We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Skyglobal(Labuan Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Borneo Rainforest Lodge(Danum Valley Conservation Area)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Uncle Tan Wildlife Camp(Sandakan Division)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
103
116
42
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
116
42
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverproboscis monkeysamazing borneo tourson stiltsair conwild boarmonitor lizardssilver leaf monkeysminute boat ridemorning tripspotting wildlifegomantong cavesour tour guiderooms are largeleech sockstea coffeerainforest lodge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here with tropical gateway tours (fab guide) for a one night stay and were glad we did. We combined our stay with a trip to sepilok orang-utan sanctuary which was a great experience (see separate review).

Upon arrival we were greeted with welcome drinks in a lovely restaurant set in the rainforest at the side of the Kinabatangan river. The staff were very friendly and both our evening meal and breakfast were provided. Both meals were plentiful tasty buffets in a nice setting.

Our bags were taken to our room. The room was huge!! It had air conditioning, a big balcony with hammock, two double beds, a separate shower room and toilet. Literally huge and nicely decorated in keeping with the rainforest. It also had a safe.

I would really recommend both the afternoon and evening river trips as we saw different animals on both. In the day we saw the proboscis monkeys (amazing to see in the wild), a male orang-utan, long tailed macaques, huge monitor lizards, hornbills and snakes. The evening cruise was pitch black and exciting with a storm playing out in the distance!! We saw two different types of kingfishers, a civet cat, pythons and crocodiles. It really felt like we were on safari and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip and wish we had stayed longer. The guides on the boat really knew how to spot the animals (even in the pitch black) and were very knowledgeable and personable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkKirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello UkKirky,
Thank you for making the effort to write us this review. It is important that we know you are happy with our hospitality & services! Indeed, we place customers satisfaction as our top priority , extra effort and attention is channeled to ensure everything is perfect and enjoyable for all our guests alike. We hope to be of service to you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at Bilit Rainforest Lodge for one night with Amazing Borneo Tours. We had a lovely detached lodge (with two queen sized beds and a single bed), which gave a little bit of luxury in the rainforest. The buffet food was lovely and the setting is perfect for boat trips on the Kinabatangan River. We did one dusk boat trip and saw hornbills, monitor lizards and a couple of different types of monkey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 195Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello 195Lou,
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your trip. Indeed Bilit Rainforest Lodge is one of the better lodge to stay along Kinabatangan river. Do come back next year for other more exciting destination. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was saddened to read several negative reviews of Bilit Rainforest Lodge on
Trip Advisor. We stayed here through Amazing Borneo Tours. During a stay of 2 nights, we were taken on 3 river trips to look for wildlife. We were thrilled to see orang utans, proboscis monkeys, macaques, crocodiles and an amazing array of bird life on these river trips. We also found the lodge to be an enchanting place to stay. Big, spacious bedrooms with attached bathroom and separate toilet, as well as outdoor porches with chairs and a hammock for each unit made this such a relaxing place to stay. The communal dining room was a very welcoming place with staff who did their very best to ensure we were looked after, in an attitude of welcoming friendship. The staff even put on a cultural dance performance for us one night at no extra charge! Delightful and low key, laid back atmosphere. The food was plentiful and varied and the value sensational. We slept to the sound of cicadas and woke to the sound of monkeys playing in the surrounding trees...this was a true jungle experience. It's NOT 5-star, but IS a very comfortable and nature-surrounded accommodation, with boardwalks connecting units and the central dining room. There WAS a spa, for beauty treatments, but we chose to relax on the balcony or meet others in the dining room when not heading out to look for animals (incidentally, some guests even saw Borneo Pygmy Elephants in the wild!) A fabulous place to stay, right in the rainforest! Thank you to the lovely staff there at Bilit Rainforest Lodge!

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic room and it was quiet and lovely. The Lodge has superior rooms which may be even nicer!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LozMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello LozMelbourne,
it is wonderful to hear that you are 100% happy with our services in our humble lodge. We believe in exceeding our guests expectation by delivering our best and ensures guests' satisfaction. This is all made possible also because of you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We booked trip with Amazing Borneo for 3 days and 2 nights. Our actual rainforest experience was amazing as we saw lots - including wild orang utan, Pygmy elephants, proboscis monkeys etc. Unfortunately, however, the lodge did not enhance our whole experience as it is in need of some attention in order to make it a more pleasurable place to stay. Apart from the guides ( who were extremely knowledgeable and pleasant), the staff were indifferent to their customers and showed little interest or enthusiasm. The 'bar' is very poorly stocked and did not even stock coke/Pepsi. The only alcohol that could be purchased was Tiger beer or a very limited selection of wine by the bottle. This should be a meeting place for guests to chat over a drink and discuss their trips in a pleasant relaxed environment, however it is instead a very unwelcoming, uninviting corner of the dining room. A TV is found in another corner of the dining room and the staff congregate around this at all times. Again - very off-putting for guests. It takes away from the potentially friendly ambiance of the dining room as, instead of visitors chatting to each other, they are all distracted with the TV.
The rooms are pleasant and the layout of the lodge is good and has a lot of potential. Management needs to consider how to improve the overall ambience and provide guests with more welcoming communal areas. Informative talks about the natural history etc would be a welcome addition, along with some local entertainment in an evening.
Finally the food! Breakfast was satisfactory as you could fill up on toast and eggs! Lunch and dinner were very disappointing and require some consideration by management. A salad/fresh fruit bar would be a great investment along with a more appetising selection of meat, fish and veg.
This place has incredible potential which would not require a huge financial input to achieve. A good manager could improve the lodge tremendously.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njsLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello njsLancashire,
Thank you for your time and your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rainforest experience here in Bilit Rainforest Lodge. Appreciate your feedback on our fixture & features, we are in a proposal of refurbishing the dining hall and reception. In regards to your comment on the staff, we apologize for them being reserve. With their not so good command in English language they would shy away especially when there are guides with guests who speaks better English.
They are mostly the locals from Bilit, with a little low self-esteem.
We shall look into giving them proper customer service training to help boost their confidence, thank you for pointing this out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel is absolutely first class, rooms are extremely spacious, clean with two huge double beds, mineral water and soft clean sheets. Food is amazing buffet style and fresh and tasty. Loved the river boat cruises although be warned you wont see that many animals. We were lucky to see elephants (twice a month sightings!). Loved Bilit would go back there again. Fab.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Can upgrade to a VIP room which is furthest away but not necessary
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannehurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello joannehurley,
Good to see you here and thank you for your time to do this, very much appreciated especially of your busy schedule. We are happy that you had a Wonderful time with us, thanks again for the recommendations made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews