We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best place to stay in OKeechobee!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Okeechobee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Beautiful, clean, and great beds!! Room had refrigerator, micro oven and coffee pot. Coffee, apples oranges available in lobby. Friendly staff. Great breakfast with huge TV, tables, and couches. Nice pool but did not use. Since I moved to beautiful Okeechobee 4 yrs ago my bridge group has come here once a year and we play bridge in the breakfast room, This year the owner along with his very friendly dog stop by to talk.....even offered us a beer!!! Wonderful fellow! Highly recommend that you stay here.

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms...each with 2 queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianDavids, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

The staff was attentive and courteous. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel is close to Lake Okeechobee and within a couple of hours from West Palm Beach. A hot breakfast was served each morning. Nothing out of the ordinary for breakfast - eggs, sausage, gravy, biscuits, cereals (hot and cold) pancakes etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southside look towards the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LARRY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank You for your review,
We are fortunate to be so close to the Great Lake Okeechobee and being close to West Palm Beach is always nice. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again soon,
Jeannie Rhoden and the HIE staff in Okeechobee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

A great experience. This feels like a brand new hotel. It is clean, and in excellent condition. I was warmly greeted by Peggy at the front desk. It was a quick visit to see a sick friend, but the accommodations were the highlight of the trip. A lovely lady named Gladys made sure the breakfast area was immaculate, and she took care of the guests like they were her own personal guests at her own home. She helped with the pancake machine that was still in the experimental stage delivering odd shaped pancakes that added to the fun of a quality free breakfast. The room was extremely clean, and the bathroom immaculate. The area attracts sportsmen, but around bed time, 11:00pm everyone was respectful and quiet. The pool and work out area was very clean, and if I stay there again I will allow time to visit more thoroughly. I recommend this location for anyone that wants to make an overnight visit as enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: Noise was not an issue due to the location off the highway. I'd ask the friendly front desk sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2647thom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank You for your review,
Peggy was a great employee and very friendly. Gladys has been with us for a very long time and enjoys talking with our guests and attending to their needs. "yes" That pancake machine can have a mind of it's own at times. I hope it wasn't a problem. We did get a new pancake machine!
Okeechobee Lake is the second largest fresh water lake in the entire US! During season we get lots of fishermen and tournaments, but they have to get up early to catch them fish! hahaha
We hope your return visit is very soon!
Jeannie Rhoden HIE Okeechobee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Front desk staff is more than nice. As an out of towner they recommended restaurants and gave great directions. Always willing to talk or help. I stayed two weeks and had two different rooms. The rooms were clean upon arrival and were kept clean throughout my stay. The only issue was the bed. I found one of the beds to be a little hard and there must be a mattress cover that was uncomfortable. Plenty of a/c and hot water. The exercise room had two treadmills and a bike. Perfect for a quick cardio. The pool and grounds were well maintained. Where this hotel excels is the breakfast bar. If you stay here, make sure you say good morning to Betty in the breakfast bar. She maintains a clean and plentiful assortment of eggs, meats, breads, fruits, etc. She greets you with a smile and keeps the coffee and conversation. I wish I could take her home! If I am ever in Okechobee again this is where I will stay.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review,
All those kind words, i just don't know where to start..... Betty says thank you very much!
You mentioned the front desk and a resteraunt recomendation. Check out this group page on facebook next time, chobee dines. Locals post their recomendations and voice their opinions on quality and service. A good tool for out of town guests.
We have updated our beds and matress covers and pillows, so your next stay, you should have a great nights rest!
Thanks again,
Jeannie Rhoden HIE Okeechobee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My husband and I have been coming to Okeechobee to fish for a couple decades, and before the Holiday Inn Express was built, there really was not any very nice place to stay. When we saw that there was a Holiday Inn Express coming to the town, we were cautiously optimistic that there would finally be a decent place to stay. Our hopes were fulfilled by this hotel. Rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. Many of the rooms (I don't know about all of them) have small refrigerators in them. The hotel has the standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast, along with an outdoor pool and whirlpool. They have a "gym" but it is basically just a couple tredmills, but then no other hotel in the area has a decent gym either.

Internet access is a feature that is important to me, and the Holiday Inn does have wireless access throughout the hotel., However, if it is important to you to have wireless in your room, don't get a room near either end of the hotel. The rooms in the center have much stronger connections. When we have stayed in a more centrally located room, we had fast internet access. When we were at the far end of the hall, we couldn't connect. If you do get stuck in a room with limited connectivity, however, you can always take your laptop down and work in the breakfast room right off the lobby. It is a comfortable place to work.

I've found that the quality of the service at the front desk varies. Most of the people have been excellent, but like many business,es they do have a few front desk clerks who are not going to go out of their way to be helpful.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room in the center of the hotel, not near one of the ends of the halls or you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fawn_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank You for your review,
If you are familiar with Okeechobee for the past decade, you have no doubt watched us grow! Holiday Inn Express and Suites was a great addition to our little town!
We have upgraded our wireless internet system here at the Holiday Inn Express and hopefully those WI-FI issues are few and far between.
Most of our staff here at HIE have been with the hotel for many many years and we all try our best to be friendly and helpful, if there is ever an issue our, management staff always has an open ear so that we can guied our staff to helpful and courteous.
We are awaiting your next visit!
Jeannie Rhoden and HIE staff Okeechobee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed 4 nights last week while on personal business in Okeechobee. Before the Holiday Inn Express was built, I HAD to stay at the other hotels in the area, and was sorely disappointed. Hands-down, the Holiday Inn Express is the Gem of Okeechobee! The location is perfect. The front desk staff were very professional, helpful, but the staff that stole the show were Betty and Gladys in the breakfast area. They made you feel like you were at home. The breakfast quality and selection was superior to any other chains offering FREE breakfast and a very large sitting area with sofa and large flat-panel TV. There was a nice pool and hot tub, but the hot tub wasn't hot! After a 12 hour drive, I was looking forward to relaxing there. This was my only concern, that when you advertise you have a hot tub, it should be working and hot, year-round. The cost of my room is supposed to include all the amenities advertised, and I, as a frequent traveler, rely on website information and choose hotels based on their amenities, especially for a brand new facility.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk how full they are first. Then ask the front desk not to put you next to anyone or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelllang507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for your review,
How is TEXAS? Gladys and Betty are still here with us and we are awaiting your next visit!
Holding a room for you here at HIE in Okeechobee Florida
Jeannie Rhoden and staff at HIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

stopped here in September for 4 nights on our way from the everglades back to orlando. Rooms were as you expect from a holiday inn - clean, coffee maker and toiletries provided.

very impressed with the coffee and freshly baked cookies in the foyer - the smell wafted around and we found we couldn't resist.

Found out our mobiles wouldn't work in US and needed to contact the UK. The receptionist, JOSH, was brilliant - he googled the company we needed, obtained their email address and sent them a message. The next day he contacted us with the reply - This saved us $25 dollars for 5 minutes on a phone call. Nothing was too much trouble for Josh who even supplied us with a discount card for a nearby 'cowboy bar' with great food.

Only slight downside was the size of the pool - not big enough to have a swim in, although the tiny frogs (after a downpour) thought so!!

We don't expect to be in the area again but if we were we would definately use this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aljohnson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Its been a while since your last stay. We are holding a room for you, book today and save.
Jeannie Rhoden and staff at HIE Okeechobee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okeechobee
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Okeechobee - Lake Okeechobee
0.1 mi away
Scottish Inns Okeechobee
Scottish Inns Okeechobee
#5 of 11 in Okeechobee
17 reviews
24.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port St. Lucie-Tradition
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port...
#1 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lake Okeechobee
Best Western Lake Okeechobee
#3 of 11 in Okeechobee
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pier II Resort
Pier II Resort
#2 of 11 in Okeechobee
114 reviews
1.8 mi away
Budget Inn Okeechobee
Budget Inn Okeechobee
#10 of 11 in Okeechobee
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 3101 US Highway 441 S, Okeechobee, FL 34974-6251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Okeechobee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Okeechobee
Price Range: £87 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Okeechobee is the newest Hotel in Lake Okeechobee area, featuring interior corridors, fitness center, business center, complimentary continential breakfast, complimentary high speed internet, and meeting rooms catering to 50 peole. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool. Close to all businesses and attractions. Visit Okeechobee, FL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Okeechobee
Holiday Inn Okeechobee
Okeechobee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing