We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facilities, same old service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Ranked #26 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice facilities, same old service”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is the hotel with duck shaped soaps that your grandmother may have in her bathroom.

I like the new facilities, the new parking deck, and the architecture of the building. The elevators are quick, and the location is close to the convention center.

The parking is over-priced when resorts like Disney charge nothing for parking. This is not the only place where they over-charge. I ordered from Papa Ducks - their pizza joint- and they included the service charges for room service on the bill. It said on the collateral in the room that there were no service charges for items ordered from it. Room service left a table in the hall for over a day at the room across the hall. I complained about it, but management took no action.

The restaurant by the pool inside the hotel (Napa I think it was called) is delicious, and it has a great wine selection.

I like the television in the mirror in the bathroom.

The ducks were okay. This was my second visit to the property.

Room Tip: Upgrades are expensive options at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,390
    1,414
    441
    178
    110
See reviews for
1,095
868
133
2,879
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allegan, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Let me first just say, I NEVER write reviews, but after my experience I couldn't help myself. There is no doubt that this hotel is incredibly nice and very upscale - but overpriced is an understatement. You'd think after paying so much for a room that there would be many included benefits. Wrong!
An additional "Service fee" is charged daily, which in my opinion just gets you wifi and access to the gym. I should mention that the price also includes complimentary shoe shining and 2 trolly tickets (but I don't get my shoes shined, and who wants to take a trolly?). With that, the wifi had a terrible signal and kept cutting in and out. Not beneficial for my work. Parking is also charged daily. Both of these fees add up in quite a hurry.
I also figured, "okay, classy upscale hotel, I'm sure they'll provide me with necessities at the front desk." Wrong again. I forgot to pack a hair brush, and had to pay $3 bucks for a measly pocket comb! Not a huge deal, but I mean - come on!
Along the same train of thought, I needed a microwave in my room. I was surprised they weren't already provided, and mistakenly thought that one would be provided for me free of charge. Nope. $20 bucks a day...for a microwave.
All in all, the negatives outweigh the positives with this place.Excessive charges at such a high class luxury hotel are beyond frustrating!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny_marie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at the Peabody for five nights over Christmas. This is a great property on International Drive, five minutes from Seaworld. We had booked a club level room via Expedia which worked out as £93 per night. Amazing as the room was fantastic on the 26th floor of the second tower with mirror to ceiling windows and even a TV integrated into the bathroom mirror!
On the 26th floor is the club lounge which gave us free breakfast from 0700- 1000, snacks from 1730 – 1930 and complementary deserts from 2030 – 2130. Also as a perk for club guests is free valet parking which should have been $22 per night- so quite a bargain!
Highlight at the Peabody is the march of the ducks to and from the duck palace and into the reception fountain. Led by the duck master in red and gold braid its quite a spectacle!
We ate Christmas Brunch- book well ahead as its full of locals and we had to wait of a cancelleation the week before. It’ s a fantastic array of foods. Napa restaurant and the B Line diner are also worth a visit.
In Rocks lounge and bar they have a fantastic duo playing soul music to set the atmosphere- chilled and sophisticated. A large pool is also available
Great staff- highly recomended

Room Tip: Go Club level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merseydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarshallKelberman, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear merseydave:

Thank you for selecting The Peabody Orlando for your holiday. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your Club Level experience and the fun of our daily duck march. Thank you, for your review, for your recommendation of our hotel, and for recognizing our great staff! I wish you the best in the New Year.

Sincerely,

Marshall Kelberman
Director of Rooms, The Peabody Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and I were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived on the property. Our bellman was particularly helpful in explaning the view from our room, overlooking the pool from the 31st floor, and some of the highlights in Orlando. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The ducks provided a great diversion in our busy days. Eating in the B-Line was a special treat. The pancakes at breakfast were the best I have ever eaten. Pricey but worth it. All of the amenities of the hotel are first class.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarshallKelberman, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Warren75:

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experiences at The Peabody Orlando and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Marshall Kelberman
Director of Rooms, The Peabody Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Deer, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel was nothing special.Our room 21736 was covered in dust, I do not think the room was vacuumed during our 10 night stay. Had to ask for toilet paper,bottled water.(would not mind but when you are being charged a resort fee of ridiculous dollars per day this is unacceptable !) Would never stay there again. This hotel is more of a business travellers place but they are trying to dip into the tourist market too.On the last night of our stay my husband was approached by a hooker (04/01/12) asking if he was looking for a good time ! Disgrace for a top class hotel .Security staff or whoever monitors your monitors need to get a grip.I witnessed the aforementioned hooker entering the lifts at half hour intervals with different men while her friend was pacing the lobby area ,mobile phone in hand ! If your security staff were as vigilant as the valet staff in ripping you off for 22 bucks per day for valet parking then perhaps your resident hookers would dissapear ! I also left a recently purchased jacket in lobby area on our last night ( we were last to go to bed that night! ) .On inquiring at lost and found next day it had not been handed in .Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathrynAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarshallKelberman, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear kathrynAberdeen:

I appreciate your feedback and want to assure you that your observations concern me. I regret any deficiencies in your guest room, but appreciate the opportunity to follow up with our Housekeeping team to ensure that our high standards are met. The safety and security of our guests is of our upmost importance. Our public areas are monitored by security patrols and cameras for unlawful activity 24/7. Any questionable activity is investigated. Thank you for sharing your observations with me. I will certainly make notes to consider increasing patrols over the holiday season next year.

Sincerely,

Marshall Kelberman
Director of Rooms, The Peabody Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have wanted to stay at this hotel for a long while. Located in the perfect area of International Drive between Disney World and Universal Studios, it shines like a beacon from the highway. And if I thought the outside grounds were gorgeous the inside was even better.

We were promptly and courteously greeted by the staff to help in the check-in of the room. Self-parking was $12/day in an outside garage with a walkway with minor covering between this and the hotel (only major downside). Our room was spacious and amazing, complete with a TV inside the mirror of the bathroom. We wished there was an exhaust fan for the bathroom but this was a minor problem. Free wi-fi was a plus and I wish more high profile hotels would follow in their footsteps.

Bar and food, even in the 24-hour diner, was fantastic. Gym was clean with plenty of machines and weights available for use and an extremely helpful staff. The Peabody ducks were also adorable and put on quite the show...do not miss this if you go!

Overall this was a fantastic hotel and I would highly recommend everyone to try this out if able. They periodically have great specials and deals to bring down the cost and even throw in some extras (free self-parking). This is easily the best hotel I have ever stayed at in the Orlando area and I can't wait to return on future trips.

Room Tip: Periodically check the website as they frequently will run web only specials to bring down the costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daredevil3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarshallKelberman, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Daredevil3181:

I can’t wait to welcome you back to The Peabody Orlando! Thank you for your review and recommendation of our hotel. I am glad you had the time to experience many aspects of the hotel, including the fitness center which is a favorite spot of mine. See you soon!

Sincerely,

Marshall Kelberman
Director of Rooms, The Peabody Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was my first stay at any of the Peabody Hotels. It will not be my last. After several errors by Bookit.com, we were moved to the Peabody. Despite the busy New Year weekend and the crowds in town for the Carolina/Nebraska Capital One Bowl, the lines moved quickly and the service was great.

The rooms were also very nice. We were placed in a club suite where we had a wonderful view of the pool and of International Drive. Everything was clean and the cleaning staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Finally, the location is perfect. We were in walking distance to Miller's Ale House, Wal-greens, the Capital Grille, miniature golf, the convention center, and many other restaurants and activities.

It was a perfect stay and a great recovery from the poor service and incompetence of Bookit.com.

Room Tip: If you can, splurge on the Club Suite. It is very nice and the elevators are closer than some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLesanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#49 of 338 in Orlando
5,102 reviews
6.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 338 in Orlando
4,264 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosen Centre Hotel
Rosen Centre Hotel
#145 of 338 in Orlando
2,874 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Orlando/Convention Center
2.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orlando

Property: Hyatt Regency Orlando
Address: 9801 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-8104 (Formerly The Peabody Orlando)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#7 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#9 Business Hotel in Orlando
#12 Green Hotel in Orlando
#21 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#24 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Orlando 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Resort Close to All the Fun & Adventure! Hyatt Regency Orlando is an iconic hotel located in the heart of everything Orlando, Florida has to offer: theme parks, shopping, dining, nightlife and so much more. We've got something for everyone from two sparkling pools, a waterside & waterfall, a full-service spa & salon, 24-hour StayFit Gym, 7 dining & lounge options, and a customer service driven team awaiting your arrival. What Makes a Seamless Stay: • AAA Four Diamond Accommodations: 1,641 guestrooms and suites, with upgrades including view and club level rooms • Resort Pools: Complete with waterslide, waterfall, splash pad, separate kiddie pool area and cabanas available for rent • Location on International Drive: Guests receive two daily I-Ride Trolley tickets to nearby I-Drive locations including Pointe Orlando, I-Drive 360, SeaWorld and Aquatica. • Enjoy Orlando Attractions: We are minutes from Universal Orlando Resort, Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld. • Vibrant Dining: Choose from five Full- Service Dining outlets, two bars, a grab & go and 24 hr. room service. Our pools, spa and sunshine are calling your name. Book with us today to make memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Peabody Hotel Orlando
Peabody Orlando
Peabody Hotel Orlando Fl
Hyatt Regency Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing