We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and establishment making improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Orange Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Pluses: Location, one of the few hotels in the area. I think it may actually be located at the extreme southern end of Jacksonville. Very friendly staff. The free breakfast was a hot breakfast that was better than many. Rooms are large and have a lot of space. The are remodeling and my room had fresh paint and new furniture. Eating area was kept very clean.

Negatives. The television needs a serious upgrade. Seems new but the resolution was worse than I can explain. Very pixelated and blurry. I would turn it off and a few moments later it would turn itself back on. Only one elevator which can create a longer wait time.

Room Tip: GPS coordinates were south of the actual hotel. Make sure that you are headed West of Roosevelt Blv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim-Realtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for coming and for your feedback! Hearing from guests is an important way for us to know what we're doing well and where we need to improve.
This location is undergoing a process of updating rooms. Many rooms have new paint and new furniture. We're going to be redoing the lobby and breakfast area soon. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet! It is better than most free breakfasts but we're still going to tweak it and make it better!
I do wish that we had more than one elevator. Unfortunately, we can't do anything about that. It's very uncommon for a backup to occur with it.
I'm also trying to get Google maps and TripAdvisor to correctly list our location on a map. If you list our address and zip code in your smartphone, you'll get here. The older GPS devices have a harder time finding us. This is because not long ago the Post Office changed our zip code!
When you do find us, we promise the best stay we can give! And the next time you come back, we hope to get a higher rating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I thought Best Western is in its way to improve, maybe not all location. The room was OK, but had dirty carpet, can’t control A/C unit always on low (to save!!!). Luggage cart from the 60’s. The room had a fridge and microwave, but have your breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watchman4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for telling us about your stay.
All hotels are independently owned and operated. This property is on the upswing! We have put new furniture and paint in almost all rooms! We're replacing the lighting! We're renovating the dining area! We're updating the breakfast menu! We're updating the meeting spaces! There's a lot going on at this hotel now that will make us one of the best values in this area!
I'm sorry that what you had during this trip wasn't the most enjoyable stay at a hotel for you. I believe that when you come back, you will have a much better experience!
We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Everyone was very courteous and friendly. Our room was very conveniently located to the lobby. The location of the hotel was convenient to shopping, meals, etc. The complimentary breakfast was quite good and had a great variety of selections for the guests. The ladies that put it together everyday did a wonderful job and hardly let anything run out and gave good instructions on use of everything.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

First, we are sorry to hear of your loss. We do hope that you and your family will be alright.
We also thank you for coming to our hotel and for telling us about your stay!
Our property is full of a welcoming staff that has been here for many years. All are ready to please and give you the best we can give!
Our rooms are being remodeled. We have painted and put in new furniture in most of the rooms. We appreciate your feedback on our breakfast. We're actually going to improve it soon and have even more variety and options!
We hope that you return under better circumstances and that you choose us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel! Great room and even better service. Everything was very clean and it's obvious the staff here takes pride in their business. I Would definitely stay here again. I would also recommend it to anyone. Thanks Mack and Arthur!

Shannon

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you, Shannon! It was a pleasure to make your stay what it should be!
We're making our hotel better on a daily basis! Wait til you see what we've done when you come through again! I can't wait to show you! New furniture, carpet, artwork, breakfast, so much happening here but none of it will disturb any guest! All work is done during the day and done by dinner time.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have been ther before and some of the rooms have been redecorated with new furniture.The breakfast is average and more fresh fruit needs to be made available in teh morning and the evening. The price is fair.

Room Tip: get a room facing the pool. A better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for coming back and letting us know about your stay!
We have done a lot of work on the hotel and much more is coming! We have new furniture in most of our rooms and more on the way!
I am looking at options for more variety for our breakfast, including fruits. We have a better breakfast than what we're required to have, but we're going to make it even better than it is now!
We hope you come back soon to see!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area was clean, and so was the pool. Breakfast was wonderful, and always fresh and the area was very clean. Our room was also very nice and very clean. We enjoyed our stay and would go back to this Best Western again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jacqui1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

What a great review! We're glad to have helped your stay in our area a great one!
We do take pride in our hotel and our staff shows it in how well they take care of it! I'll be sure to pass on your kind words!
We are working through a renovation project that will make us an even better hotel! We have put new furniture in most of our rooms, we have more furniture coming in soon. Our lobby and breakfast areas will go through an extensive remodel very soon!
Let us know when you're coming back and we'll tell you about what else we've done!
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Hotel was clean with great accomodations. Breakfast was good however is the same menu. I stayed for 8 nights and the menu was the same. Good gym but it needs wipes to clean equipment after using it. Good hotel overall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for coming and for telling us about your stay! Guest feedback is one of the most powerful tools a hotel manager can have!
You are reading my mind! As we go through our renovation process, I'm always looking for ways to make this hotel better. We've made many improvements already and many more are coming! I am exploring a better variety of breakfast options. I hope to have some rolled out soon. We are currently working on making our fitness center better and cleaner!
We have already painted all the rooms and put new furniture in many of them! We have much more planned for this hotel this year so I hope that when you come back, you find your stay even better than the last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Park
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Orange Park
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Orange Park/Jacksonville
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Orange Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Stay Suites of America
Stay Suites of America
#9 of 12 in Orange Park
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Jacksonville, FL
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jacksonville Orange Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites

Address: 4580 Collins Road, Orange Park, FL 32073 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Southside Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Orange Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Orange Park
Price Range: £60 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED!! The Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites is newly renovated inside and out! We have a new upscale dining area, new furniture, wallpaper, paint, furniture, carpet and bedding! We are conveniently located to I-295 and a large portion of Orange Park's entertainment area. Less than one mile to Orange Park Kennel Club and Poker Room, Orange Park Mall with a variety of restaurants, stores and movie theater. A huge selection of dining options are also nearby. A free HOT breakfast is available every morning! Our staff has the "can do" attitude to meet almost any request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orange Park
Orange Park Best Western
Best Western Hotel Southside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing