We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovley bathroom, huge bed, but way overpriced and too far out if you don't hire a car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Point Orlando Resort
Ranked #20 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovley bathroom, huge bed, but way overpriced and too far out if you don't hire a car”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Starting with the room - the bed was HUGE and very comfortable which we absolutely loved. Important when you've had such a long day on your feet! The bathroom was also huge, clean and well decorated. The view was average, we looked south and couldnt see anything of particular interest, but at least it wasn't facing a building site!

The living room isnt great. My boyfriend injured his back on the sofa - it's so old and was a sofa bed, so the bottom seat bit had failed down and back (assuming springs had gone), and there was a hard wooden bar along the bottom of the back cushions, so if you fell back into it, you hit the wooden bar which really hurt! I got my foot caught in the gap once which really hurt too.

Kitchen was just average. Pool was average. Pool bar had no atmosphere or personality.

Location - we thought it was easy walking distance to everything - how wrong we were!! It's a lot further than it looks, and when you've been on your feet in theme parks all day, it suddenly feels three times as long! The 'local grocery shop' at the end of the road on the corner to International drive had very little choice, and the cashier seems to just make up the prices in his head and be very rude. Using the i-ride trolly as actually really easy. And it's worth hopping on it to Bahama Breeze which was an amazing bar! Wish we'd stayed nearer there!!

The shuttle service was good, though we never ended up getting it back as you never know when you'll finish up. If you stay for the fireworks at disney, you miss it for sure. You then have to get a bus, then swap and find the other bus stop, then get another one. Then walk for a good 20mins to get to the hotel - trust me, when it's been a long day, it almost ruins everything. We felt so exhausted and drained because of the travelling around side of things. Such a shame.

BE WARNED! The worst part of our trip was the taxi service. They absolutely pray on tourists. We first got a cab from the airport taxi rank to the hotel. Only to find it cost us more than double what it should have and he took us in a loop right round the outside of international drive and then back through it to get to the hotel. During the week we asked the hotel to call us a cab to go to Universal Studios as we'd tried walking the day before and it took ages, we had awful blisters. The journey should have been $6-$8 excluding tip. He took us all over the place. When I finally started asking where he was going and telling him he was going the wrong way, he started shouting at us saying 'YES UNIVERSAL YES! I KNOW WAY I KNOW WAY UNIVERSAL SHHHH!'... then took us to sea world. We actually felt frightened. This was taxi company the hotel had called!!

We felt the hotel was overpriced for what it was, although we really did love the bed. When we go again, we'll be staying right on International Drive for a week and using i-ride trolley, then paying out for a disney hotel the second week as now we've done it, we belive it would be well worth it to use the disney transport.

All this said, please don't think we hated the holiday! We had an amazing time! The theme parks were fantastic, well worth every penny of the tickets. Bahama Breeze was the best bar we have ever been to in our lives and the cocktails are to die for, and the bars at Universal were great too - again, great cocktails!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel-i83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so glad that you found the bed to be so comfortable. It is also nice to know how much you enjoyed the bathroom with a walk-in shower and jetted tub. We do apologize sincerely that you found the sofa bed to be less than comfortable. We will absolutely be addressing this in the suite you stayed in. While our resort is located centrally to Orlando's attractions and dining, we are tucked away just enough so that our guests can enjoy a quiet and tranquil environment. The I-Ride Trolley is a great option for traveling around the area, so we are glad to hear that you did enjoy that. We are also very sorry to learn about the transportation inconveniences that you experienced. This is not something that we would ever want our guests to experience, so we will be addressing this internally. Thank you for sharing your comments, we hope that you will reconsider staying with us again when you return to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,998
    1,158
    301
    51
    40
See reviews for
1,856
1,670
98
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,051)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Point is in a great location in Orlando near Universal and Sea World. It is also one block off a strip with many restaurant and entertainment options. We stayed at the Point with my Wife and 5 year old twins earlier this month and had a really good experience.

The staff made us feel welcomed as soon as we entered the lobby. The property (including the room, common areas and pool) were very clean and well maintained. We were greeted by a very warm front desk staff who provided directions to local grocery stores and attractions. My family was very comfortable in the King Suite with pull out sofa bed in the living room. The kitchen was well appointed and the bathroom was spacious and recently renovated with a large shower and jet tub.

We had one minor issue with the power in the living room shutting off. I reset the breaker [the panel was accessible in the room] and the problem was fixed without any recurrence. The Front Desk sent the building engineer up to the room quickly. He inspected the room and the panel and was apologetic for the incident.

The star of the stay was the pool. It was warm and clean. My kids spent hours enjoying it.

Room Tip: Request a poolside room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Sean, we can't express enough gratitude that you chose to stay with us. It is excellent to know that your family had such a nice experience and that your kids spent so much time enjoying the pool area. Thank you for also commenting on the cleanliness of the property. We do apologize for the electrical occurrence that you mentioned, we are having our engineers look into this further to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you again for writing a review, we hope to welcome you and your family back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed in early April. The reservations desk was great. They were attentive and helped with anything we needed. I am not sure why a few people on here complain about so called hidden fees. There are no hidden fees at all. Yes, there is a daily resort fee. But look at nearly any hotel near the theme parks. You will find a resort fee. Added into the total price and we still got an excellent rate. I will say the web was a bit slow on occasion, but it got the job done and you are allegedly on a action while you are here. If you are complaining about he slow web, then you need to get out and enjoy orlando. Our room was great. We had a one bedroom suite. It was quiet and no complaints about the furniture as some have complained about here. Am I saying this is a 5 diamond hotel? No. But it ranks up there quite high. You will not be disappointed if you reserve a room here -- we had a pool view 8 stories up. And you will also see here some people have issues with the shuttles. All were ontime for us. We got a cab back to the hotel so we didn't
Have to worry about getting to a specific area at a specific time. But going was a great way to save money. Getting back, they did offer several return times. Basically we had zero complaints about this place. Oh and the in room w/d saved us from packing more than we needed. One last thing, we rented a car a couple of days and the parking situation is not nearly as bad as some would have you think. First, it's well lit and second, never once did we feel unsafe. Then again, we often stay in Brooklyn, NY and we don't feel unsafe there, either, so maybe we are just heartier than others.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view. We did and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Eric, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We strive to provide each and every guest with exceptional service, and we are thrilled to hear that this is what you experienced throughout your stay. Thank you for commenting on the excellent value that you felt you received. We appreciate all of your comments and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I and our six-year-old and our two-year-old stayed for six nights. The price was quite reasonable, and the hotel was great. The suite was big and clean and the kitchen was very nice. They even had a Keurig machine in the room.

My only complaints with the room were minor. The first Keurig in the room was broken (they replaced it quickly) and one of the glasses in the cabinet was cracked and chipped (they replaced that quickly too). The toilet handle had to be jiggled to stop it from running. All REALLY minor stuff and I've had MUCH worse at other hotels.

The only other problem was the computers near the lobby. I needed to print ONE page, but the machines charge $0.25/minute to use and I never got them to work even though I was willing to pay. In addition, they are running the nearly unsupported Windows XP. They REALLY need to replace those.

The really outstanding thing was the staff. EVERYONE, and I mean EVERYONE that we talked to was nice. They seemed to be genuinely friendly. The manager seemed ever-present and always attentive. The staff at the desk was super-helpful too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool. There's not a lot else to see in the other direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Jim, we would like to extend our gratitude for taking the time to write a review. It is wonderful to hear that your family enjoyed your stay. We are also thrilled to know that you experienced outstanding service throughout your entire stay. We do sincerely apologize for the items that you mentioned. The computer that you described is run by a third-party company and we will pass along your feedback. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Point because of all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. When we checked in we were greeted by two if the nicest and friendliest staff I've ever come across at a hotel. They provided us with all kinds of info for places to eat and tings to do. When we got to the room we were very pleased with how clean and neat it was. Everything was super tidy and in great shape. We got a one bedroom suite so it had everything, full kitchen, washer and dryer, even a dish washer. There's basically everything you need for an extended stay. The bed is very comfortable (I'm a side sleeper and had a fantastic night sleep, which never happens at a hotel). We ate at the pool bar and grille since we checked in around 9pm, and it was just ok, more importantly it filled the void at 9:30pm. So far that's probably the only 'negative' is the lack of a full service restaurant with a more robust menu. The poolside grille (basically the only place to eat) has a decent lunch/snack menu, but for dinner there's not much to choose from apart from sandwiches, salads and a burger. Which means hopping in the car and driving if you want a half decent bite to eat. And there doesn't seem to be much close by. Not the worst thing, considering we have a full kitchen at our fingers tips and I can cook a mean dinner, but on vacation I'd rather the food be cooked for me.

If you'd rather spend the day hanging out by the pool, the great news is it's never that busy. I'm assuming most people are gone during the day to Disney or Universal so there's lots of space to lay in the sun and relax which is great for a smaller hotel. There are lots of lounge chairs and sofas around, plus the usual chaise style chairs to have a nap in the sun.

All in all we'd definitely stay here again, the price is right especially for the service, cleanliness, and comfort of the rooms. And how quiet it is! We never heard a sound all might. If it had a more full service restaurant I'd give it a full 5 stars without hesitation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Michael, it was a pleasure to serve you throughout your stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments and feedback. It is wonderful to know that you found the one-bedroom suite to be so clean and well-equipped. We are glad that you enjoyed the food at our Cabana Bar & Grille, but apologize that you were underwhelmed by the selection. We will take your feedback into consideration. Thank you again for all of your comments, we sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again when you return to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent 10 days at the end of March at the Point resort for a golf break around Orlando. We took the risk to book it mostly based on the excellent reviews we have read. Definitely it's a deal! . Overall the experience was really great. Staff, service, food were good, the only thing on the downside was the bed (but no worries I have the same issue in most of beds that aren't mine :-), the location is near Universal Studio with complementary shuttle in the morning and at the end of the day (or supposed to, we actually never found the shuttle on the way back :-) ask the driver where will be the pick-up location before going in the park.)

We already know where we will stay for our next trip in Orlando!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamouth98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We are so grateful that you chose to stay with us for your trip to Orlando to experience the many beautiful golf courses. It is excellent to know that you found the service and food at our resort to be good. We do apologize that the bed was not to your preferences. We are so honored to be considered your "home" in Orlando and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We visited the Point Orlando from April 1-4, 2014. From the moment we walked through the doors, we were treated in first class fashion. We had a one bedroom suite and it was perfect for 4 of us including two children, ages 4 and 7. The pool and the cabana bar/grill were perfect. The location was a few miles from a Publix store and less than a 5 minute drive to Universal Studios. The housekeeping was perfect and the parking was ample. We would stay here again without question!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor with a pool view that overlooked the surrounding skyline. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Mike, we can't express enough gratitude for your great review! We strive to provide all of our guests with incredible service, and it is such a pleasure to know that you experienced that throughout your stay. Thanks for mentioning how perfect the Cabana Bar & Grille was for your food & beverages. We are delighted to be considered your new home in Orlando and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,813 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Property: The Point Orlando Resort
Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8322
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando
The Point Orlando Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing