We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful part of the world, outstanding wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful part of the world, outstanding wildlife”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 days / 2 nights and I really wish we had stayed longer. We were on a wildlife tour of Malaysia and coming here was just amazing. Travelling down the river in the early morning and late evenings are memories that will live with me forever. We were lucky and saw an outstanding amount of wildlife - organgutang, probiscus monkey, crocodile, raptors x lots, birds innumerable. As some people have said the accomodation is a bit basic, but its perfectly fine. The point of coming to a place like this is not to sit in your cabin but get out there into an environment you just don't get at home. Food good, guides friendly and knowledgeable. I would go again if I where ever in this part of the world again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Chris G,
Thank you for your great review of the lodge, we were very happy to read it and see that you had enjoyed the lodge and its wildlife. The team hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    106
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
56
135
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This place was better then what I had expected. Right on the bank of Kinabatangan river, a quite bilit village and just across river is our lodge. Cottages provided were clean, spacious and comfortable. Food was also decent, although the variety was lacking which I can understand considering resource crunch in rainforest area, away from city. Local sight seeing were great. People were great and staff was helpful. Do visit. Only one suggestion, I am vegetarian and there could be a better vegetarian variety would really be useful but surely not many vegetarians travel there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello
Thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We were very happy to read your comments and mainly that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again when you come again to Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour arranged through STW Adventures. The tour included pick up from our hotel and we were taken to the Gomatong Caves which were very interested and we saw a wild orangutan with her baby near the caves which was fantastic. We were then driven to the river where a boat from the Bilit Rainforest Lodge picked us up and took us to the lodge (about 3 minutes). The staff at the lodge were great, we were treated like family. The room was nice, it was like a cabin and was clean and comfortable. We went on an afternoon river cruise on which we saw another wild orangutan, proboscis monkeys, crocodiles, macaques and lots of birds and an early morning river cruise. We also did the walk to the Ox Bow lakes. The night walk had to be cancelled because it was pouring with rain. Our guide was a young man called Connor who was very friendly, helpful and funny. I would highly recommend a night at Bilit, its relaxing and its good to reconnect with nature!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laspig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Laspig,
Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are very happy to read that Connor was as usual very attentive and helpful throughout your stay. We strive to please our guest's needs and expectations and are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Myself and a friend stayed here for 2 nights in March 2014 as part of a Tropical Gateway Tour (booked through Amazing Borneo locally in Malaysia).

We found the lodge to be quite comfortable although the lodges were quite basic. The rooms were very spacious and clean with plenty of drinking water and tea/ coffee facilities. That said I was a little saddened that my bed didn't have a mosquito net, like I thought, because I found that the window 'nets' still let the bugs in and that made me a little anxious sleeping (even though I was covered head to toe in deet and on Malaria tablets!!) Moreover there wasn't a great deal to do in the rooms- there was no tv for example and I also struggled to get any signal on either my UK or Malaysian number... That said some might find this quite charming, you could take a good book and chill out on the hammock just outside of the room with no interruptions from the outside world; my problem is I forgot my kindle!!

The main lodge offers a little more entertainment; there is a dart board and tv as well as a bar and wifi (which is available to buy for a few english pounds); food is also served here and it is amongst some of the best food I have had in my 3 months in Malaysia- a real highlight!

In addition, from the lodge (with their tour guides and for an added charge), you can go on several river cruises (morning, afternoon and evening) to see a lot of the local wildlife including the Proboscia monkey, rare birds and if you're lucky an orangutan. Also, you may visit the local villages or take a trek through what's left of the Sandakan rainforest after all the Palmoil plantation.... I'm sure you can also arrange for the tour guides to take you to the Gomantong cave and to see the Orangutans in Sepilok (or if they won't I'm sure they can arrange it for you, if you tell them in advance, or just book with the tour company mentioned above)...

I would like to see the lodge itself become a little more comfortable; for example I think if there were some cushions in the lodge area the seats would be more relaxing and also I think wifi should be free and there should be a pool table or table tennis, or both... We had a lot of 'downtime' in between tours and there really is no where to really walk to/ anything to see other than the river cruises and you can't keep paying for them!

On balance, I think this lodge is nice for a short break, but it is let down by there not being enough to do when you're not on a tour.... Personally I found even 2 nights quite long, so would perhaps just recommend one night unless your plans really require you to stay longer... For one night you could arrive in Sandakan early, visit the cave on the way to the lodge and then do an evening cruise, get up do a rainforest walk and river cruise and then head back towards the airport via the Orangutans.

Definitely worth doing, but consider your timings carefully!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_rsr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello lady_rsr5,
Thank you for having taken the time to review the hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read you had had a good stay with us. We will also be looking into your comment regarding the mosquito netting. further on the feedback with activities perhaps we could add in of more books to our little library collection, there are already board games (e.g. chess etc) as well however we were hesitant to have pool table as such as this could contribute to group play that may trigger noises and the lodge is about observing the wildlife. We thankful with your thoughts and will definitely look at making the lodge a better place for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you want to explore the jungle or go on a wildlife river cruise, it's likely you'll be staying in a lodge along the Kinabatangan river.

I think this is meant to be one of the nicer lodges, comprising of double and 'detatched' chalets, all connected by boardwalks to the main lodge where you have your meals. Stay is all-inclusive, but you can buy beers and other drinks at the bar.

We were upgraded to a large split-level chalet, with the bathroom on one level and the bedroom on the next. The furnishings were lovely - lots of wood panelling and wicker chairs, very colonial style, and the room was clean. We had one incident with an ant invasion in the bathroom, but staff were quickly on hand with bug spray and cleaning materials. All chalets have a porch with chairs and hammocks, perfect for relaxing during your down time there. There's no wifi in the rooms, but I think you can buy access at the bar (although perhaps use this as an opportunity to simply enjoy your surroundings, you don't stay in a rainforest every day!).

Buffet meals are served at set times and are delicious with plenty of choice (although not much for vegetarians). They even serve afternoon tea with cute, freshly baked cakes and local sweets.

It really is a special place to stay, it's lovely to be able to eat and sleep in the middle of a rainforest, surrounded by the sounds of the local wildlife.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Dirgette,
On behalf of the hotel team, I thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. In regards to your feedback with the vegetarian meal choices, we shall look in to the matter. Overall, we are glad to know that you had a positive stay with us and sincerely hope to welcome you again when you come back to Borneo, Bilit Rainforest Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was really pleased with the Bilit Rainforest Lodge when my partner and I stayed last week. At first I thought it was more upmarket than we had wanted for our rain forest experience however we soon changed our tune. The Lodge supports the local village with many villagers working there. The staff are fantastic, friendly, helpful and fun to be with. The lodges are beautiful and at night, with the noise from the rain forest and the macaques playing on your hammock outside, you soon realize that you are deep into the rain forest.

The boat trips out along the Kinabtangan are also excellent. The guides have spectacular eye sight so help you spot the wildlife, they are all local so know where to find the animals. We were lucky enough to see a Python, Proboscis monkeys and an orangutan on our evening trip.

Suffice it to see, we didn't want to leave Bilit rain forest lodge and the Kinabatangan.

Room Tip: The further away from the main lodge you are, the more wildlife you will encounter at night. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello wildc98,
Thank you for taking the time to review us, it was an absolute pleasure reading the review. We will be certain to share these fabulous comments with the rest of the team in recognition of the team’s commitment and passion for guest service. Appreciate the recommendation made, look forward to welcoming you again to Bilit Rainforest Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is an excellent base for river cruises where you can see several interesting animals from birds to orang-utans and crocodiles. Our chalet was clean and nicely decorated, but the only thing that I missed there was a mosquito net. This net is mainly for convenience as we did not have any mosquitos or other bugs in the bed, but still as you are in a jungle it would be nice to have some just-in-case protection.

Staff at the hotel were friendly and the main "building" was cosy and nice to hang around. There is not really that much to do except the cruises and jungle walks, but meanwhile its just great to have a rest in a hammock with the jungle sounds around you. I would recommend the place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Leena152,
Appreciate the review and we are delighted to know that you had enjoy the natural attractions here at bilit Rainforest Lodge. We shall definitely review on your feedback with the mosquito netting. Further to your compliment on the staff, we are indeed fortunate to have some wonderful young team with diverse ethnic background, it really does add to the experience. Thank you for your recommendation look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
1.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
0.7 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
0.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Property: Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Address: KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bilit Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing