We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, nice people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garnish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Garnish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Windy Point house, a nice name for a great stay.
Agnes and Paddy are engaging people. The food is perfect.
Walking on Dursey Island is possible because Paddy takes care of the cable car you transfer.
Pieter and Lammy Otter/Holland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lammy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

It´s been a while, since we´ve been here. But I want to thank Paddy&Agnes for their great hospitality. It has been one of the nicest parts during our stay in Ireland. The rooms have such a nice view and it has been very nice to have the opportunity to have dinner at your place. Thank you so much for this nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drfwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

unfortunately we had a foggy day and can't see very much, but the place and the owner are very nice and friendly people.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guinnessurml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a long weekend in Cork. Stayed the first night at Windy Point and wished I had booked an extra night there. The owners of the b&b were so friendly and extremely helpful. The views from the dining room and terrace, are amazing. The forecast was rain and I considered taking an umbrella but the name Windy Point is a clue that unless you want to take off like Mary Poppins across the ocean, you best leave the umbrella behind. I'm definately booking to stay there again as couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pippy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The pictures of the Windy Point House do not do it justice. This place is unbelieveable in the sea views and peaceful setting. We stayed here two nights and had dinner on the second. Be sure to treat yourself to their salmon dinners...wonderful cooks. This is a remote location, but a great place to just rest and watch the sea. The "cable car" is a three minute walk and it is also located at the start of the Beara hiking trail. The dinning room over looks the sea. Take a bottle of wine...or purchase one from the innkeepers and enjoy the outdoor patio at sundown. The breakfasts are made to order and very good. I would return in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a million dollar view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We have stayed here several times and the weather has always been outstanding. Agnes and Paddy, who run Windy Point are lovely and welcoming people. Their rooms are nice and clean and the views are spectacular. I woke up very early last time I stayed here and had a peak out the window. I spotted a dolphin in the bay and obviously couldn't sleep anymore. I got dressed and went outside but was too late for the dolphin. A lovely seal came to check me out though. I then went for and early morning walk up to the top of the hill, on the Ring of Beara walk (I think that's what it was called). About 45 minutes walk lead to a spectacular view over Dursey, the Kenmare river bay and across to Bantry bay. This bliss was followed by Agnes's sublime breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Windy Point House has been our favourite B&B in Ireland for 20 years and we have stayed there many times. The view of Dursey Island, Dursey Sound and Crow Head from all the rooms and the dining room is spectacular and dolphins and basking sharks can sometimes be seen. Fishing for large pollock from the jetty and the rocks can be excellent at times.

The B&B owners Paddy and Agnes are extremely affable, helpful and welcoming and go out of their way to make one's stay memorable. Paddy even fillets any really good fish I catch and Agnes cooks them to perfection! Our room (which was separate from the main house) was well appointed and comfortable but, due to poor reception, the TV could only be used for DVDs. A fridge and coffee/tea making facility were provided.

The nearest place to eat is Allihies where there are a few pubs but this is a 15-minute drive on twisting roads. There is more choice in Castletownbere but that's about a 30-minute drive. However, provided one books dinner and chooses the main course in advance, one can eat at the B&B at 6pm. This is rather early for us but often helpful because it allows me to get a good fishing session afterwards, before it's too dark. The food is tasty and piping hot and portions are generous. We had superb, high quality "slabs" of salmon and I had a very large piece of chicken. The crab's claws salad is also delicious. Desserts are very good though the choice is a bit limited. Breakfast is also excellent and there is a wide choice of hot dishes to follow the buffet selection of juices, cereals, yoghurt, fresh and dried fruit. A copious amount of homemade bread and toast is provided. One can fill up for the day if desired!

We are always sad to leave such an idyllic location. Not surprisingly, given the wonderful views and the superb service and food, Windy Point House is often fully booked so booking is advisable. It is closed during the winter.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garnish
10.1 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
209 reviews
4.6 mi away
Allihies Seaview
Allihies Seaview
#1 of 4 in Allihies
101 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beach View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Island View House
Island View House
#5 of 8 in Castletownbere
92 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cappa House B&B
Cappa House B&B
#2 of 3 in Eyeries
36 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cottage Heights
Cottage Heights
#4 of 8 in Castletownbere
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast

Address: | Beara Peninsula, Garnish, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Garnish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Garnish
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing