We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinabatangan river adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our chalet was deep in the jungle which was ok.In one chalet are four rooms,our room had a/c and ceiling fan,hard as a rock bed.Our bathroom was very small with hot water shower,but the water heater was running very loud.We had one dinner and one breakfast there,not so much to eat and the quality of food just so so.Breakfast was only toast with jam,eggs and very poor sausages so we left hungry. Our suggestion to management better to make only asian style food than poor mix western and asian.Afternoon tour was great but morning cruise was cancelled due to weather conditions.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magdalena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed at this lodge as part of our 4N/5D tour with Amazing Borneo Tours. We stayed for 2 nights. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and had everything you needed. Wifi was available in the main dining/reception/meeting area but not in the rooms. Food was plentiful and we never went hungry. We did wildlife viewing on the river a few times and saw heaps of wildlife. We had private massages done in our rooms. This is a must. The Bilit Lodge gave us a little bit of an adventure while staying in the Borneo Jungle. Just remember not to leave anything like shoes out on your verandah as the monkeys will steal anything not tied down. Had a great stay here

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Hi rbsimmo, we appreciate you taking time to review us and sharing your views with others. Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, our humble lodge is ideal for those who like to get away from the busy sound of city life and mingle with the local natives staff. Thanks again for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were booked at this place by the tour operator for two nights - so no choice. On reaching the other side of the river the first thing you see are the shabby staff quarters which are next to the reception and school dinner hall they call the restaurant - this means there is music and noisy activity when eating (though the latter does not take long!). The reception bar area is like a youth club with loads of staff hanging around not doing much - there is no management of the lodge to speak of. Dogs roam around looking threatening and when the reception is asked to do something about them nothing is done. The food is appalling - anyone who says it is above poor operate on a c food diet - see food and eat it regardless of quality. The rooms are large and OK but the cleaning staff carry no cleaning materials with them just a brush and a dustpan - we watched them work there way down the lodges, including spending all of two minutes servicing our room. The focus of the school dinner hall is the TV which is in one corner which is always on full blast with staff congregating around it all the time.
The river tours are what you go here for and they are very good but there are other places to stay and that is my recommendation until this place gets managed like it should be - Gordon Ramsay would have a hey day.
If you are there for two nights on the second day if you have gone out in the morning boat trip and want to do another one in the afternoon at about 4pm there is nothing to do other than relax with the marauding dogs!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Hello beats21,
We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us. However, thank you for your feedback as we are keen to know and it helps us to improve better in serving our guests.

Further to address on your comment on dogs loitering the area, this is unusual as the natives around Kinabatangan River are mostly Muslim and they do not keep dogs. Perhaps the dogs you have seen are those from other villagers, however these dogs could not access the lodge area and normally rummage under the dining hall whenever guests dropped/ threw leftovers out. Most of our previous guests never encountered them, nonetheless we thank you to brought this up as we have things to look at improving next.

Our meals are the variations of Asian and western of buffet setting, we cater for special dietary needs to such as vegetarian, gluten free etc. Perhaps the tour operator that you booked from never specified this to you.

The dining hall is as well the area for tour guides to meet up with their guests for briefing and to mingle. therefore the staff you saw may not be our lodge staff as the guides are from other tour operators that booked their guests into our lodge. We shall however look at informing all our tour operator on this therefore proper briefing will done to their guides. This shall avoid unnecessarily missed communication from the agent to the guests too, especially to inform on the program involved throughout the day.

As most wildlife are active during morning and late afternoon, this the very reason the boat cruise are done twice daily at 6 am and at 4 pm. Afternoon is a very and easy, we have our river jetty to relax by or guests could opt for trail walk (chargeable optional trip).

Hope this helps to give better insight to your comments, we thank you still for the time taken to feedback us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 night and 3 days.

The accommodation was really nice (especially for being in the rain forest) and the rooms were nice and large.
Wildlife was everywhere, you just have to open your eyes to see it and be looking for it.
During the boat tours and time at the lodge we saw loads of species, orang-utan, silver leaf monkeys, proboscis monkey, flying foxes, rhinoceros hornbills + many other species of hornbill, storm stalk (only 500 left in the wild) we saw 4!!!, kingfishers, snakes, crocodiles, and I cant even begin on the number of raptors, purple heron and many other bird species.
We also did the night tour (at a slight additional cost.) We didn't see pygmy elephants at all but we did see their tracks. I was content with knowing they were close by.
The food was very tasty and plenty of it.
The staff were always willing to help and were very accommodating.
I feel very lucky to have been able to visit here and would defiantly come back again.

Thanks to all the staff there!!! and our tour guide John

From Ayla and Matt

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hello Star L,
Thank your for your great sharing on our product with everyone on Tripadvisor, we are glad that our hospitality met to your expectation.

Totally agree with you that with WILDLIFE, it is pure luck and you have to always be alert to open your eyes and search for them. Indeed you are lucky to have seen many of the primates and the storm stork very very rare seen. Again thanks for the review and we too keen to welcome you again to our humble lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay in this lodge. Rooms are basic but large and very comfortable. Food was good and plentiful. Friendly and helpful staff made our stay enjoyable.
We took 3 river cruises and one forest walk during our stay and saw plenty of wildlife including orangutans.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveladdict999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello Traveladdict999,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your sharing with others on our facilities.
It was great for us to know that your stay has been an accommodating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here with tropical gateway tours (fab guide) for a one night stay and were glad we did. We combined our stay with a trip to sepilok orang-utan sanctuary which was a great experience (see separate review).

Upon arrival we were greeted with welcome drinks in a lovely restaurant set in the rainforest at the side of the Kinabatangan river. The staff were very friendly and both our evening meal and breakfast were provided. Both meals were plentiful tasty buffets in a nice setting.

Our bags were taken to our room. The room was huge!! It had air conditioning, a big balcony with hammock, two double beds, a separate shower room and toilet. Literally huge and nicely decorated in keeping with the rainforest. It also had a safe.

I would really recommend both the afternoon and evening river trips as we saw different animals on both. In the day we saw the proboscis monkeys (amazing to see in the wild), a male orang-utan, long tailed macaques, huge monitor lizards, hornbills and snakes. The evening cruise was pitch black and exciting with a storm playing out in the distance!! We saw two different types of kingfishers, a civet cat, pythons and crocodiles. It really felt like we were on safari and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip and wish we had stayed longer. The guides on the boat really knew how to spot the animals (even in the pitch black) and were very knowledgeable and personable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkKirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello UkKirky,
Thank you for making the effort to write us this review. It is important that we know you are happy with our hospitality & services! Indeed, we place customers satisfaction as our top priority , extra effort and attention is channeled to ensure everything is perfect and enjoyable for all our guests alike. We hope to be of service to you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at Bilit Rainforest Lodge for one night with Amazing Borneo Tours. We had a lovely detached lodge (with two queen sized beds and a single bed), which gave a little bit of luxury in the rainforest. The buffet food was lovely and the setting is perfect for boat trips on the Kinabatangan River. We did one dusk boat trip and saw hornbills, monitor lizards and a couple of different types of monkey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 195Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello 195Lou,
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your trip. Indeed Bilit Rainforest Lodge is one of the better lodge to stay along Kinabatangan river. Do come back next year for other more exciting destination. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
0.7 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
91 reviews
1 mi away
Myne Resort
Myne Resort
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
251 reviews
5.1 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bilit Adventure Lodge
Bilit Adventure Lodge
#10 of 29 in Sandakan
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
366 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Address: KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price Range: £168 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bilit Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing