We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just pack babies nappies and leave the house...”
other travellers have booked this property
Little Apple Barn - light and airy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Apple Barn - light and airy
Little Apple Barn Little Apple Barn open plan living and dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Little Apple Barn - light and airy
Little Apple Barn
Little Apple Barn open plan living and dining
Little Apple Barn open plan dining area
Little Apple Barn bedroom
Little Apple Barn has a shower not a bath
Little Apple Barn - a place to relax
Seating for 8 even before you extend the table
Play house in Bluebell Woods
Gardens shared by all
There is no occasion too posh not to bounce on a super large trampoline
Electric Car
Relax and enjoy the view
Beaches within easy striking distance all along Kent and East Sussex coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Plaxtol, Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
1Edwina19...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just pack babies nappies and leave the house- everything is ready waiting for a perfect family countryside holiday”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I remember what it was like packing the car full of everything possible that we could ever need for a holiday with small children - but our Applebarn holiday was just heavenly for ease - everything is provided, highchair, cot, washing machine and tumble dryer, extra freezer space for purées, play areas and tree houses for older children, bottle openers, crockery, ironing board, hairdryer, everything - just bring some clothes and wine!

Applebarn itself was modern, fully kitted out, comfortable, clean and had a gorgeous country cottage feel, opening onto rural farmland, we were woken by the sounds of pheasants in the morning and watched the sunset with a glass of wine down the unspoilt views in the evening - heaven.

Lovely owners, extremely helpful and welcoming, local area has weekly farmers markets at Shipbourne and great country pubs, cant recommend a stay at Applebarn highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous setting. The fully kitted out cottage, we wanted for nothing.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHMarshal...
1 review
“Beautiful property, stunning views, great for kids”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This cottage is lovely, the views over open countryside are stunning. The property is well stocked with everything you need. Our son loved having chickens and sheep outside, and playing on the trampoline and cars. We would recommend a stay here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy C
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
1 review
“Marvellous”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This must have been the first time I truely felt sad leaving a holiday destination. What a lovely place! The landscape is breath-taking, the fascilities idyllic and the owners are great people. I would recommend this property to friends and family, but hope it is not fully booked next time we come. The public footpaths make for great walks (if you are slightly adventurous ) and the kids loved the trampoline, the zip-slide and boat - to mention but a few of the numerous play options available. We loved the comfortable, clean cottage, the fresh flowers and attentive welcome package, the morning arguments between wild phesants and the sunsets. Wellington boots are a must in Autumn as the grass doesn't always dry out. They are also easy for kids to slip out of when trampolining.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura A
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
“Fantastic accommodation - a genuinely child-friendly holiday!”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Superb standard of accommodation. Beautifully clean and very well equipped. We were particularly Impressed with the kitchen equipment provided. We had everything we needed, including access to washing machine and dryer in the utility room on site. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our children loved the multitude of activities available, both outside (zip wire, trampoline, swings, pond, etc) and inside (board games, cards, dominoes). Comes highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We are a family of four and our boys are aged 5 and 10. We were made very welcome at out stay at Little Apple Barn. The cottage is cosy, modern and stylish with a wonderful private patio at the back. It was wonderful just to chill out and relax as you are surrounded by fields, orchards and woodland. Our children loved all the amenities there like the zip wire, climbing frames, swings, tennis court and a big trampoline. Our youngest little boy was excited to see sheep, chickens, rabbits and horses. We all loved seeing the beautiful surrounding area and went on a trip to Legoland as this was not too far away. We would definitely come back and stay again, and would recommend this property.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay_Wilts...
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delightful rural retreat”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Little Apple Barn is a modern well equipped self catering cottage. It is very clean and comfortable, light and airy. It sits on the edge of the farm looking out to hedgerows, fields and woods from its windows and very private deck. It would suit a couple but there was also a put me up bed for a child. The 2 other cottages on the farm closer to the farmhouse might be more suitable for children. The site is certainly a heaven for any children up to teenage years with all the play facilities Katie and Andy have provided in a separate field and woods, close enough for supervision but far enough from the cottages for screams of delight not to be an interference with adult peace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The easy comfort in a peaceful location.
Liked least: Only small concerns to us but only BBC available on TV. Also no egg cups.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkerrpatt...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Quiet”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a quiet,restful and gentle farm cottage so near London in the county of Kent, with its stable climate, peaceful countryside and abundant wildlife. The old barn has been well converted into single bedroomed accomodation at ground floor level wiith all the modern furnishings and facilities associated with a flat in town. Our grandchildren who live in the nearby towns of Royal Tunbridge Wells and Sevenoaks enjoyed visiting us here for picnics, to play with the various activities available and go on walks on the marked footpaths. There are a variety of wonderful pubs and inns within a few miles where you can eat meals ranging from 5 star to simple pub lunchjes and sandwiches. An idyllic place for a rest and holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owner lives in the nearby old farmhouse and will provide anything extra that you need
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;