We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Point Orlando Resort
Ranked #25 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Toilet constantly burps and makes all kinds of racket. Washing machine sounds like a jack hammer. Some sort of small spider-like insects constantly crawling around the countertop. Must use Keureg coffee pods and they do not replenish those like most hotels do, they charge here. If you plan on using the pull out sofa, good luck sleeping (although most pull outs suck). The good...nice pool area and hot tub. Mostly clean around the complex and interior.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank s R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for choosing The Point Orlando Resort and for taking the time to provide your feedback. Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed the pool area and cleanliness of the resort. We sincerely apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Please know that this is far below our usual high standards. Your comments have been sent to the appropriate departments and are being addressed internally to ensure this does not occur in the future. We hope that you will accept our apologies and consider staying with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,911
    1,129
    301
    50
    38
See reviews for
1,801
1,635
93
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Every person working on this hotel will do everything to help you. Our suitcases was lost and they helped us calling the airline everyday, the sweet lady even offered to go home and get her own creme for me. And after checking out, we found out our car had a flat tire, and again, they did everything to help us out. The hotel is very nice and clean, but the most important for me, was that everybody was so sweet. If I ever come back to Orlando, I will stay here, that's for sure

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for the great review! We strive to provide each and every one of our guests with genuine, personalized service. It means a lot to us that you recognized that and that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are thrilled that you plan to return. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We chose this hotel based on the reviews at this site, but we were disappointed. Check-in was a nightmare...housekeeping was still cleaning rooms at the 4:00 check-in time, so there were families (with reservations) camped out in the lobby waiting for a room to become available. Never seen anything so disorganized! We waited over an hour for a room. Guests in the lobby were yelling at the representatives at the front desk...it was a bad scene. After a lot of confusion at the front desk...giving us a room key, then looking at their computer, then having to change the room, then giving us a new room key, we finally got our room. Unfortunately, another family was also given the same room, so we then had to sort that out (the other family was given new room).

As for housekeeping. It was non-existent on our first day. Arrived back at room at 9:00pm and there had been no housekeeping. They came up that night and did a quick housekeeping visit.

As for a wake-up call, it was non-existent on our first morning. We shouldn't have been surprised given the chaos at the front desk. I'm sure when I called down for a wake-up call, it got lost in the chaos. Luckily I woke up on my own early enough without the wake-up call.

We were very surprised that a hotel of this size in such a busy area was so poorly managed and felt so chaotic. They obviously need to hire additional housekeeping staff as well as customer service staff...everyone was in over their heads.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoadAgain9199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The situation that you describe is far from the way we normally operate and we sincerely apologize that you were inconvenienced. All of your comments have been shared with the entire staff and we are addressing them internally. We hope that you will accept our apologies and consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Beach, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at The Point over the Christmas holiday while enjoying Disney. Our experience was stellar! The front desk staff was amazing in making sure that we had excellent directions to Disney as well as the closest Walgreens when we needed medication. At the last minute we asked to extend our reservation for one night and the staff worked their magic to make it happen. Our deluxe family suite was nicer than any we saw on the Disney property and the drive to the parks was easy. A shuttle is also offered to various tourist destinations. If we ever travel to Orlando again, this will absolutely be our first choice!!

Room Tip: If you have a large family, reserve the deluxe family suite! We have five children and we were able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Kara, it was a pleasure to serve you during your time in Orlando. Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent experience on TripAdvisor. It is great to know that you received great service and that you enjoyed your suite. We are honored to be your first choice in Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for 6 nights just before Christmas and would definitley return, We have stayed around I Drive over a dozen times in various levels of hotel and this one is in a wonderfully quite and easily accessable location which is key over the busy holiday season.
Wet and Wild was walkable and Universal was less than 5 mins drive away.

Check in was simple and the staff always helpful, the room was large and well equipped with very comfy beds and all areas where pretty clean.
The kitchinette (Microwave, fridge, sink and crockery) was an unexpected bonus to us and we missed the ability to breakfast in the room when we moved on to another hotel.

There were a couple of minor niggles, the shower was pretty rubbish (worse than most US ones which aren't great to start with) and you should be aware of the hotel 'concept'

They seem to be trying to run it as some form of efficiency, efficient for them, expensive for you if you want a full hotel service.

On top of our quoted price we had to pay a 'resort fee' which seemed to cover parking and wi-fi (stated as free on their website) which is becomming pretty common practice in the US but us tantamount to a hidden fee or tax, we then found that the rooms are not cleaned daily - they make the bed and hang/replace towels but there is no cleaning/vacuming, sheet changes, kitchenette cleaning performed - if you want that doing you pay extra each time.
It's not the worst idea in the world but it should be made clearer as it's website states it as a 'full service boutique hotel' which it is not.

I would go back but it's important to know what you are getting for your money so you can accuratley compare it to other hotels once you add in the cost of parking and full room cleaning.

Room Tip: It's not a hotel for the view - we looked out over Universal and Wet and Wild which was fine. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allplayandnowork73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. It is wonderful to know that you had a great experience and would be happy to stay with us again. Thank you for mentioning the wonderful service you received from our staff as well as how well-equipped you found the suite to be. Please accept our apologies that you were not made aware of our housekeeping policy when booking. This is stated on our website and is communicated at check-in. Our hotel service fee includes self-parking, local phone calls, in-room starter kit, and schedule shuttle transportation to the theme parks. This is also outlined on our website, but we will look in to ways to make it more clear to our guests so that this does not occur in the future. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again when you find yourself visiting the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The clean, spacious suite with a kitchen is great for family travel. A Whole Foods supermarket is close (by car on Sand Lake Rd) to stock up for meals. Attractive pool area, but cabana food can be skipped. Kaitlyn at the front desk provided superb and friendly service. We didn't use the washer and dryer, but it was nice to have in the room in case. Hotel provides free shuttle service to and from several theme parks. All for a great room rate, but be prepared for an extra resort fee. We would definitely be repeat customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjb726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! It was a pleasure to serve you during your time with us. We love hearing about how much you enjoyed the suite as well as the amenities like our pool area and theme park shuttle. We apologize that you didn't enjoy the food at our Cabana Bar & Grille as much as we would have liked. This is unusual and we will be contacting you privately to learn more information. We appreciate your feedback and are so glad to know that you enjoyed your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights over the Xmas holidays. The suite was very spacious with its own full kitchen and laundry. Very pleasantly relaxed and quite. A big difference from the crowds at the Disney resort hotels. We had the breakfast package which was very convenient in not having to go out every morning or even making our own. The only comment is that the breakfast buffet was lacking in choice especially if you were paying for it at $11. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay very much and highly recommend to others.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank smokeyjoeTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We appreciate you providing feedback on your stay with us. It is wonderful to know how much you enjoyed your suite and the tranquil atmosphere that The Point Orlando Resort provides. Thank you for the high recommendation, we hope that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Floridays Resort Orlando
#18 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,635 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Property: The Point Orlando Resort
Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando
The Point Orlando Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing