We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #101 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles,Ca
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here from Jan 1 - 5. Great hotel, well-maintained rooms and grounds. Staff always greeted you with a smile and was very helpful. An added bonus was the free breakfast at the attached Applebee's. This restaurant was a life-saver. After a long day at the theme parks, you can order food to go and eat in your room. You also get free wifi- they do charge a resort fee of $13 per day.

We traveled with 3 kids so I was surprised as to how big the rooms are. Beds are comfortable and lines were fresh and clean. Never came back to a dirty room. Quiet and peaceful night's rest. Actually used on site laundry facility to wash clothes which was a plus. They have a small arcade, convenience store and small viewing room. Within walking distance to many stores and fast food places such as 7-11, Walgreen's, Wendy's, and Golden Coral. If you like shopping, it is less than a mile from a premium outlet.

If you plan to use the shuttles, they do get full but still accommodated everyone. They are on set schedules so be sure you plan your day. Service are runs through Platinum transportation which sometimes were up to 10 -15 minutes late. If you decide to take a cab from this hotel to WDW - it is roughly $30 including tip. The do provide free shuttle to WDW, Universals and Sea World.

Overall, very highly recommended lodging option. I would not mind staying there again.

Room Tip: If you have time: To get discounted tickets, go next door at the 7-11 and see a man regarding times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Cancallmeb:

Glad to hear we were a great start to your New Year, thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay. We are very glad that you enjoyed the Applebee's so much and remember always being greeted with a smile! The rooms are a great size and our location is even better, thank you so much for pointed that out and more, we couldn't say it any better.

Please accept our apologies for the shuttle system sometimes being bit late that is a very busy time of year and the traffic all throughout the attraction areas can be a bit of a challenge. Thank you so much for your patience with this and your appreciation of working with the shuttle schedule to have a great time with a little planning!

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Orlando and thank you again for all your comments!

Best Regards,

Keith D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    679
    263
    88
    59
See reviews for
988
313
53
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We decided to stay off Disney property to save money, and chose this hotel because we recently reached platninum level for this brand. The hotel was very close to Disney, although the road getting in and out of the driveway was very busy. Our check-in was quick and we were upgraded because of our platinum status. The woman at the desk was always friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and large, and overlooked the very nice swimming pool. We did not use the pool but the area was clean and never crowded. I only had two complaints. The in-room coffee maker was actually a single-serve pod coffee machine, which some people may like but the coffee was awful. We went to the attached Appleby's every morning for coffee. The parking lot was surrounded by a chain-link fence and the buildings on the other side were a little iffy. Although I never felt unsafe I would not have wanted to be by myself in the parking lot after dark. We saw lots of families with young children, but had no problems with noise. Overall, it was a good hotel and we plan to stay there again in February using points. It is a big savings over Disney if you have your own car and don't mind buying coffee every morning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank eyoremorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Eyoremorris:

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! Congratulations on making Platinum level with IHG® Rewards recently, so glad you have already been able to experience your extras with your upgrade at check-in.
We are very sorry that you didn't like the in-room coffee and have passed this information on to our Housekeeping Director. Applebee's does have great coffee available and it is also available in the gift shop if you'd like too! The buildings on the other side of the fence are an apartment complex or a Condo complex that both have great reputations and lot's of families staying in them.

Thank you again for your great comments and we look forward to seeing you return in February!

Best Regards,

Keith D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We had been in Florida 2 weeks before we stayed here. A week at Disney and a week at Orange Lake.We decided on our last couple of nights in Florida to be just some lounging around the pool days, a break from the parks etc. I was impressed from the start! Our room was ready for early check in, it was clean and spacious and the section for the kids was perfect.the pool and good old fashion games around the pool were fantastic. The price is affordable to stay here. I want to make mention of a staff member at the adjoining Applebee's . Her name is Ashley. My daughter became sick at the end of our trip , I called down to Applebees inquiring about a tea for her and Ashley whipped up a hot tea with fresh lemon and even honey on the side for her. Its great customer service like this that will bring us back again. ,

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tania007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Tania007:

We're so glad you had a great stay from the start to finish up your Florida trip. Sorry to hear that your daughter became sick and hope she is doing much better now! Thank you so much for letting us know how Ashley took that extra step we will be sure to pass on your compliments.
So great to hear that you also enjoyed all the games at the pool and being able to just relax for that last little bit.
Look forward to being able to be your affordable relaxation destination on your next Florida trip.

Best Regards,

Keith D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We were able to check in early for our 7 night stay and we're welcomed as an IHG member.

As our room was prepaid we were asked to provide a credit card for incidentals by Briscilla. I handed over my travel debit card and was told only credit cards were accepted. I explained the travel debit card was the same as a credit card and certainly had sufficient funds on the card. I was told no this hotel does not accept a travel debit card. I explained that I just stayed at Holiday Inn Downtown and they excepted the card for my stay and in fact I charged my whole stay to the card and it wasn't a problem. Briscilla took a deep breath and her friendly attitude changed and she said absolutely no I must have a credit card on me. Indeed I did but and handed it over however the point of not using it was I would have been charged a exchange international conversion rate for US currency back to Australian - that was the point of the travel card which had all my US $. I asked why was this not highlighted in the booking details as it is not consistent with other Holiday Inn branded properties. In the end I had no incidentals so no charge.

We checked into room 210 and the room was small but clean. There was a problem with the noise level of the air conditioner, the motor sounded like a loud car engine. When we complained to front desk we were told that's how it is and nothing we could do. Sleeping with the loud engine like noise was not pleasant and as there was no balcony in the room or windows to open we had to keep the air conditioning on to tackle the heat. We asked to move rooms because our son couldn't sleep with the noise but told there were no other rooms available as they were full. We knew it was not full being first week in October and was told by one of the bellhops that they were only just over half full. This was disappointing considering we were an IGH member as well.

We were suppose to recieve a newspaper everyday but only started to recieve one on day 4.

Breakfast was sub par - the restaurant smelt like stale beer every morning and whilst we had free breakfast included the food was certainly average at best. The toaster was your standard household 2 slice toaster and you had to wait a while whilst others are toasting. They must increase the lighting we were practically struggling to see what we were eating sitting in soom of the booths.

The rudest people were at the travel activities desk. They were pushing time share and if you were not interested they did not want to help you. Jennifer basically ignored us and was tapping away on her phone after we said we were not interested in a timeshare presentation. Madva felt sorry for us in the end and gave us a couple of prepared packs of info. Jennifer said as we were leaving that if we changed or minds make sure we tell the next person on duty it was her that introduced us!! I don't think so!

The pool activities were so well organized and the gentleman running the activities made an effort to talk to the guests as well not just the kids. He was the most friendly of staff members - can't remember his name - Colin? This was the best part of our stay.

We asked for a taxi from the concierge Bellman and a private car arrived after he rang someone on his mobile phone. As we were in a hurry to catch our tour bus we got in but then realised there was no meter. Luckily we were only going to downtown it was close and got charged $12 so roughly about right.

There was a shuttle service which was okay with limited times. As the hotel was first pick up we got a seat. By the time the shuttle picked up at the 3rd or 4th hotel it was standing room only.

You really need to have a car to stay at this hotel resort. There were a couple of restaurants nearby within walking distance but you really needed a car as there was no public transport close by everything was a taxi ride.

We certainly would not stay here again but if you are on s budget and have a car then it's an option if you can get a cheap room rate.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SparkyRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear SparkyRabbit,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

We are sorry to see you did not fully enjoy your overall experience with us and regret the issues you encountered during your stay. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you to know that the feedback we receive are
taken seriously. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements accordingly.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a good experience on our stay. Enjoyed free breakfast and the heated pool. We even purchased the attraction tickets at the hotel. It saved us some time. But make sure you check the attraction prices online before making your purchase. The rates for one of the park was higher and we showed them the online rate at the park website and they matched it for us. Overall we had a good time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayrekhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Jayrekhs:

Great advice on the attraction tickets so glad they were able to accommodate you. We are glad to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed the heated pool and breakfast package.
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Orlando!

Best Regards,

Keith D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binbrook, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked this place on Hotels.com but were surprised when we were told we needed to pay an additional $20 "resort fee" on check-in. Not such a good deal after all.

The room was nice though nothing special.

Green Features: Didn't see anything out of the ordinary "environmentally."
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PilotFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear PilotFox:

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We do apologize that the Resort Fee was a surprise to you upon arrival at the hotel. We have done our best to make sure that it is disclosed to all of our guests when they book our hotel whether it is direct or through another online company along with all the amenities that it includes. It does display during the booking process but does so at different stages for each site, we will work with the company you booked through to ensure that it is visible.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know so that we can make sure to be able to ensure everyone is notified.

Best Regards,

Keith D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor i decided to take a chance and book this hotel and I was not disappointed. With a family of three young kids this property was one of the best in terms of pricing and amenities. Check-in was smooth and without a hitch, we opted for a kid suites that gave us an additional bunk bed and Tv which was good to keep the kids busy. The hotel itself is located in walking distance to Walgreens, Wendy's, Lonestar Steak house and there is a Applebees restaurant onsite that also offers free kids meal for kids 11 Years or younger and room delivery. There is also a car rental desk on site as well as an attractions booking counter. The best aspect of the hotel is all the amenities that it provides such as a pool, small movie theater for kids, playground and a small convenience store on site. My only complaint about the room is that the walls are very thin so expect to hear the occasional sounds from the next room or the sounds of running water, but not soo much as to be annoying. Loved our stay and definitely will be visiting again .

Room Tip: Get the Kids Suites offers more room and space.P
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lowell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Lowell3:

We are very glad to hear that you al enjoyed the kid suite during your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how everything went during your stay. It's really great that we didn't disappoint and made your choice worthwhile!
We do apologize that you had occasional unexpected noise from the nearby rooms and will be looking into why that may have happened.
Thank you again for you kind words, we look forward to seeing you again on your future trips to Orlando!

Best Regards,

Keith D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Best Western Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terra Verde Resort
#11 of 62 in Kissimmee
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Address: 13351 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32821-6228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Orlando
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#90 Business Hotel in Orlando
#104 Family Hotel in Orlando
#115 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Holiday Inn Resort(R) Lake Buena Vista, you are so close to the entrance to Walt Disney World(R) Resort, you can almost feel the Magic! This official Disney Good Neighbor hotel is fresh from a multi-million dollar makeover, making it perfect for your visit to the Walt Disney World(R) area. Take advantage of scheduled shuttles to the Disney parks, Sea World(R), Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Orlando Premium Outlets shopping and the Orange County Convention Center! After a busy day, come back to spacious, generously-appointed accommodations. Choose King or Queen-size bedding with 37" HDTV televisions, high-speed Internet, refrigerator, microwave, granite top vanities and upgraded bath amenities. Families love our KidSuites, a room-within-a-room that lets kids enjoy their own space within their parents room. Relax at the expansive, tropically-landscaped outdoor sundeck with plenty of lounge chairs, oversize heated pool, Splash Pad and two whirlpool spas! There is plenty to do onsite including outdoor pool tables, giant checkers and chess, ping pong, fitness center and an arcade/game room. PLUS - a Daily Scheduled Activities and Movies program for kids and adults! Enjoy great dining at Applebees(R) located onsite, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pinkys Market Place and Gift Shop is in the hotel lobby. Free high speed internet access helps you stay connected, and on-site meeting rooms are available for special events. Explore the Lake Buena Vista and Downtown Disney area's plentiful dining, shopping, nightly entertainment and picturesque setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Sunspree Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing