to Miami. Heavy rain and cars flying down the road at seventy-miles-per hour--not so great.

Room Tip: Rooms on parking lot side are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We are so very glad you traveled the challanges of Interstate 75 and the turnpike without trouble. Most people are very surprised at the quality of accommodations.. The 6-acre oak lined grass paddock (or big back yard) is a favoriate with every pet owner that calls Hilton Ocala home on the road. We hope to see you return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed one night. The Hotel staff at check-in were sarcastic and really did not seem to care about my rerquested room upgrade. The Hotel has a very strong musty smell to it and appears to be in need of an upgrade. There was no mini fridge in the room and we had to listed to loud music from the hotewl bar untill about 9 pm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank fboyd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
When we do not meet a guest's expectations it immediately creates the need for our management team to gather and discuss how to improve what we do.
I do feel you were not told of our weekly poolside "Party on the Patio" every Friday with free live music and discounted drinks from 6-9pm. In the future if this is something not to your liking a simple move to our rooms not facing the pool and grass paddock would fix that issue.
Please contact us when you arrive on your next stay and we will make every attempt to have your stay be perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
504 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had ankle surgery at a nearby hospital and felt that it would be better to recuperate for a few days at a hotel before returning to our home. Stayed at the Ocala Hilton for three days to be near the doctor and hospital in case of complications. Our room was very clean and updated. Did not utilize many of the hotel amenities because of my mobility issues, as we stayed in the room the whole time.

The hotel was packed with many teenagers as there was a local baseball tournament in progress and many teams had book the Hilton. We did not have any problems with noise.

Our stay was very pleasant considering my situation.

Room Tip: Hotel is booked by many large parties, so the downstairs common areas can be mayhem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoopFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
So glad to hear that your hospital stay and results were great...and that you enjoyed the Hilton Ocala during our hosting of the Babe Ruth-cal RIpken World Series tournament taking place in Ocala.
it's always a challange balancing 10-12 yr old baseball boys and our VIP travelers...but this incredible group of professionals seems to work wonders with each and every guest,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Had a Wedding over the summer (off-site), but chose the Ocala Hilton as the hotel we would like to have our guests stay at and also have a farewell brunch. There were quite a few problems with our experience there, but the main one was with the sales department. I tried countless times to speak with someone about making reservations, and always had trouble (for some reason unknown to me as to why there was not a person that could do it). As weeks of this went on, a woman name Kasey called to help me with my contract (apparently she was from corporate reservations). Although she was friendly and helpful, I'm not sure why corporate had to handle my simple reservation for a room block. I went through and signed a contract with her and apparently it got sent to the hotel directly. Besides the fact that she was unable to answer some questions for me (not her fault since she was not at the hotel), I had other problems. Mainly, the farewell brunch. On our final day, we invited all of the wedding guests (both out-of-town and locals) to join us for their Sunday Brunch. When we all met downstairs the hostess said she did not have a reservation for us. I explained it was in my signed contract and that their was suppose to be a reserved area for brunch in their restaurant for approximately 30 people. At this point there were employees running frantically around and after about 45 minutes of waiting we were able to sit down in a hallway they put us in, since they had no where else. Not exactly how me an my bride planned on saying our good-byes to friends and family, many of which we haven't seen in years. I will say though that Pam and Erin were great. They seemed to be the only helpful people at this hotel. I believe if someone from the hotel would've taken my reservation to begin with, then we would have not had the problems that we did

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
We know how important and special a wedding weekend can be, and I know we have spoke directly regarding this issue that you were not pleased with back in May...thus our surprise to see it come up here 6 months later.
Our corporate group sales department is one of the best in the biz, and Kasey is certainly professional and detailed. I thank you for recognizing Pam and Erin in our Ocala Sales office, as they also make every effort to keep track of each detail regarding these important events. We readily accept that our team was not ready for you on Sunday morning and have made every effort to communicate that to you 6 months ago, but am glad to do so here again. Our Sunday brunch now includes smooth piano music while you enjoy the best culinary Sunday feast in the region and complimentary champagne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Comfortable bed, good breakfast, typical Hilton high standard. Liked the horse themed decor, especially the jockey silks display in the foyer. Met 'Buddy' the resident Clydesdale in his paddock, very friendly horse.

Green Features: impressed by Hilton Group's policies to conserve the environment
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Yes...Hilton Ocala is certainly the leading destination for the equine community when visiting Ocala...and Buddy our resident Clydesdale is the friendliest fella you will find (he loves peppermints and apples).

I hope you got to spend time enjoying the Starting Gate Lounge...ranked in the top 10 within all Hilton Hotels...another perfectly themed wonderful amenity in the heart of Horse Country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort walton beach
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here before, as we make our way South or North! It has certain Hilton things you can count on. It's safe and clean. However, it's starting to look very tired. From the shower curtain looking worn and dingy to the mirrored doors spotted (oxidized) with age. We had a suite which is very roomy and the second sink and even "kitchenette" area is a bonus. I would stay there yet again, but for the price point some of the newer, smaller hotels might work better if it's just a one night stay. For several days, I think the spacious room and pool area are still a good value. Maybe they will update the rooms a bit soon.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbfortwaltonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our King Suites. We take great pride is always moving forward with improvements and upgrades...and the suites are one of the areas that are on the calendar for 2014.
With the recent total renovation of Arthur's Restaurant, and new carpeting and A/V in our conference center - not to mention the complete addition of the Palm Terrace special event venue...the Hilton Ocala is always on the move upward. Please continue to see us strive for excellence in everything we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ocala

Property: Hilton Ocala
Address: 3600 SW 36th Ave, Ocala, FL 34474-4474
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocala
#3 Business Hotel in Ocala
#5 Family Hotel in Ocala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Ocala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Ocala is truely a "Piece of Paradise in the Heart of Horse Country." Located just off I-75 at SR200 you will find the area's most popular restaurants within walking or a short drive distance from the hotel. At the Hilton Ocala, you will find every comfort of home or office. Each room features comfortable, plush bedding, ample work-desk space, modern decor, and more. Our 8th & 9th VIP floors include access to our 9th floor VIP lounge with morning continental breakfast, evening appetizers, drink specials, and more.When it's time to relax, induldge in our large outdoor heated pool or whirlpool, or just relax on our enormous pool deck. If a little exercise is part of your day, take a jog outback in the glade and visit Buddy, our resident Clydesdale horse, and enjoy our outdoor fitness stations or workout in our well-equipped in door fitness center.The Starting Gate lobby bar is perfect for a cool beverage, dinner, or late night snack. Arthur's Restaurant is on of Ocala's most popular dining destinations open for Breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday Brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ocala Hotel Ocala
Hilton Hotel Ocala
Ocala Hilton Hotel
Hilton Ocala Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing