We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service ruins the great food”
Review of Tasty Wok

Tasty Wok
Ranked #639 of 3,829 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service ruins the great food”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a shame. This place has some of the better Asian food around but the staff is unimaginably rude. The establishment is family owned and operated, so there are no consequenses for poor service. And if they don't like the tip you leave them, they will alter your credit card slip. Yes, that happened to me. Check your credit card statements or pay cash if you go here. And don't expect to be treated as a valued customer, either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    37
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but with sanitary concern”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Ever since a friend of ours introduced us to this restaurant, we can't say enough of how delicious and authentic the Chinese/Vietnamese (?) menu selections are. Time and again, I would recommend this place to my friends and family who visits Orlando, FL.

The place is easy to get to and located on busy East Colonial Drive. There is parking at the back and additional parking is available at the Publix across, if you plan on doing some grocery shopping, too.

Service has always been good, if you get the right server. Food is always excellent. However, you need to pay particular attention to your food. There was hair in one of our orders that was highly visible. Our server was prompt in responding to our concern, removed the nauseating order, and replaced it with a new dish. This could have been an aberration as this was the first time I found a problem like this in the 2 years we've been patronizing the place. I would still go to this restaurant, but would probably wait a while until the memory of the nauseating item gets off my mind. Too bad for such delicious, delicious food and prompt service. That's why I couldn't give it a four or five star.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L0la3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The real McCoy (McChinese) of Asian BBQ in Orlando”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

BBQ and noodle shops are common in Southeast and Indo China where breakfast, lunch, snacks, and dinner are served. Tasty Wok is THE place to go for CHinese BBQ in Orlando, featuring chiecken, duck, and pork along with noodle and rice dishes. No table cloths, no waiters in tuxedos, but the food is tasty and inexpensive. You may have to wait a few minutes for a table, but it is worth the wait.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlc248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I go here a lot!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

These same owners were the folks who taught me about authentic Chinese in one of their other restaurants. I have followed them around town. :o) The beef with Gali Lan (Chinese Brocoli) is decision as is the crispy pork ( okay I love FAT). I also love the eggplant with pork there. It is the real deal. You can also get the duck which is hanging out for all to view. Crispy and good. You will find a lot of Asians eating here. Always a good sign. Sometimes the wait staff can be a little brusque.. it's cultural... they mean no harm. They actually warm up after they get to know you. ( One of my staff members is Asian and they are even short with her).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good Chinese food”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Authentic, exceed expectation
I thought this was only possible in Hong Kong
Has the feel of a authentic Chinese restaurant, nothing artificial like p f changs, no bourbon chicken type of rubbish

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasty Wok also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Tasty Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing