We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a repeat visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Club Continental Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Orange Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Club Continental in Jacksonville Florida is my very favorite place to stay when traveling for business or pleasure in that area. Be sure to make dining reservations and stay on property for dinner. Great place to meet clients!

Room Tip: The River Suites are right on the St Johns and you wake up to a stunning sunrise every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

That statement is not meant in a derogatory manner at all, in fact quite the contrary. We needed to stay in Orange Park for a special event involving my son, something we wanted to create a memory for, and that involves ensuring the entire trip is memorable for everyone. Knowing my wife and my mother-in-law are both eclectic interior designers, there is no conceivable solution that presents a positive memory for us staying at – what did a previous and ill-mannered patron suggest? – The Hampton? Hardly. We needed to find somewhere with character, and character is not merely defined aesthetically, but in the quality of the staff. This too cannot be defined in terms of how well one does their job alone, but also in the manner in which they carry out these tasks.

Is the Inn old? Yes. Does it show signs of age? Yes. Does that detract from the aesthetic qualities that create an ambiance the likes of which other chains could no sooner afford to design, much less possess a quantitative amount of creativity to master? No. It reminds me of a Tuscan Villa I once visited, and flooded my memories of that trip the entire stay at Club Continental. My wife and mother-in-law were in absolute heaven. The antiques, the patina made them both giddy, while my mother enjoyed reading about the history and traveling back in time to when she was small. My son just found the entire experience ‘cool’, and his friends all wanted to hang out here, where “it was awesome” instead of their cookie-cutter hotels.
Dust bunnies, dishwashing, murals… obviously some people have never traveled extensively through Europe as these are actually quite common, though I will say, I did not see any dust bunnies, nor did I find my dishes inadequately washed. The murals are to me, a throwback to a bygone day when the wealthy paid for their walls to be unique, instead of some boring wallpaper. I have stayed in rooms that were meant to be stark and clean, and for somewhere like NYC, perhaps that is the best way to go. My company find accommodations for me to stay in hotels that run 4 or 5 times the cost of a night at the Club Continental, and while nice, the rooms were less than memorable. There’s also a façade the staff engender in these places, a pretense of compassion and concern that masks their derision and vitriol. That is something I did not receive at the Club Continental in the slightest. Every member of the staff we interacted with went above and beyond to be courteous, and not because they had to, but I think they want to. Share a joke, a pleasantry, or just wish you a good day in passing, each went out of their way to create indelible memories.

This is after my having changed my reservations five or six times in a 36-hour period. Not once, did I ever feel as though I was an inconvenience, or that my requests were extraordinary. Upon departing, I left behind an item that has some measure of sentimental value to my wife. I called after returning home, and Harry, after realizing the housekeeping staff did in fact turn it in, sent it to me certified mail at his own expense, refusing to let me reimburse him. Integrity is not a word used often enough today, because so many fail to possess that quality it has become relegated to movie punch lines. The people have integrity, and that is more than enough for me to say, if I am ever within 100 miles of Orange Park and require accommodations, I am staying at Club Continental.

Room Tip: We stayed at both Riverside and English Room. If you want water view, then riverside. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daemonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We are local members of the club and have used the Club for ourselves as a couple, as solo, and for friends and family. They have rooms in the old mansion as well as more updated hotel suites on the riverfront. There is no better quiet riverfront oasis in the Jacksonville area. We've never been here on a big wedding night so I would probably want to check that out. I've stayed in pensions and B & Bs in Europe and find this to equate to moderately priced European places.

The sliding glass doors on the river have tint because they face East and this is florida!!! Watch silver sparkle across the river at sunrise and moonrise, watch for birds an occasional alligator or manatee. There is a lovely riverfront sidewalk just outside the grounds if you want more than leisurely strolls through the garden grounds. The pool has a summer food beverage service on the weekends. Meals at the club are impeccable. Have a free continental breakfast (muffins wonderful) or made to order omelet.

Finally, this location is far safer and quiet than the big name chains up by the interstate.

Room Tip: We prefer the riverfront rooms for scenery, size and quiet over the mansion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Losthorizonlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We were planning on staying on Jacksonville Beach, a stop on the way from Gainesville to South Florida, visiting friends in Jacksonville. Our friends insisted we stay at the Club Continental, closer to them. What a perfect choice! I had never heard of it. It is a throwback to a lovely old Southern-style vacation home, built for the Palmolive heir back in the day. When we arrived, we were greeted by Harry, very friendly and welcoming. He talked about the grounds and personally took us to our room, The Continental, which has a river view and French doors that open onto a patio, fresh flowers on the table. The room is beautifully appointed, with a fabulous newly renovated bathroom, which is huge! Big Jacuzzi tub and a shower with three heads. Ahhh! All the rooms to have a similar feel, but, different decor. It truly has a feel of a large private home. There were two weddings going on, but, really did not interfere with the ambience. Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open, not open on the weekends, so, we ended up in a wonderful little pub on the property grounds, mostly locals, WHAT FUN! There is a complimentary breakfast everyday, both hot and cold choices, very good, big dining area that overlooks the river.
There is a lovely swimming pool, too chilly that day, but, nice to sit outside.
Jacksonville Beach is close, this is a perfect choice.
What a beautiful retreat! Should be on anyone's list as a must!

Room Tip: Continental was lovely, king bed, huge bathroom, river view. There are rooms directly on the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saj1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I was there for a family wedding. Everything was exquisite.. the setting for the wedding overlooking the St. John river was just charming. The grounds with the flowers and moss hanging from the trees reminded me of a bygone era.. the food was excellent.. our room, the Mediterranean suite was large, an incredible view and a
very comfy bed. The downside was the noise. Our wedding was on Friday so we stayed over until Sunday.. having driven a long way.. we thought we would relax for an extra day but that didn't happen. There was a luncheon on sat. afternoon and a wedding on Sat . night. Both events took over the hotel. There wasn't even dinner served on saturday night but after checking that was stated on their website but I was still disappointed.. The wedding was very noisy as it should be and by midnight the noise was over ..then around 2 a.m. the party people emerged from a little pub and the noise started all over again ..My point, I would definitely recommend a stay at the Club but make sure there is not a wedding, during the week would probably be splendid!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed for two nights with five friends from high school who met at Club Continental for a reunion of sorts. We loved the clean rooms right on the waterfront and the beautiful grounds. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming but the highlight was the amazing food! The complimentary breakfast was truly outstanding and beyond anything any of us have had anywhere else -- and a few of us are well-traveled to say the least. We also had dinner there one night and were just as pleased at the variety of the offerings and the delicious and lovely presentations. It was amazing. For the price, you could not find a better value, a more relaxed atmosphere and a more gracious place to be.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the water -- we loved being on the lower level right on the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Wonderful weekend spent with friends attending a Jacksonville wedding.
Club Continental is a garden paradise beneath majestic oaks, over looking the St John's river,
with spacious, clean rooms, sumptuous meals, and a staff that makes you feel like royalty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 659margareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Park
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Orange Park
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Jacksonville Orange Park
2.2 mi away
Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Orange Park/Jacksonville
1.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club Continental Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club Continental Suites

Address: 2143 Astor St, Orange Park, FL 32073-5624
Region: United States > Florida > Orange Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Park
Price Range: £94 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Club Continental Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Continental is more that just a bed and breakfast. Our fifteen River Suites all have private riverfront balconies and each room offers dynamic views. Completed in 1993, these accommodations offer a one-of-kind overnight experience. The seven individually decorated rooms in our mansion feature a romantic old world ambiance. Of course, each overnight stay also includes a complimentary Continental Breakfast. The on site River House Pub gives an added dimension with lively entertainment, spirits, and good cheer, in a relaxed and casual environment, while our elegant riverfront dining room pleases both the palette and the eye. A midst manicured gardens, majestic oaks and aromatic magnolias our dedicated staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Club Continental Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Club Continental Hotel Orange Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing