We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good, but place had a bug spray smell”
Review of Orange Buffet

Orange Buffet
Ranked #96 of 219 Restaurants in Orange Park
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Jacksonville Florida USA
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food was good, but place had a bug spray smell”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Plenty of selections, we've eaten here a few times. Nice selection of food and sushi. (american, chinese and sushi) but place has a weird bug spray smell to it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sspitzfaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jax, FL
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Better than the usual Chinese buffet”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The variety of Chinese and American foods offers some thing for most! From grilled/ steamed fish, to the typical Chinese favorites, to the full shushi bar, to the grill option with meats and veggies you select, to the dessert bar with ice cream, cookies, and oriental treats...the variety is extensive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brewer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT EAT HERE. FOOD POISONING AT SUSHI BAR”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I've been here about five times. It was decent those other times for the money, and the place was busy. On June 7, 2012 around 8 - 10 pm, it wasn't busy. This made me nervous, since I've known that certain buffet owners - out to cut costs on slow nights - fail to run their electricity (hot or cold) at the right temps. Also, such buffets don't change out the food to keep it fresh, as they should. But, I tried to think the best of this buffet due to our past experiences. I hardly ate anything, just to be safe and I was OK. But, sadly, that wasn't the case for my boyfriend. This time, my boyfriend - who usually loves the sushi bar - vomited it all up when we went home a few hours later. He felt dizzy in the car, but tried to shrug it off, hoping it wasn't what he thought it might be. This has never happened before, and he has eaten sushi for at least 15 years. Afterward, when we called the restaurant, they refused to refund us our money and told us to visit an emergency room. I told the lady - Angie? I think she said her name was - that we are not visiting an ER unless they pay for it. She didn't like the sound of that. But, she did say they weren't busy last night and that the food had been sitting out as a result. So, there you have it, from the horse's mouth. Eat here at your own risk.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nunen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just another Buffet”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Most China buffets get bad over time. This one started bad. Food left out too long and no ambiance. It looked almost the same as the Family Buffet that use to occupy the building before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food-Great selection-Great Price”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We have been to several chinese restaurants in town and by far this one has the best selection, they offer something for everyone, American selections as well as asian. The prices are very good. The staff keeps the buffet line well supplied, they bring out fresh food as soon as it gets low, not run out. Lunch or Dinner this is the nicest-cleanest Asian-American restaurant around. We have made it our favorite. Sushi choises are endless. TRY IT YOU'LL LIKE IT!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MermaidJacksonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orange Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Orange Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing