We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Ranked #32 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Wanted a hotel close to Disney & Universal, but without the costs of on-site resort hotels. The Hyatt suited us perfectly. Just off International drive with complimentary access to the trolley bus service and 5 minutes from all the major resorts. The hotel is what you'd expect from Hyatt, large, impressive, clean and efficient. Our bed was sooo comfy after a hard day enjoying ourselves. The pool area is great for all ages. Just wish we had more time to try all the restaurants

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager_Brian, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear ken p -

Thank you for your great review and recommendation of Hyatt Regency Orlando, I'm pleased to read that we were able to meet all your needs and more.

I look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy the rest of our restaurants.


Best,
Brian Comes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,672 - 3,678 of 6,005 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel (twice as a Hyatt) and although a lovely place I think it's gone downhill.

When we checked in, because we had two separate bookings (both for 3 nights) the girl on reception merged the booking so that we could stay in the same room for all 6 nights.

We had to be shown 3 rooms, first appeared to be in a dungeon (ok, a little harsh) but it was a dark room overlooking the Spa pool. The second the aircon was not working, and if you have ever stayed in Orlando during July you'll know you need this working at its best.
The girl on reception apologised at this point and gave us some vouchers (nice touch) and moved us to a 3rd room which was on the 7th floor overlooking the newer of the two pools.
This was fine but not sure when the carpet had last been vacuumed.
It took 4 days for this room to be vacuumed, ok we didn't say anything about this at the time, but a little disappointing for a hotel of this standard.
We also don't think our bedding was changed during our stay. I know we were only staying for 6 nights but I would have thought one change of bedding during this time.

Another point that is a little annoying is that no toiletries are left in the room (other when you first arrive). You can ring for these (one plus here is that the men's slippers are really nice) but this gets to be a bit of a pain ringing up and then waiting for the items to be delivered.
If Hyatt are trying to save a few pennies here then surely having to get someone to deliver these is not cost effective, or maybe they are hoping that (as we did in the end) you give up after a couple of days and stop ordering items.

The worst part of our experience was when we checked out.
We had been given a copy of the bill under our door and had seen that we were charged for 3 nights, even though we had prepaid through our travel company.
When we questioned this with a most unhelpful girl at the check in desk, I was told that I needed to prove that we had paid for the rooms in advance.
When I said I had an email with this info I was advised to go to the business centre to print a copy of this.
When I finally found the centre (the directions were not the best) I was told that I would have to pay to use their PC.
Hold on a minute, this was a Hyatt mistake and I was going to have to pay to prove it!
Fortunately I had my iPad in the room so thought I'd show them a copy on here using their free (but really poor) wifi.
This was accepted as proof but no apology (even though it was the fault of the hotel as we had presented both confirmations at check in) was given.

We do still like this hotel, it's in a great location, you can easily get out and about with the iRide passes (included as part of the expensive $20+tax a day resort fee) if you don't want to drive ($16+tax a day to park your car), good pools (though the older pool could do with a good clean, some work was being done here but not to clean the pool), nice bar-Rocks (really poor service on the Friday night), good diner-Bline (nice food and good service, not too expensive) but I'm not sure that we will be returning.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager_Brian, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Bob H,

Thank you for your return business. I very much appreciate your thorough review and I am sorry to read about some of your experiences you've listed. Please know, I will be following up with each of the areas mentioned in your review.
I do hope we have an opportunity to be your choice of accommodation on your next visit to Orlando, feel free to reach out if you wish to discuss this experience in further detail.

Sincerely,
Brian Comes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Orlando on International Drive for 3 nights. It wasn't until after payment was made that we realized that there are a lot of added on charges- Self parking is $16.00 per night, Valet is $26.00 per night, the resort fee is $22.00 per night, add on tipping for tons of staff and your room rate goes up considerably so keep this in mind when booking this property.
Now the good about the Hyatt- the property is lovely and well maintained. The pool is awesome. We rented a cabana for one day (10-6) for $99 for the day which included drinks, chips, pretzels, a tv, lounge chairs, refrigerator, ice, cups, table with 4 chairs, and wait staff service throughout the day. It was so worth the money. We dined at the 24 hour diner two nights which runs about $50.00 for 2 people, but the food is really good and they have desserts that are so delectable you must at least try one. There is a great coffee shop in the lobby which offers pastries, juices and coffee. Had breakfast there every morning. The room had a coffee maker which the hotel provided Starbucks coffee which made me happy.
The wifi was free in your room, but the speed is terrible for wifi. Some video would not stream because the strength of the internet was so bad. Sometimes only one bar and late, late we would get two or three bars out of five. Can't brag about the internet- it stunk!
All in all we had a nice stay- not as cheap as we would like, but the hotel does offer some sweet amenities.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20929 - The room was new and refreshing. The mirror in the bathroom has a TV in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager_Brian, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Pat P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your cabana at the Grotto Pool and your dining experience at the B-Line Diner.
I appreciate your comments on the internet and will certainly review this further with our team.

We hope to see you again soon,

Brian Comes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just spent 2 weeks in the Hyatt and loved every minute of it. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the food although a little bit expensive was superb. We have 2 children age 14 and 11 and they equally loved it as the pool facilities were incredible. The hotel is super clean and very central to the Pointe Orlando and SeaWorld. The hotel also provides free I Ride tickets daily. Great hotel and we wont be staying anywhere else when back in Orlando.

Room Tip: Get the 2nd tower, we stayed on floor 28 overlooking the pool- glorious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arlene40955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager_Brian, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Arlene40955,

We look forward to being your home away from home on your next visit to Orlando. Thank you for your review and recommendation.

Sincerely,

Brian Comes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

So many great things to say about this hotel. Did a lot of research for hotels in the area and Trip Advisor reviews all pointed here; I was not disappointed. Room was as nice, new, & clean as any hotel in DC, Chicago or NYC at 3X the price. Staff was welcoming and accommodating. Pool area was perfect for kids and families. This is a HUGE facility and everything is both well kept and comfortable. Valet parking was quick and easy and every staff member we encountered greeted our family with genuine thoughtfulness.

A job well done to Brian and team. We hope to visit you again soon.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jdawg2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager_Brian, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear JDawg2112,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great review with the TripAdvisor audience! I look forward to sharing your comments about the service you received with our staff - and from everyone at Hyatt Regency Orlando, we look foward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I was a bit curious to see if things had changed since my last visit to this hotel two years ago. Unfortunately during our last visit there was a basketball all-star game going on and the noise levels during the night were ridiculous.
Since then, the hotel (formerly the Peabody) was purchased by Hyatt.
Because of the location being in very close proximity to the convention center, I took a chance and we stayed at the hotel again.
The quality of service is still very high; if anything, even better than before.
It doesn't appear that Hyatt has made any changes to the decor; there are still duck motifs everywhere in the hotel, including the artwork in the rooms.
We stayed in the "new" tower this trip. Fantastic view of the Disney fireworks and the room was clean.
The pool was very nice.

The only complaints are:

We had no shower curtain when we arrived, however they had one in place within a very short period of time.

Our room on the 24th floor was a little too close to the elevator equipment room. During the day the sound of the equipment was a bit annoying, however later in the evening when fewer folks where using the elevators, it got better.

The mattresses are a bit to soft for my personal preference.


Stayed: July 2014
Thank ducvw2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRORLANDO, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for deciding to give the hotel another chance from your last stay with us, it sounds like the timing on the previous stay was not good due to the events happening in Orlando.

I'm happy to hear that we were able to improve upon your stay and we will take the feedback into account and work to improve upon things for our guests and hopefully for your next stay.

Thank you,
Brian C.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here for a conference. This is a nice, clean hotel with updated amenities and very friendly staff. Everyone was very accommodating during conference and the food and arrangements went off without a hitch. The room was nice, clean, quiet and comfortable. I like the floor lighting and mirror tv in the bathroom. Very cool. Starbucks downstairs with a full restaurant is also convenient. Walking from the parking garage is a pain so I recommend valet.

Room Tip: Speaking with the front desk employees helped a few people get larger rooms on checking to accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRORLANDO, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for the great review! We hope we can host you again soon!

Best,
Brian C.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#53 of 341 in Orlando
5,440 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
5.1 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 341 in Orlando
3,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosen Centre Hotel
Rosen Centre Hotel
#125 of 341 in Orlando
3,057 reviews
3 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
3.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 341 in Orlando
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orlando

Address: 9801 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-8104 (Formerly The Peabody Orlando)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#13 Green Hotel in Orlando
#21 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#24 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £120 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Orlando 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Resort Close to All the Fun & Adventure! Hyatt Regency Orlando is an iconic hotel located in the heart of everything Orlando, Florida has to offer: theme parks, shopping, dining, nightlife and so much more. We've got something for everyone from two sparkling pools, a waterside & waterfall, a full-service spa & salon, 24-hour StayFit Gym, 7 dining & lounge options, and a customer service driven team awaiting your arrival. What Makes a Seamless Stay: • AAA Four Diamond Accommodations: 1,641 guestrooms and suites, with upgrades including view and club level rooms • Resort Pools: Complete with waterslide, waterfall, splash pad, separate kiddie pool area and cabanas available for rent • Location on International Drive: Guests receive two daily I-Ride Trolley tickets to nearby I-Drive locations including Pointe Orlando, I-Drive 360, SeaWorld and Aquatica. • Enjoy Orlando Attractions: We are minutes from Universal Orlando Resort, Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld. • Vibrant Dining: Choose from five Full- Service Dining outlets, two bars, a grab & go and 24 hr. room service. Our pools, spa and sunshine are calling your name. Book with us today to make memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Peabody Hotel Orlando
Peabody Orlando
Peabody Hotel Orlando Fl
Hyatt Regency Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing