We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun time & will return”
Review of Okeechobee KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okeechobee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Okeechobee KOA
New Jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A fun time & will return”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My sister & I stayed for 3 nights (Labor Day weekend). We stayed in the KK2 cabin on the golf course. 1 double bed and a pull out sofa bed. The cabin was a 5 star cabin. The bathroom is large and the kitchen area can fit a lot of food. I slept in the double bed and it was so comfortable. An overhead fan helped circulate the cool A/C in the cabin. The only reason I gave this KOA 4 stars was the issu emy sister & I had the first night of our stay. When we realized (10:30pm) at night the sofa bed had no sheets or pillow for her we quickly called the office. We were told since we booked as 2 people staying, we only get linens for the double bed. What?! We sleep separate, What was up with that ? With a little assertive discussion, we did get the 2nd set of linens. Point to remember: If you are 2 people sleeping seperately, tell the office you need TWO sets of linens.

The driving range and putting green is good. Everything else there was awesome. Pools are nice and we watched a movie in the evening while in the pool! The snack bar made an outstanding breakfast egg sandwich. The complex is clean & the people that stay here are friendly.

Good news is that there is a WalMart right down the highway. The Golden Corral buffet is right there also and we ate there twice. We had a good time and plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JerseyHorseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    28
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
31
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
forat lauderdale
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Great getaway Deluxe cabin with kitchen & full bath. Nice pool area, bar with music on weekends. Nice staff, fellow campers. Very relaxing 9 hole golf course. Miniature golf. Fishing for the kids & very close to lake

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had a great time. Before I forget. The place is clean and the staff was great.
I would like to recommend a few ideas. Prior to arriving I told my kids that I read that they had movie night like Jellystone park, which we had stayed at a few months back. Upon our arrival the plesant front desk lady told us that we missed it, it was on thursday. May I recommend daily family time and time to unwind. Also the general store closes way too early and when we saw our neighbors with smores we asked then qere they got it they said the general store. But by the time we go there it was closed(6pm) way too early. Minature golf was cool and my spot was great. Will return thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MercedFamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We just rented a cabin for two nights. The cabin was awesome, very clean, just perfect for the 4 of us. It was tucked away in the corner, you can see the main rd, but nothing that kept you awake at night. The park was empty, no one bothered us, the workers were friendly. If I have to leave any room for improvement it would be the putt putt area and the family pool and kiddie pool areas. The pool is very old, the bottom of it was dirty and it would be nice if there was a snack bar over there too so we could access it from the pool like there is at the adult pool, which seems a lot nicer. The putt putt area needs updating and sprayed for ants, they were everywhere. Hard to enjoy ourselves when I am constantly looking for piles not to step in. We loved the campfire/smore experience we were able to share with our children, but other then that, the activities were just eh.

Room Tip: Cabins were awesome, and super clean. We stayed in the pet approved cabin with bath and mini kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at this campground the weekend of March 23. We do not have an RV or travel trailer, so we rented one of the available cabins with a bathroom and kitchen. Although VERY tiny, the cabin was very clean and had everything we could possibly have needed in the kitchen. It also had an adorable front porch with a swing and patio set where the kids could sit and watch the campground activity.

Of course (as in most RV campgrounds) the demographic was mainly 65+, but there were enough kids at the pool area to make a fun time for our daughters. There are 2 separate pools, one for adults only and one "family pool".

There is a golf course and bar (which we did not utilize, given the fact that we were staying with young children), but both looked very nice. There were lots of very friendly people riding bicycles around the campground, walking dogs, etc.

One drawback is that the RV sites are VERY close together (and close to the cabins), and there is a decided lack of "natural feel" to this campground (meaning no large shade trees or running creek/river). If you are looking for a more rustic feel and to experience nature far more, check out nearby Fish Eating Creek Campground, which is a lot more tent-friendly and rustic.

Overall, it was a pleasant experience and everything was clean and well-kept, but we will probably not return here due to the fact that it felt more like a trailer park than a campground, and we are more into hiking/primitive camping and forest than we are concrete and $200,000 rolling mansions..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwendolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 5 night stay. Friendly staff, well-maintained facilities, great amenities. Pet friendly. Temporary home to many snowbirds. Shopping nearby (Publix, Winn-Dixie, Super Walmart, Home Depot all within 3 miles). Camp store onsite carries an assortment of camping necessities, and serves deli foods. The Shanty is open to serve adult beverages in the evening, with live entertainment most weekends. Two pools, one for kids and families, the other is reserved for adults only. Less than a mile from Lake Okeechobee and the 140 mile paved trail that runs along the top of levee.
Not your typical campground. Sorry, nothing negative to pass along.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JaxParalegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stay at this campground a few times each year. The campsites are well maintained and the restrooms are clean. They have a nice large pool for families traveling with children. We do not bring pets, so I can't speak on that. Shopping and restaurants are very close by.

There is a large Senior Citizen population there (as with any campground), many who are residents on the non-camping side. We have found them to be friendly and tolerant of our kids.

We usually camp in a large group and have never had a problem with the office accommodating us by trying to put our campsites close together. Some campground will not spend too much time with groups.

The kids stay busy fishing in the small golf lake, playing mini golf, or swimming in the pool. The grown-ups play golf and visit the “shanty” for some evening cocktails. The drinks are low priced and the atmosphere is cozy.

This is one of our favorite spots to visit, and we plan on making another trip back there for Memorial day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skippy265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okeechobee hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Okeechobee - Lake Okeechobee
0.7 mi away
Scottish Inns Okeechobee
Scottish Inns Okeechobee
#5 of 11 in Okeechobee
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier II Resort
Pier II Resort
#2 of 11 in Okeechobee
113 reviews
2.6 mi away
Budget Inn Okeechobee
Budget Inn Okeechobee
#10 of 11 in Okeechobee
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lake Okeechobee
Best Western Lake Okeechobee
#3 of 11 in Okeechobee
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okeechobee KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okeechobee KOA

Property: Okeechobee KOA
Address: 4276 US Highway 441 S, Okeechobee, FL 34974-6255
Region: United States > Florida > Okeechobee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Okeechobee
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest KOA, Okeechobee teems with fun-filled amenities for families and entire rallies. This tropical vacation resort features its own palm-fringed 9-hole golf course, driving range and putting green. Play tennis on four courts. Flex your muscles at the fitness center or soak in a pool: one for families, another for kids and a third for adults only. Fishing on Lake Okeechobee is a lure--and so is the kampground's social calendar filled with parades, parties and music events. Join in a Full Moon Bike Ride. Enjoy the Mardi Gras festivities, free Thanksgiving turkey and Christmas decorating contest. Swap fish stories over a cold one or enjoy live weekend entertainment at the Shanty Lounge. Golf cart rentals now available. Every day is special in paradise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing