We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible staff, good value, watch for hidden costs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Point Orlando Resort
Ranked #25 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible staff, good value, watch for hidden costs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were astounded at the beauty of this property from the beginning. The grounds and facilities are top-notch; clean and modern. The rooms are big and accommodating, and the bed was heavenly. The full kitchen, whirlpool tub and separate shower were all nice touches. We were blown away by the staff. We were treated like family from the first moment and they had a knack for anticipating our questions. One warning - if you have not rented a vehicle, you may have a difficult time getting around. It is about a 15 minute walk to get to the "main drag", and the hotel does not have its own airport shuttle. Taxis are affordable and abundant in the area, but count on 10-20 per ride. There are resort amenities available, like a really good breakfast buffet, but expect to pay 12.00 extra per person. (Less for kids)

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, with a pool view - best room in the place maybe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the facilities and found them to be so clean and accommodating. Thank you for commenting on the exceptional service that experienced from the very beginning of your stay. We do apologize if you were expecting the breakfast buffet to be included in your room rate. This is only included for those that purchase the "Bed and Breakfast" package. As you mention, it is an additional cost. We are glad to know that you did enjoy the breakfast though. Thank you again for your review, we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,911
    1,129
    301
    50
    38
See reviews for
1,801
1,635
93
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed once again at the Pointe in February and was very pleased. Close to everything but a little off the beaten track. Quiet and comfortable.This year they tidied the room every day. Was nice to have garbage picked up. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Cathy, it is so wonderful that you decided to stay with us yet again. We are pleased that you had a nice time staying with us. You are absolutely right that we are tucked away just enough that our guests find themselves immersed in a quiet and tranquil environment. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Visited Disney World for the first time and opted to staff off campus. Glad we did. The Point offered exceptional rooms - spacious bedroom suite, sitting room and fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher and full size refrigerator. We picked up a few groceries and had nice inexpensive breakfasts in the room (though you could opt for a more expensive and somewhat limited breakfast buffet in the lobby). Even had a clothes washer & dryer in the room. Large bathroom included shower and Jacuzzi. Room included a nice outdoor balcony overlooking the pool area. After a long day at Disney it was nice to escape back to the real world in the evening. We rented a car at the airport. It was an easy 15 minute commute to the Disney resort and park areas. The service at the front desk was helpful and friendly. Room was impeccably clean. Room services were excellent. We've stayed a lot of hotels and this one was undoubtedly one of the best values we have ever experienced. Only one small nit, the parking area was limited so we had to hunt for a spot if we came back later in the evening. Overall an exceptional value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TASKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks for the kind words! We are so pleased that you decided to write a review on your stay with us. Thank you for commenting on your spacious one-bedroom suite that includes a full kitchen and washer/dryer. We are glad that our location worked out perfectly as a tranquil retreat from your Disney vacation. It is excellent to learn that you had an exceptional stay, we hope to welcome you back again when you return to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at The Point Orlando Resort for five nights at the end of August 2013. I chose the hotel since it was incredibly affordable and located so close to Universal Studios. I didn't want to break the bank staying at a hotel on Universal property since that would mean no money left to have fun.

Check in went smoothly and our room was ready right away, we also discussed a later checkpoint since our flight wasn't until the evening of our last day. We were allowed to stay an extra hour which is better than nothing. We asked for a room on a higher floor and view of the floor which is exactly what we got.

The room was clean however it could have used a few repairs as the were markings on the closet doors and the drain in the shower would get backed up if you took a long shower. Housekeeping did a nice job tidying up however most days they did not get to our room until dinner time. One day we arrived back at the hotel at 3 pm and our room hadn't been touched. Not a big deal as we had plans for dinner and when we came back the room was finished. This may be a problem for families with younger children wanting to rest after a day at the parks.

One day we did use the complimentary shuttle to take us to Universal. You have to sign up the night before and I think there are only two times that it drops you off and will pick you up. We chose the time that dropped you off right as the park was opening and we took a cab back which was only $5... great deal compared to parking at the park for $18!

My one and only complaint would be the bartender out by the pool. She was very slow and ignored many of the customers. One woman was saying how it took an hr and a half to get their food and the bartender didn't even bring out the correct order. My boyfriend waited for ten minutes to get a drink even though there were only a few people at the bar, she seemed more interested in chatting than serving hotel guests.

I've seen other reviews where guests have note been able to find a parking spot. We didn't have any trouble since we went towards the end of the summer but I could see this being an issue during peak vacation weeks.

Overall, I would recommend The Point Orlando for anyone wanting to stay at a nice hotel on a budget... It was definitely one of my favorite vacations and I would consider staying again!

Room Tip: Choose a hotel on a higher level and viewing the pool... I think rooms on the other side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 922kaitlinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Kaitlin, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review! It is excellent to hear that you had a great check-in experience and you enjoyed the suite that you were given. Thank you for also mentioning that you used our shuttle service. We sincerely apologize for the service you described at our poolside bar. These are absolutely not the service standards that we have in place. Since your experience was last summer, we are confident that this would not occur again if you decided to stay with us in the future. We hope that you will consider our resort when you find yourself returning to Orlando. Please contact us directly if we can assist you in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We just left this resort a day ago and everything was fairly average. The only thing that was unpleasant during our stay was our sheets weren't changed during house keeping and it seems as my son may have bed bug bites on his feet and legs. We understand that bed bugs are common in hotels but perhaps if they changed their sheets during individuals stay it would eliminate the amount of dead skin that is accumulated to actually create bed bugs. The hotel manager did call me to discuss the matter but it was just to let me know they didn't find any bed bugs (which is virtually impossible to see) and to let me know maybe my son had mosquito bites, which was funny because it was almost 50 degrees at night there was not a single mosquito. I truly understand the severity of bed bugs in a hotel and they should take better precautions to prevent it. I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank JaxsMom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, General Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Jax's Mom17,

Thank you for choosing to be our guest and share your recent experience. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience and the refresh housekeeping services our team provides. We do hope that your son is feeling better and want to let you know that when we were alerted after you had departed we immediately checked the room and no evidence of any type of pest including bed bugs were found in your room. We do hope you reconsider your decision of not returning and when your plans bring you back to our area, please contact me directly as I will make sure that everything is perfect for your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I booked this on- line as a result of one of Trip Advisors recommendations. It is well taken care of and had a nice small bar and restaurant on site. I booked a room with a kitchenette. There was a small snafu with the accommodation but the staff took care of it very well and we were happy. I would recommend this hotel as it was just under a mile to Universal Studios.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainewoman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you decided to stay with us based on the recommendation of other travelers. We appreciate you mentioning the great service that you received and also that you enjoyed the poolside Cabana Bar & Grille. Thanks for the recommendation, we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was a great hotel. First vacation with the kids, visiting WDW and the Point was Awesome! Great location. Short drive to the WDW parks. Nearby restaurants Olive Garden, Pei Wei & Chick-fil-A was convenient and Walmart was close by too. We had a 1 bedroom suite which was like a 1 bedroom apartment. Kitchen was handy and so glad to have a washer/dryer in the room. We did use it. Super-friendly staff. The bathroom was big and extremely clean. A little apprehensive about not staying on the WDW parks but this place was so great we would definitely stay here again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so honored that you chose to stay with us for your first vacation as a family. Thank you for mentioning how convenient our location is as well as all of the great features of the one-bedroom suite. We are thrilled that you would stay with us again! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Floridays Resort Orlando
#18 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,634 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Property: The Point Orlando Resort
Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando
The Point Orlando Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing