We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful campground on the Suwannee River.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellow Jacket RV Resort
Reviewed 2 January 2012

stayed here with friends for the New Years weekend camping in a pop-up camper. We both had a "premium site" directly on the river with a spectacular view especially the sun rises and sun sets. We were greeted very kindly upon check in and were allowed to check in a couple of hours early with no problem at all. The entire population this weekend was a mix of all ages with a family with three kids right next to us. there were several children that I noted playing in the playground as well.The park manager lives on the property with her family and children as well and is very friendly and accessible.
The sites are all quite large, very clean and well maintained. The bath house has individual private bathrooms with toilet, sink, shower, mirror and outlet. These are immaculately cleaned and well maintained. The same applies to the laundry room that has laminate wood flooring, several newer washer and dryers, a table for folding as well as a TV for your entertainment.

There is a written note mentioning a $25.00 fee for not returning your pic nic table to where you found it. I am not sure if it is enforced but who really cares? Just put it back where you found it. They do sell their own fire wood for $5.00/ bunch and it is probably the largest $5.00 bunch you will find including off the side of the road. I find it hard to believe that they would harass you if you were unaware that they did not want you to bring your own. Everyone there was very friendly!

My friends and I are definitely planning to return there and consider this campsite one of the best we have stayed at. The premium river sites are $44. Off river sites are $36-44. RV sites have water, electric sewer hook up and additional 110 socket. There is an additional $2/ night and $6/ night fee for pets and additional people respectively. We stayed on lots 16&17 and they were fantastic.

I must wholeheartedly disagree with the entire post from the person stating that they were treated so terribly. I never once witnessed anything even remotely similar to what was posted.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

This place is so serene and lovely - the cabin was clean, and very nicely decorated - the trip up the river on the pontoon was amazing and gorgeous! However feel the owners need to brush up on why they are there - we were there as their guests to enjoy the peace and quiet away from busy, hectic, noisy everyday life - yet every morning the grounds man was out with the extremely noisy leaf blower from 9 a.m. until mid afternoon - we tried having coffee on the porch to enjoy the serenity and quiet but ended up with splitting headaches from the awful constant noise of the gasblower. There must be a way and time to do this so that the guests can enjoy the quiet of the morning - or sleep in - without that loud blasting constant noise of the suburbia that they escaped from! It is the woods - so let the leaves fall - use a rake?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have stayed at Yellow Jacket in sept for the past 2 years and love it! The grounds are very well maintained & bath house/laundry is spotless. We have had the same 2 sites on the river & just love the view. Each year we have rented one of their boats & visited Manatee Springs & Fanning Springs. Just a great place for a long weekend. We will be back AGAIN.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JeanBaker1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We have stayed at Yellow Jacket RV Resort many time over the last 8-9 years. We have stayed in both the RV sites and cabins. We have always found the owners and workers to be friendly and helpful. They are constantly working to keep the campground and cabins clean and to improve the campground so their campers and guests enjoy it there. We always take our dog with us and have never had a problem about him. The pool and spa have always been clean and heated when we stayed there. It is beautiful, right on the river, very quiet and peaceful. We love going there and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank lshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

NOT Kid friendly. They would like a retirement quiet to the park. When we pulled in we were excited. Pretty grounds and views of the river. The cabins looked nice but always felt damp. Beds were hard and the fans squeaked if you used them. So we had to turn them off. Most cabins are connected to one another and you can hear every movement your neighbor makes. Went here because of the heated pool but it was still very cold and the Jacuzzi was a green color. The river and docks were very well maintained and the grounds were as well. Friends stayed in their camper and they said it was a nice site for their RV with the sewer and electric hook ups. Do not recommend going there though if you have children under the age of 15. The staff and owners nit picked every sound and movement the kids made. They weren't allowed to have fun in the pool or playing on the grounds. We got disciplined if we had the doors open for the breeze, if they ran down the road playing, if they walked through an empty camp site, etc. They say you get a 3rd night free in the cabins if you rent for 2 nights. We decided not to use the 3rd night and asked for late check out. When we did not get out by 11 the owner came and yelled at everyone and called us liars. That a late check out was never agreed to. When she found out they had agreed to it, she did not apologize. She then started looking for everything that was not to her liking and let us know every second something was wrong as we were still there packing to go home. Do not take your dogs unless you will be with them 24/7 and they are perfectly quiet as well. You must also buy their fire wood so do not bring any or they will back you get it off the grounds ASAP. Don't move their picnic tables either or you will be fined.

This is a private camp ground and they will make you miserable if you do not follow EVERY rule and there are a lot. To bad to because it was a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank firefly1v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boatrentals, Owner at Yellow Jacket RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Please delete our respond from your page.

BIBBI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Yellow Jacket RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Jacket RV Resort

Address: 55 SE 503rd Ave, Old Town, FL 32680-4518
Region: United States > Florida > Old Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Old Town
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Yellow Jacket RV Resort Old Town, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing