We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hotel right at Disney property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
Ranked #143 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Although the monorail inside the Disney resort does not pass here, bus transportation is convenient and passes by the hotel right on schedule.
pros:
food court is spacious
souvenir shop is located within the hotel
room is good enough for 4 adults and 1 small toddler
amenities are complete
pool looks cool and feels refreshing
lifesize buzz lightyear and woody makes it more entertaining for the children
cons:
rooms are so far from the lobby or bus stop thus, tiring to walk to-from it
food, etc. within disney is VERY expensive
bus stop does not have shade (while you're in line) so be prepared by bringing in umbrellas or raincoats in case it drizzles or the sun becomes scorchingly hot

Room Tip: request for a room near the hotel entrance/exit/food court. my dad is a senior citizen so i also r...
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Aizza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,646)
There are newer reviews for Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,665 - 1,671 of 6,646 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

After lugging our bags to the 3rd floor we entered a blazing hot room. Thermostat set at 68, but the room was over 80 and rising. I call the front desk who said they'd send maintenance. We end up with a new room. Same scenario. It cost us hours of park time and no one mentioned the rooms may take hours to cool down. Not a good welcoming when it's 100 degrees outside. On top of that, rooms are old and desperately need carpet. Pretty gross. I'd book anywhere else in Orlando before coming back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A resort, it is not. It is a basic motel. It's a bed, bathroom, pool and cafeteria. Nothing special. During my stay, last week, we found everything to be clean and functional. It appears that many people travel with their extended families (upwards of 10 people) which made it difficult to get around them sometimes. They moved as if a herd would, all at once, at the same pace. When one stopped, they all did and blocked the way. The staff were very helpful. It would be nice if they provided more than 2 pillows per bed and an extra blanket in the room without having to ask. All in all, it served its purpose; a place to sleep, bathe, eat. The transportation is the real perk.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pool will be loud. Rooms closest to main building are in Fantasia (which is als...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GetMeOuttaHere07076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I took our three younger grandchildren to Disney World in June . We stayed at the All star Music Resort, The resort was very well maintained and groomed. The room we booked was a family suite, it was great for out family. It has a large ottoman which makes a nice twin size bed , The couch made out into a bed two can sleep on, and the chair made a nice size bed for one as well. It had one bedroom with a queen size bed. The living area had a TV as well as the bedroom. The kitchen area had a small refrigerator, a coffee pot, a microwave, and a sink. It had shelving with paper plates, cups, paper towels .The suite has two bathrooms which are identical. Each one has a small dressing area with a sink and mirror , a clothing rack and extra pillows and blankets. Then both bathrooms have a tub/shower combo and a toilet. There is a safe in one of the dressing areas. I would highly recommend the deluxe dining plan. There is more than enough food. and It can be used pretty much anywhere you go . We made reservations every night and we were able to use our dining plan everywhere we went , We went to downtown Disney, Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios, The portions of food were amazing. We stayed for five nights and we had several meals left over . We used them for snacks to take with home with us. Each meal consist of an appetizer, entrée, drink and dessert, YOU WILL NOT GO HUNGRY!!
I would also recommend using the shuttle buses . We rented a car and did not use it one time. The shuttle is awesome. The magic bands are awesome as well. anyway back to the resort. The pools were nice . There are two of them . The piano pool is smaller. The dining area was clean and nice. There was a good selection of food to choose from. There is a game room which the kids loved and is very affordable. I would definitely come back again . The rooms are clean and they are not fancy , just basic. But for a family with several kids it is perfect. Each night there is a movie that plays around the pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our Room was on the ground floor in the Calypso area . Close to the front and the shuttles.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ltuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have stayed in all levels of Disney resorts and this was the first visit to the All Star complex. Overall, we did not spend much time on the resort and honestly, it was not an inviting resort to spend downtime. Positives: family friendly, very quiet at night, large pool area (no fun features but nightly movie by the pool), extended hours for food court. Negatives: long bus rides everywhere and we had to stand most of the time, room adequate but bathroom poorly cleaned -human hair when we arrived and left in corners all week, food court packed and loud with no outdoor seating, no decent place for adults to relax. We were with a large group and it was clearly built for this purpose. Large toy statues fastened to the building were a bit creepy at night. I would recommend staying in a moderate-priced resort for a more magical Disney experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Annie_in_the_burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The All Star Movie Resort reminds me of a motel down the New Jersey shore, nothing special. It is plain and acceptable enough for sleeping and that's about it. The Disney decor is around the pool area and lobby. The nightly rate is between $95-$98. The bus transportation to and from the airport and parks is an added bonus. My only distress was waiting to register and check in. I had to wait 45 minutes to one hour to get checked in. There were only 2 agents working the desk with about 30 people waiting in line. This was a huge spoiler. That is why I rated this hotel on the low end. The food in the cafeteria was good, however be prepared to wait especially during meal time.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank br3ndamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Let me preface this by saying this is a budget Disney hotel, so the rooms are on the smaller side and there is no many extra amenities like you might find at the larger, "nicer" Disney properties, however it is still quite good.
With all that said, the rooms are small. So if you have a family of four with older kids, it might not be all that comfortable. But then again, if you are really only using it as a room to sleep and get ready to be at the parks most of the day, then it may not matter to your family. For ours, we have two younger kids and it suited our needs. We figured, spend less on the hotel and get the dining plan.
Now the Dining Plan is a great value. I won't comment on other restaurants, but just the one at this hotel. I was surprised, but it was quite good. A wide variety of items were offered from omelets, French toast, cereals, fruits, muffins etc for breakfast. Then the lunch and dinner items included things like spaghetti, salmon, hamburgers, roasted chicken, turkey, salads. So overall, good.
If you forget anything at the park, you can most likely find it at the hotel gift shop which is large and has just about the same as the main stores in the parks.
The bus shuttle service was better than expected and usually only had to wait no more than one bus loading to be able to get on. However, this hotel is further from Magic Kingdom and is about 20 min trip to get there, depending in traffic. The Animal Kingdom is closest at about a -5-8 minute drive. The All Star Movies Resort shares the bus with the other two All Star Resorts, so this is the last stop on the way back to the hotel, which does indeed add extra commute time. This can be an issue for some after a long day with tired children. You do have the option to drive to the parks as well, with free parking for hotel guests.
The swimming pool area was average, but had nice features like Sorcerer Mickey shooting water into the pool. In addition, there is a shallow kiddie pool area that is good for the non swimmers.
The staff were all friendly from the front desk to the food court to the housekeeping.

Room Tip: Call them directly for military pricing.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
0.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
4.7 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
1.9 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
2.7 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's All-Star Movies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's All-Star Movies Resort

Address: 1901 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8412
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#114 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#127 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £83 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's All-Star Movies Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1920
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself sharing the spotlight with some of your favorite Disney friends, as you headline your very own all-star adventure. Stay at a Disney Resort hotel that salutes the legends of Disney films-from the dotted pups of 101 Dalmatians to the playful toys of Andy's Room- with whimsical, larger-than-life decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's All-Star Movies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movies Resort
All Star Hotel Disney
Disney All Star Hotel
Disney Movie Resort
All Star Movie Resort Disney World
Disney All Star Movies Resort
Disney All Star Resort Orlando Florida
Disneys All Star Movie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing