We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nest is the Best!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocklawaha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Nest on Lake Weir
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocklawaha
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Nest is the Best!”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I don’t think I ever got a chance to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at the nest. It was perfect! You were the best hosts we could have imagined. I have recommended the Nest to everyone. It was a great place to relax, the dock, beach, and paddle boards were perfect. Room 6 and its private porch felt like my own luxury lake house! It was a great retreat from the contest that we were in town for, and even our 12 and 15 year olds had a great time there. Your restaurant recommendations were perfect and all the little attention to detail was so appreciated. My wife is a very picky traveler and was happy and comfortable and would definitely return. We went on to the Waldorf Astoria in Orlando and while there wished we were back at the Nest. If there is a contest next year we will surely want to book rooms and bring our friends!

Thanks again, you guys are truly special people and amazing hosts!
Randy and Viki
Austin,Texas

Room Tip: Get room 6 if you can, but all rooms are great and share the yard, dock and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
60
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reesekittymoe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband and i love love being outdoors and near water. This is the perfect place to catch up, unwind and re-connect with each other and nature. The room is beyond expectation and the pictures of the rooms on the web site do not lie. It was a fabulous weekend getaway from all the hustle and bustle, and the tourism we live in everyday. The beds were so comfortable and the bathroom is a delightful retreat. Both David and Lorraine make you feel very welcome from the start and with the use of the kayaks, paddle boards , grill, fire pit, its own beach area and much more adds to the stay. It was a gem that we thoroughly enjoyed.You are in close proximity to walking trail, restaurant, bar and stores. This is fabulous find and my husband and i will be making another trip soon, we stayed in cottage #1 and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: #1 is a quiet room, even though it is the furthest from the lake. It is still romantic, fun. Cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reesekittymoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We LOVE this place! My daughter and I stayed here for several days while she played in a state softball tournament in Ocala. Cottage #6 was wonderful - we had our own porch and view of Lake Weir. Lorraine and David were wonderful hosts, gave us helpful hints for local restaurants and things to do in our spare time, lit the firepit out by the lake at night, and were very friendly. Our cottage was beautifully decorated and felt like home. What a find!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XraysAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I needed to be in the Ocala are to help my parents for a few days. I decided to splurge on a room rather than taking the couch at mom & dad's.

I arrived after a long day of driving and visiting with my folks. This place is beautiful and full of charm. It is an old fish camp that has been renovated into lovely little cottages. It is just the sweetest place. I can only imagine how nice this would work for weddings, retreats and other groups. It is the best of old Florida with every comfort provided.

The rooms are thoughtful. There was bottled water, bagels, milk and cereal. There are real plates, mugs and silverware. I stayed in cabin #1, there was a deep, jetted tub. I loved the interior. I decided right away to stay a second night. As they were a little busy, I moved to the garage studio. I enjoyed it as well. It was a private, quiet getaway.

The owners seem to live on property. They are warm and kind. I got the impression that they enjoy sharing this place with others-isn't that nice?

This time my husband and I will stay in the cabin #6 that overlooks the water. Our teen aged son gets the garage studio (he will love his own space). I am planning to invite my parents out as we are renting the pontoon boat. I can't wait to share this place with my family.

Room Tip: This is a gated facility, very quiet and safe feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Addie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maitland, florida
Level Contributor
328 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I went here on our 20th Wedding Anniversary. This would easily compare to a High End Key West Boutique. The owners were at your beck and call. The grounds were impecable. They offered paddle boarding and kayaking at no additional charge. The rooms were professionaly decorated with high vaulted ceiling and ice cold air. The owner lit a bon fire and we sat on the white sand beach under a full moon sipping champagne. There are a limited amount of rooms so it is a very intimate place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was outstanding but when we go back we are staying longer for sure and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mpeacock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My family and I went there on a trip to get a way from the everyday life we have in Ocala. The owners were amazing with helping us and their knowledge of the area around them. They gladly openned with "home" to us and allowed my family to enjoy their time away from our everyday life. I would recommend that every family takes time away and at The Nest. Dave and Lorriane will gladly give boat rides around the lake and there are plenty of activities to keep your children or teenagers engaged. I loved the area that the inn is on. The location is peaceful and welcoming. I loved to wake up early to hear the waves crash on the lake shore. I was told that there are wedding that could take place there. All I can say is AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KerriB843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at The Nest for the HITS triathlon race. The room and views were amazing and very romantic grounds and setting. The landscaping was nicely manicured with outdoor lighting. White sugar sand beach with a firepit and sitting. Paddle boards and kayaks available for use. Gated property. Dave and Lorriane went way beyond expectations. They got up at 5am to open the gate for the athletes. They went to the race to watch my husband and I finish the race. Helped gather our bikes and ordered food for us. We will definitely be back! The linens were top notch! Nice amenities. We stayed in room #6 and it had a great porch to sit on and look at the lake. Can't say enough good things about this property!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elijah619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocklawaha
9.3 mi away
The Waterfront Inn
The Waterfront Inn
#2 of 2 in The Villages
402 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Suites The Villages
9.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lady Lake/The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages
6.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nest on Lake Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nest on Lake Weir

Property: The Nest on Lake Weir
Address: 12850 E Highway 25, Ocklawaha, FL 32179-5105
Region: United States > Florida > Ocklawaha
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocklawaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nest is a Waterfront Cottage Motel on the sandy shores of Lake Weir. A popular destination for swimming, skiing, kayaking, fishing and boating. Each room has a covered porch and is beautifully decorated with flat screen TVs, IPod Alarms, kitchen or wet bar, travertine showers or Jacuzzi tubs and sitting areas. Guest also have use of beach fire pit, beach chairs, umbrellas and kayaks. The Nest is located between Ocala and the Villages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing