We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown Away”
Review of Fantasmic!

Fantasmic!
Ranked #2 of 71 Concerts & Shows in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A live Disney production held at the Hollywood Hills Amphitheater at Disney-MGM Studios featuring Disney characters, performers and pyrotechnics.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Blown Away”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Wife and I didn't really know much about show, was told by others to see it and WOW what a treat. This was beyond our thoughts of what to expect. We sat in front row, highly recomend it for full effect. The special effects and quality of this event are impossible to explain here, JUST DON"T MISS IT!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 56193Mph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,051
    2,039
    684
    162
    88
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Don't know what all the hoop-la is on this one!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I know this is a crowd favorite and it's always well attended but it just did absolutely nothing for us! Very disappointing, I don't recommend!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fun for All”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A great Disney production - lights, fireworks, music - very entertaining! Outdoor stadium seating, good views from most sections. Lines get long, be prepared!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank andiamo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sorry, but a Colossal Waste of Time.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Sorry, but I have to strongly disagree with the other recent reviewers. We've all seen bad high school theater, bad community theater, even bad "off-Broadway" shows. "Fantasmic" is right up there as historically bad; I found it to be a colossal waste of time.
"Fantasmic" is a 30-minute commercial for Disney-brand characters masquerading as a sound and light show. At home we use TiVos and a DVR to avoid watching commercials. Here we wound up paying extra (as part of a package with the Hollywood and Vine buffet restaurant) for preferred and guaranteed seating to watch an info-mercial.
The show is disjointed and insipid, For example, it features an elaborate set piece in which "colonists" claim land for "King James" while indians happily paddle canoes in the lagoon. Then suddenly the indians and colonists are shooting at each other (no explanation as to why), and people are falling from cliffs. An indian maiden (presumably Pocahantas) and a young colonist stand on the rocks and point to the sky, and the war is over, everyone is cool. Would that it works like that in the real world?
Then the show turns dark, really dark. Evil witches morph into devils, ghouls flash on the rocks as ominous music plays and fire pots explode in flames. A fire-breathing dragon appears, then disappears when Mickey Mouse touches the "Sword in the Stone." Light then fills the amphitheatre, and a riverboat sails into view. The Disney characters wave to the crowd and the show ends. "Time to sell the product!"
Seriously, the dark sequence is downright scary and not suitable for some children. Children who are afraid of monsters or otherwise prone to nightmares should NOT see this show.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BechamelDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We always make sure we catch this show at least once on a trip to Disney - it is spectacular. It seems to have been given a bit of attention since last year, brighter LEDs on the floats and the dragon has been spruced up.
You need to get there about 45-60 mins before it starts but once we have our seats my husband goes to buy hotdogs and drinks from the stand just above the seating area and there is a fairly entertaining pre-show that starts 30 mins before the main event. The pre show gets a little tired once you have seen it though.
It is worth taking something comfy to sit on as you could be sat on a hard metal bench for about 1.5 hours and definitely worth taking something warm to wear if you are at a later show in November.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank smudgesticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fantasmic! also viewed

 

Been to Fantasmic!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing