We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Deceiving First Impression”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #69 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our introduction to the resort was confusion. There are 3 entrances to this huge resort and after 3 frustrating u turns, we finally reached the dreary check-in lobby. We took our place in a long, slow moving line. Bored looking time share representatives were at the opposite end of the counter handing out coupons and a small goody bag. They did not attempt to sell us anything; I think they were too disinterested. The lights on the other side of the lobby were shut off while we were in line; it was only 7PM. With this unimpressive start, we were a little worried about what we would find when we opened our room's door. We needn't have been. Our room was on the 5th floor and opened up to a terrace with a lovely lake view. The 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite was spacious and bright. I was concerned about the second bedroom with a window to the outdoor hall, but it was not an issue. The kitchen is well outfitted with a full size refrigerator, micro wave, stove top, and dishwasher. The seating area is large enough to have a dining room table and a pull out sofa with two comfy chairs. Since we were vacationing with another family, this was perfect for shared dinners in or watching a movie after a day at the parks. Each bedroom and the living room have large flat screen televisions. There is a stackable washer and dryer neatly tucked away in a closet off of the kitchen. WiFi is available without charge in the room. Each bathroom has a shower and tub. The master bath's tub is a Jacuzzi. A small complaint was that neither bath had any toiletries beside 2 small soaps. The pool for our section is not large but offered enough seating and shady areas; there are several pools at the resort. The pool bar staff is friendly and available. The gym next to the pool area is small and not fully equipped. We had our own cars, so getting back and forth from the parks was easy, and parking is free. This is a great location. It is 15 minutes away from Downtown Disney and a Publix; it is close to the Route 4 entrances, and one of the Premium outlet malls is about 15 minutes away. After our inauspicious start, we all came away with the thought that we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments and impressions of the Sheraton Vistana Resort.

We thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor, giving us the opportunity to escalate your praises for the villa and amenities.
Your comments are certainly appreciated and we thank you for sharing such great accolades for the entire property.

We are hopeful you will return to enjoy the many enhancements to the Sheraton Vistana Resort, as we are very excited to share that our Welcome Center, Zimmies Restaurant and Mini Golf will be renovated from September to December of this year. During this time we will be adding a new Sheraton Fitness Center, programmed by EXOS at our Spa Recreation Center.

Our team will share all the new and improved aesthetics during your Welcome Experience. We look forward to exceeding your expectations while providing personal service throughout your stay.

Thanks again for your gift of feedback and your recommendation

We are here to serve you and we thank you for your contributions to this review.
Best Wishes,
Dassie
Resort Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,453)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,279 - 2,285 of 6,453 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Our 'room' was a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen and living room. There was plenty of room to spread out. The kind individual at the front desk set us up with a unit with a fountain just off our veranda that made for a perfect setting. There are some very nice pools at this massive property! Most of the pools were open until 1am, so we enjoyed a relaxing midnight swim after hopping around all of the amusement parks. My favorite pool was the one by Zimmies. The pool bar staff were all wonderful and very personable. One of the nights they hosted karaoke by the pool which was a huge hit with the kids and adults. It did get hot during the day and the pools could offer some more shade. I would recommend that they invest in more umbrellas for guests. The cleaning service wasn't consistent, however I don't mind making my own bed. All in all, I was very impressed by the high quality accommodations at this well-kept property and would quickly recommend it to families and couples.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments and impressions of the Sheraton Vistana Resort.

We thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor, giving us the opportunity to escalate your praises.
Your comments are certainly appreciated and we thank you for sharing such great accolades for our famous pools, both for families and adults.
We thank you for the suggestions and opinions expressed, they were already escalated for awareness and consideration.

We are hopeful you will return to enjoy the many enhancements to the Sheraton Vistana Resort, as we are very excited to share that our Welcome Center, Zimmies Restaurant and Mini Golf will be renovated from September to December of this year. During this time we will be adding a new Sheraton Fitness Center, programmed by EXOS at our Spa Recreation Center.

Our team will share all the new and improved aesthetics during your Welcome Experience. We look forward to exceeding your expectations while providing personal service throughout your stay.

Thanks again for your gift of feedback and your recommendation

We are here to serve you and we thank you for your contributions to this review.
Best Wishes,
Dassie
Resort Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After much consideration we opted to stay at a non-Disney resort (mainly because we could stay at a much nicer hotel for half the price). What a great decision! The stay could not have been better. For anyone considering an "off-campus" stay, I'd highly recommend this place -- and the concept of staying non-Disney. It was more friendly, inviting, professional and beautiful than most of the Disney resorts and the food, bedding, and staff could not have be beat. They also offered activities for kids, with pools for kids of different ages and a marketplace with a pretty good selection of food/snacks.

If you go, try to meet Kenzo, she welcomed us and checked us into the hotel. She embodies the high standard of the Starwood property with a warm, genuine nature. She also made my daughter feel like a princess (and let's be honest, if you're going to Disney with a 4 year old, that's kinda the point). I seriously doubt we would have had the same attention to service or detail if we had stayed at the huge Disney resorts.

We ate at the hotel for breakfasts and dinners, which was a delight. Prices were reasonable and the quality and service were high. The marketplace store has good ice-cream which was also a nice treat.

Travel to Disney was simple. They have a bus schedule and it worked perfectly for us. We left on the first bus and returned just before dinner. You're also so close to Disney that if you need to take a taxi (or drive your own car) it's a quick trip.

Perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateCopeland00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments, recommendations and impressions of the Sheraton Vistana Resort.

We thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor, giving us the opportunity to escalate your praises. We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed the villa accommodations, felt comfortable and found your future vacation destination!.

Our team will share all the new and improved aesthetics during your Welcome Experience. We look forward to exceeding your expectations while providing personal service throughout your stay.

Thanks again for your gift of feedback!

We are here to serve you and we thank you for your contributions to this review.
Best Wishes,
Dassie
Resort Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wonderful self catering units - on site restaurants and swimming pools. Reception very helpful. Also convenience store available for purchasing of basic necessities. Unit has a washer and dryer and fully equipped serviced kitchen. Wifi available in all areas of resort. Parking available infront of each unit. For families I would recommend that you ask for a unit near the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to one of the swimming pools
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments and impressions of the Sheraton Vistana Resort.

We thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor, giving us the opportunity to escalate your praises for your accommodation.
At the Sheraton Vistana Resort, our mission is to deliver a memorable experience to every guest, we are so glad you enjoyed the on site restaurants and our famous pools.
Thank you again for showing appreciation in every aspect of your vacation, it is our team who makes the Difference!

Looking forward to welcome you again soon to share the new improvements such as our Welcome Center, Zimmies Restaurant and Mini Golf which will be renovated from September to December of this year. During this time we will be adding a new Sheraton Fitness Center, programmed by EXOS at our Spa Recreation Center.

Our team will share all the new and improved aesthetics during your Welcome Experience. We look forward to exceeding your expectations while providing personal service throughout your stay.

Thanks again for your gift of feedback!

We are here to serve you and we thank you for your contributions to this review.
Best Wishes,
Dassie
Resort Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a brilliant place to stay; it has everything a family could need on site. The staff were so welcoming and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. The pool areas are excellent for kids - so much for them to do even without leaving the resort. Especially enjoyed the tiki bar for food. The apartments were clean and spacious. Really could not have asked for more. A first class holiday. We hope to return in the near future and will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aislinn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments and impressions of the Sheraton Vistana Resort.

We thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor, giving us the opportunity to escalate your praises for our team members.

Your valuable comments were escalated to the Management Team, who will share your accolades with the team who delivered this memorable experience..

Looking forward to welcome you again soon to share the new improvements such as our Welcome Center, Zimmies Restaurant and Mini Golf which will be renovated from September to December of this year. During this time we will be adding a new Sheraton Fitness Center, programmed by EXOS at our Spa Recreation Center.

Our team will share all the new and improved aesthetics during your Welcome Experience. We look forward to exceeding your expectations while providing personal service throughout your stay.

Thanks again for your gift of feedback!

We are here to serve you and we thank you for your contributions to this review.
Best Wishes,
Dassie
Resort Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is an excellent place to stay. It's close to the parks and they have shuttle buses to two disney parks from the marketplace. We first stayed at the fountains but we later moved to spas. Both places were lovely but spas was in the middle of everything. We had the 2 bedroom apt and it was well equipped.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khadijsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments and impressions of the Sheraton Vistana Resort.

We thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor, giving us the opportunity to escalate your praises for the overall resort.

Thank you for selecting The Sheraton Vistana Resort to spend your vacation.
We are hopeful you will return soon as we are very excited to share that our Welcome Center, Zimmies Restaurant and Mini Golf will be renovated from September to December of this year. During this time we will be adding a new Sheraton Fitness Center, programmed by EXOS at our Spa Recreation Center.

Our team will share all the new and improved aesthetics during your Welcome Experience. We look forward to exceeding your expectations while providing personal service throughout your stay.

Thanks again for your gift of feedback!

We are here to serve you and we thank you for your contributions to this review.
Best Wishes,
Dassie
Resort Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We decided to move our week to May this year and requested a two bedroom first floor unit in the Cascades Section. Perfect location. As owners we aren't suppose to sign in until 4 pm or after so to avoid the crowd we came a little bit later. I am surprised when people try to enter so much before which only complicates things for others but I did notice that the office tries to accommodate their requests. Our room was clean and freshly stocked with towels. Because it is a timeshare resort I know to bring detergents, extra soaps, shampoo, etc. Not a big deal for me which is why I can stay in a two bedroom villa for the same rate as a one bedroom hotel room elsewhere. I use Diamond Check in which is a shorter line; little wait as someone apparently was arguing their room charges. They give you a card which is connected to your credit card and it charges directly. I usually just tear it up or put it into the room safe so unnecessary charges don't occur. This year they gave out cards to exchange for pool towels. That way, if you don't turn in all of the towel cards along with your room keys at the security exit, you pay for those missing towels. It worked. We picked up our towels one day and returned them for our cards the last night. Washer and dryers, dishwasher, full kitchen makes things easier for the week. As timeshare owners we have to pay for the Disney/Universal Shuttles but we have a car so not a problem. For nonowners there are shuttles. We did use the free Lake Buena Vista shuttle one day while others took the car deep sea fishing. It worked out nicely. You can walk to Santa Fe, a great restaurant next door, near Walgreens. The Market Place is nice and offers you Starbucks deals with the purchase of their mug. No problems with WiFi. We used it in our room and then used the Marketplace one to print out. The rooms have BOSE sound systems which can become super loud. We did have to call Security to ask the neighbors to please turn it down after 1 am. Security arrived promptly and took care of it. Do your homework on where you request your room, and if you don't like it when opening the door, go back to the office and ask them to move you. My rule is: Don't touch, unpack, etc until you check everything first -- just in case there is a problem. But, we've been lucky so far.

Room Tip: Cascades top villas have sky lights. End caps mean less chance of one noisy neighbor. We like roo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justwantedtomention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments and impressions of the Sheraton Vistana Resort.

We thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor, giving us the opportunity to escalate your praises and suggestions.
We value your expertise and opinions shared for owners and guests and we are pleased to learn that the new Pool Towel Program is appreciated.
We are confident that the procedures are in place to successfully help us reduce costs and maintain inventory.

At the Sheraton Vistana Resort, our mission is to ensure our guests feel comfortable and enjoy their quiet time. Seems like you have done your homework for the Sheraton Vistana Resort, we appreciate all your ideas!. Hopefully, you will return soon as we are very excited to share that our Welcome Center, Zimmies Restaurant and Mini Golf will be renovated from September to December of this year. During this time we will be adding a new Sheraton Fitness Center, programmed by EXOS at our Spa Recreation Center.

Our team will share all the new and improved aesthetics during your Welcome Experience. We look forward to exceeding your expectations while providing personal service throughout your stay.

Thanks again for your gift of feedback!

We are here to serve you and we thank you for your contributions to this review.
Best Wishes,
Dassie
Resort Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#61 of 340 in Orlando
4,063 reviews
2.0 mi away
Floridays Resort
Floridays Resort
#20 of 340 in Orlando
8,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Tuscany Village
3.2 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,456 reviews
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista

Address: 8800 Vistana Centre Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Orlando
#45 Family Hotel in Orlando
#50 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#95 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £99 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Walt Disney World Good Neighbor® hotel featuring one- and two-bedroom villas providing fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, separate living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Enjoy resort amenities including 7 pools without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Orlando
Sheraton Vistana Orlando
Vistana Resort Orlando
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista Orlando, Florida
Sheraton Vistana Resort Florida
Sheraton Vistana Resort Orlando Florida
Orlando Sheraton
Sheraton Vistana Florida
Sheratons Vistana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing