We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love the hotel but not the fact that they put someone in our room at the same time as us.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Point Orlando Resort
Ranked #25 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
water
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“love the hotel but not the fact that they put someone in our room at the same time as us.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I wanted a romantic weekend away and chose The Point at the last minute. We arrived and were given a great rate for a 1 bedroom suite. We took our luggage to the room, the suite had an S after the room number, it was adjacent to H, and found our spacious suite with a beautiful view of the pool area well appointed and equipped. After resting a few minutes, we went out for dinner When we returned and were entering our suite, the "house man" was with another guest, moving his luggage into our suite. That guest had been in our suite and had been drinking. I was horrified. Was he in our bed?, did he go through our things. The man was intoxicated and who knew what he had done. I called the front desk, the desk clerk was apologetic and said she would assign us a suite with our own entrance. She would send security with a key instead of making us go to the front desk. We waited about 10 minutes in the room that smelled of beer. Security came and she was great. Very apologetic and helpful. Our new suite was also clean and well appointed. The difference was that we had a view of the drainage pond and parking lot next door. This am I asked if we could check out later than 11 as the laundry I put in the dryer before 10 was not dry. I was told 10 or 15 minutes max because they needed to get the room cleaned. We left on time not wanting to inconvenience the,. The gentleman at check out did adjust our bill, charging us a lesser rate for our first night and asked if I wanted to dry the clothes but by that time they were loaded into our car. Even though the place is lovely and we have stayed her before, I'm not sure if I will return. I shudder to think what I might have found if we had stayed out later that first night and no one could explain how someone else was in our suite.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chippy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
First and foremost, we sincerely apologize for the discrepancy that you describe. Please know that this was due to a technical difficulty and we are so sorry that this happened to you. It was our pleasure to quickly move you to another room and we are glad to hear how much you did enjoy the suite and your stay with us. We hope that you will accept our sincere apologies and consider staying with us again in the future. Please feel free to contact us if we can assist in setting up a reservation and finding you a great rate. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,909
    1,129
    301
    50
    38
See reviews for
1,800
1,635
93
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just checked out of the Point Orlando after a weeks stay for our honeymoon (young couple) We arrived to friendly reception staff who upgraded us complimentary to a one bedroom grande suite which was great!! Suite was spacious with all the necessities!!
The location of this hotel is just of the main international drive, 2 minute stroll, and has everything you could need within walking distance. Places to eat like TGI Fridays and Pizza Hut were just up the street, Wet n Wild was a 3-5 minute walk away and Universal about 15minute walk away which was lovely on a sunny day!! This hotel is set back from the busy drive so it's peaceful. Pool was never too busy but this may be different in the busy summer months. The hotel itself has a small outdoor bar and a small Buffett area for breakfast so don't do all your dining/drinking on site...for more variety stroll up the street and there's lots of selection for food and drinks!! January weather was very variable, we had rain 3 days and sun the other 3. We didn't go to Disney so didn't need to use the iride or lynx bus. Got a taxi to both the premium outlets and Florida mall for shopping..premium outlets was definitely the cheaper of the two!!
Overall a great holiday at a great hotel. Would recommend for a getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mwray87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thanks for the great recommendation! We are so glad that you enjoyed the spacious one-bedroom suite. Thank you for commenting on the convenient location of our resort and all of the areas you were able to walk to. It's excellent to know how much you enjoyed the resort amenities. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have stayed several times at The Point, review my past reviews. We enjoyed this property because of how we felt when we stayed here.

I always book far in advance to assure a room facing the pool and on a high floor. The room request has always been granted within our stay.

When we arrived this time our room was not ready, I reviewed my request of a pool view being most important and we would be willing to wait until one was available and Rose told me as soon as the room was ready she would be calling me. Rose called us about 1 1/2 hours later telling us our room was ready.

When we entered the room, we realized that it wasnt on the pool side and it wasnt even ready. The bell hop said, he was sure there was a mix up and he went back to the front desk for us and to find out what was going on. When he came back up and told us this was all they had available, we settled and decided to go down to the pool bar for lunch while our luggage was stored and the room finished.

We were just so dissappointed.

We had reserved a room for three nights for the end of January and we cancelled it - glad we did, as we found another property that was beautiful and the service out-standing! I will review it as well.

We are no longer committed to the The Point- I think that service is suffering and that staff are not ready to look after the small details like they have in the past. For this reason we will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are deeply sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request. Please note that we never guarantee room requests. Especially during busy times of the year like December, we cannot guarantee requests and they can only be considered based on availability. We apologize that the circumstances did not allow us to provide you with your request. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and allowing us to make it up to you. Please contact us if we can be of any assistance to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at the Point Orlando Resort over the New Year period for nine nights. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Location - the hotel is in a bit of an isolated location. You can walk to places but it would be 20-30 minute walk to get somewhere. I would say a car is required to stay here. The traffic on Sand Lake can be difficult to deal with so you need to learn some of the back ways to get into the hotel or you can get stuck out there for a while. Going down Universal Blvd instead of Sand Lake or coming in the back way of Kirkland Rd are the two recommendations we have. We ate at Sweet Tomatoes a lot since we prefer lighter food, it is a soup and salad buffet place.

Service - the service was good from check-in to check-out. Any questions we had were handled promptly and efficiently by the friendly staff. We had one day where the cleaners did not come by to refresh the room but that was fixed with a call tot he front desk who sent the cleaners over while we went for dinner. We didn't eat at the restaurant or use the pool area so I can't comment on it.

Room - we had a one bedroom in Tower 1. The room was a good size. When you walk in, there is the kitchen to the left with a breakfast bar (no stools). The kitchen has a full stove, microwave, dishwasher, large fridge, Keurig machine with coffee, sink and a toaster. It was fully equipped for four people. They provided dishwashing soap and a puck for the dishwasher. Ahead of you is the living area. There was a glass table with four chairs just in front of the kitchen and for relaxation, a large couch with coffee table and two end tables. There was a flat screen tv with a reasonable number of channels to watch. Off the living area was the bedroom, it was a large size. There wasn't a lot of closet space but there were shelves that you could use. We had a comfortable king size bed. There is also a dresser with another flat screen tv on it to watch in bed. The bathroom was huge, way more space than what was needed. There is a jacuzzi tub and a step in shower. You could enter the bathroom from the hallway or the bedroom. Lots of towels were provided. The washer and dryer were in a cupboard to the right of the door when you first enter the apartment. The AC was good but a little noisy.

Parking can be a bit of a chore because there is not much of it near the hotel building and you may have to park someways away in their parking lot and walk back to the hotel. People were parking on the grass to get close.

Overall we would stay here again as we found we got good value for the price and we ate in the apartment for breakfast and for a couple of dinners.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We appreciate you sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to learn that you had phenomenal experiences with the service provided by all of our staff members. We are also glad that you enjoyed the suite. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with the location of our resort. We are tucked away so that our guests experience a quiet and tranquil environment. Many guests enjoy the 5 minute walk to Wet 'n Wild or utilize the iRide Trolley that stops right in front of the property. We hope that you will consider staying with us again. Please feel free to contact us if we can help you set up a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed there for a fortnight in January, and to say that the staff, accommodation and service were outstanding would be an understatement.

The hotel was listed as one of the top ten in Orlando on trip advisor.com, and from our experience would agree that they are well deserving of the rating. The staff are friendly and professional; the rooms spacious, clean and well appointed.

Would recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Jonathan, thanks for the great review! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for commenting on the high level of service you received from all of our staff members. It's also excellent that you enjoyed your suite. We appreciate the recommendation and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I've been to this place a couple of tImes on Universal Boulevard The most recent visit was January 2014. I had an apartment with double bedroom, sitting room cum kitchenette with cutlery and china. There is an en suite bathroom with bath and shower. Good facilities include a cooker, fridge/ freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer and also a coffee maker. They supply Keurig coffee each day to put in your Keurig coffee maker. Clean towels every day with someone who comes in to change the bins and makes the bed each day. There is a sofa/bed in the living area too along with a coffee table and a small round dining table with 4 chairs. They have nice pictures on the wall and tv in dining room and bedroom. There is free wifi but that sometimes gives a weak signal so you have to find the best position to be in. The best rooms are in Tower 1 in my opinion. It seems brighter than Tower 2. No smoking in all the rooms and a good view of the pool, which is the best side to be. Always take the pool view if you can. I totally relaxed in this place that also has a bar at the pool and an eating area inside near reception. Staff are always helpful. Tip the maid each day as each day a different cleaner comes to your room. 2 to 3 dollars a day. No spa or activities for children. Not far from Disney on a shuttle bus from hotel and you can catch an I ride bus to the shopping area too? Walgreen is within walking distance of about 25 minutes it much easier if you have a car of course. Sweet Tomatoes is not far for an inexpensive meal. Buffet style. I would definitely recommend The Point and will revisit.

Room Tip: Room with pool view in Tower 1 is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shebsy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your suite and all of the amenities within it. Thank you for mentioning the beautiful pool view that you enjoyed from your balcony. We are also glad that you were able to relax at our poolside Cabana Bar & Grille. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel was just fabulous. Room was huge and clean and nicely furnished. The bed was plush and comfortable. The bathroom is like a city of it's own with a huge walk in shower and it was also sparkly clean. As much as I liked the room, the staff is what really made the place special. They could not have been nicer or more helpful. Caitlyn at the front desk was precious and went above and beyond to help me. I went downstairs to get ice because I did not realize there was an ice maker in my room, she told me I should have just called her and she would have brought ice to my room. For the price that we paid for this hotel, that type of service is unheard of. I highly recommend this resort. For a family visiting Disney or other area parks it would be especially nice with the kitchen and large rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to learn that you had such an excellent stay - from the comfortable bed, to the clean suite, to the friendly staff. Thank you for mentioning some specific examples of how our staff surpassed your expectations. We appreciate your recommendation and sincerely hope that you will stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Floridays Resort Orlando
#18 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,634 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Property: The Point Orlando Resort
Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando
The Point Orlando Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing