We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this place stay in your car” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Old Town
Trenton Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid this place stay in your car”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2006

We made reservations about 1 month prior to arrival. I was a little set back by the price of $189.00/ night. But I figured it must be a great place for that much. I booked 2-nights and we ended up going there a day early. What a mistake. The first thing I noticed there was trash laying all over the place. The front door lock was broke to the room. The kitchen was filthy dirty and greasy. The bathroom was dirty and the floor was rotted. We drove to the store and bought cleaning supplies and cleaned the place ourselves. What a rip off. I talked to the owner and told him this was the worst place I ever sayed and we would never come back. He said that it was too bad that I felt that way. He offered no appoligy or any concessions to the fact that our group (3 rooms) just spent $1200.00 to stay at that armpit of a motel. STAY AWAY You would be better off sleeping in your car in the Walmart parking lot.

  • Liked — The River
  • Disliked — Nasty Dirty Roaches Filty Rotten Floors Smelly Rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there Sleep in your car
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank 1gatordave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    34
    13
    5
    28
See reviews for
28
39
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2006

I wish I had taken pictures of the filth. Dead bugs and dirt on the floors, Dirty bathroom, afraid to put my toothbrush down. Dirty kitchen, unusable utensils and dishes. We should have gotten a break for doing the cleaning and making our own beds. Can't even walk across the yard to get to the car without getting dusty, dirty feet. All of this and more bugs for a small price of $200 per night. When we tried to pay for one night and leave with a 24 hour notice we were told we would be charged for two nights anyway. If it hadn't been for our friends that were staying there too it would have been worth the cost to leave. All I can say is lesson learned! Never again!

  • Liked — Allowed pets
  • Disliked — Dirty over priced
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Meri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2006

I spent two nights in there supposidly best cabin. only because they would not let us cancell our reservations with 24 hours notice. The room was an 80 dollar room at best. We paid over 425 dollars for two nights. I feel skinned.
The area is beautiful but the hotel its self is low class. The towels are so dirty I had to drip dry. The flooring is peeling up in the bathroom. The kitchen was left filthy. The docks are dangerous. One dock is phisicaly falling apart and the other is very unstable.
This could be a nice place if the management would follow common practice and treat customers fairly. Also they should have an eye for details like checking towels to see if they are clean befor leaving them in the rooms.
I will never stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ltrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2006

Please do not waist your time & money. The place is horrendous & poorly managed. The pool was green & dirty, the premises were filthy & falling apart... bugs everywhere. The "so called" cabin rooms that fit 8-12 people ....NOT TRUE>The room (consisting of 2 twin beds, no lights, & no walking space) was smelly, dirty & extremely outdated,... kitchen cups & plates are all mix & match like from some garage sale. TRULY DISAPPOINTING! The river views are nice but the "deck" is broken down & falling apart so you can't even walk around. Definetly not safe for our kids, our whole family decided to go down to the Holiday INN Express... .rooms were $77.00 per nite (vs $189.00 for the so-called cabin) & were clean, free breakfast, & close to the State Parks. DON'T reserve this place & they have the audacity to still charge you for a one nite stay if you cancel.... the owner states it's a loss of business if she doesn't do that,... offcourse it's a loss because NOBODY wants to stay in a place that's filthy, unhygenic & hazardous to your health & well-being. PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE.

  • Liked — Nothing was good- no service, dirty place, no amenities
  • Tips/Secrets — DO NOT STAY HERE
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AJA-JG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2006

We read "Stay Away" but already had a made a reservation for a 3 night-stay. We weren't expecting anything after reading about your experience, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff was great, and especially helpful making hot coffee every couple hours for my wife who drinks several cups a day. We had a great time swimming in the pool and the staff even came and chatted with us while we were relaxing by the docks . The river was beautiful and although the rooms weren't new, they were very clean, and we had the best overall experience on our vacation. Mr. Stay Away, hope you try it out again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2005

Just got back from the gables and was greatly disappointed. Even thought the sign in from states that it has "new rooms" they are anything but that. Cable did not work, pool was green, mold and dirt all over the room, etc. The view from the bank of the river is pretty but it's hard to get to the dock via the Gable's dock that is cocked at 45 degrees for aprox. 30 feet. Even though I have stayed here before.... I found that this year they went way down in their service and will not be staying there again. Next year it will be at the Cadillac Inn which is much better.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Park, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2005

The Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina is right on the banks of the Suwannee River. There are boat docks right there outside your room for easy access to the river. There is also a pavillion there for grilling with a great view of the river. The rooms and cabins are older, but they are very clean. The staff is very friendly. Our family has been going there for the last 20 years...it is a great place to take your family. There is a great seafood restaurant nearby and a really good small restaurant right across the street. Chiefland is about 10 miles and there is a Wal-mart for all your shopping needs. I would highly recommend this place...once you go...you will be back!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Floridablondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Town
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Chiefland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
8.1 mi away
Days Inn Chiefland
Days Inn Chiefland
#2 of 2 in Chiefland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina

Property: Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina
Address: 27659 SE Hwy 19 Alternate 27, Old Town, FL 32680
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Old Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suwannee Gables Motel And Marina Hotel Old Town
Suwannee Gables Hotel And Marina
Suwannee Gables Motel And Marina Old Town, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing