We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Point Orlando Resort
Ranked #20 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Unfortunately this hotel was very disappointing.
- At first they put us in a room facing the parking lot, although we paid for a pool view room (which costs more than a non pool view room). They said they had no pool-view rooms available (!), and showed us a different room (not pool view, but at least it wasn't parking lot view). we agreed to take that room, but they already gave it to somebody else exactly two minutes after they showed it to us. We explained that we booked a pool view room, but they said that booking.com "doesn't guarantee" the room type. The room without the pool view costs less than what we're paying, so that made absolutely no sense.
They said they don't have other rooms for us, so we went to the lobby with our luggage, to see what we can do. And then there was a trust issue: the receptionist asked us to send him our confirmation email, that says we booked a pool view room. By the time the email arrived he discovered that there's a pool view room available. This room was fine, so we took it.
- To top it all off, when we approached our room, a staff member looked at us funny and asked angrily: "pizza fliers?" We didn't understand her at first, but then we realized she was asking us if we were there to distribute pizza fliers (because I guess we give a pizza flier distributors kind of vibe?). :( We explained that we are staying at the hotel and she said she was sorry. Still she could think for a second before accusing people for no reason (a man and woman walking together would probably be just hotel guests and not pizza flier distributers).
- One thing we instantly noticed on each floor was a terrible cheap dog food smell in the corridors. It was a very strong scent, and it was the same smell on each corridor of every floor we were on.
- The sofa in the room was worn out (see image) and dirty. There was a rotten orange on the floor near the curtains (see image). There was also a lonely sock in the dryer.
- All the appliances in the room were extremely noisy. This includes the washing machine, dryer and the dishwasher (the latter being unbearably noisy).
- We tripped when we went out to the balcony, because of an elevated threshold in the door.
- The elevators are very slow, and there are only two of them for each tower. The staircase room was all concrete. Not very pleasant.
- I would not call this hotel a "boutique" hotel, as they do on their website. You wouldn't expect plastic plants in a boutique hotel. I would think a boutique hotel should be elegant and stylish. This is not the case here.

The good things about the room are that it's very spacious, and it's very well equipped with appliances. The bed is huge.
But we thought that the terrible experience with the staff and cleanliness was just not worth it. We never had such a bad experience with any hotel (mostly because we always choose the hotels we stay at after researching and reading a lot of reviews), but this was a real miss.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to make sure they will actually reserve the room you booked. Make sure your room does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fmDaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,997
    1,158
    301
    51
    40
See reviews for
1,856
1,669
98
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,051)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to Orlando and The Point is an excellent choice for everything the city has to offer.
60 seconds off I Drive which I think is a benefit, The Point is a relaxed setting with excellent facilities - the in house Starbucks being a major bonus for me, I need my morning fix! The rooms are typically large but with extra detail that justifies the 4 star rating, fixtures & fittings are very good as is the hotels decor in general.
Would definitely recommend and will visit again.
Thank you

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bazrh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The location of this place was great. Minutes from tons of food, shopping, and activities. The room was spacious and clean. I did find that the oven in the room was very greasy, but we never used it so it was not a huge deal. We had lots and lots of room. There is a bit of a walk if you do not get a prime parking spot, but it's nothing terrible. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuggedMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We were travelling with our daughter, son-in-law and two children, we had two rooms with an inter-leading door, the facilities which included a full kitchen, dishwasher and tumbledryer were so useful after having been away from home for 2 weeks. The rooms were lovely , spacious and absolutely spotless. Close to the bus service and Universal Studios, we were extremely happy with our choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Jenny F -- Thank you for the review. I'm pleased that your whole family had a good time. Yes, having all the appliances in the suite is very helpful on holiday. I'm happy that you were happy with your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWFlorida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Very friendly staff, gave us plenty of info, didnt have to pay for parking, room was very clean bed was comfortable, very quiet area yet just across the street from universal studios, took us no more then ten mins to get to the park. The all you can eat breakfast was a decent price and the food was really good with a large variety. Loved this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear sunshine2011 -- I appreciate your review of your stay. It's always great to read that a guest of ours "won't stay anywhere else from now on." And I'm glad that you enjoyed the breakfast -- the price, the food and the variety. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

brilliant hols at top class resort. the rooms fab and spacious, the jacuzzi a gift and the balconies overlooking universal grt wit all the fireworks. staff very friendly and always helpful. location is just of i-drive and walking distance to all amenities. the taxi service the hotel uses must be commended and no rip off, usually with hotel normally more expensive than street pick up, not in this case/ very efficient and reliable. must get there e mail for pick up nx time we in orlando.

cant wait to go bac to orlando and definitely be staying at point orlando.
thanks guys for brill holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear DublinJoanne -- Thanks for your review, calling us a "hidden gem." Sounds like you had a great time, and that you experienced our outstanding hospitality. And I'm so pleased to hear that you had a good experience with the taxi company we recommended. I wouldn't have it any other way! Please come back and visit us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
388 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The Point Orlando Resort is the perfect location for a visit to Universal Studios. We stayed four nights in a one bedroom suite and enjoyed our stay. The unit was over 700 square feet and included a full kitchen, large bathroom, and laundry facilities. The bathroom had a separate door, so the master suite could be private. The living room including a hide-a-bed for additional guests.

The complimentary bus service to Universal Studios was reliable and a 15 minute ride and left daily at 8:20am. We took a taxi back each day for $8.00 including the tip because the free bus returned at 7:30pm. The staff is courteous and the facility is clean. Great value for Orlando.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear ronvoyage -- I really appreciate the nice review, especially from a Top Contributor like you. You found a good way to get back from Universal, allowing for more fun at a very reasonable cost. Good for you! And I'm glad you found our staff courteous and the resort clean. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,810 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Property: The Point Orlando Resort
Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8322
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando
The Point Orlando Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing