We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop Browsing...Just Book This One!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #67 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Stop Browsing...Just Book This One!!”
Reviewed 20 October 2004

No need to look any further! Our family of 4 enjoyed this resort to it's fullest! We stayed in the Springs section - a bit dated but very clean and roomy with all the amenities you need. We loved the "elbow room"! Our observation was that the Cascades section was more up-to-date (i.e. newer furnishings, newer exterior etc.)

After browsing the web forever trying to find just the right hotel for our family, we stopped here! We are so glad we did. We didn't want "just a room". We wanted living space and that's what you get when you stay here! It's an awesome retreat after a day at the Disney Parks. The staff was more than helpful and housekeeping service was provided every day (they even loaded and started my dishwasher!) After doing our 4 day Park Hopper pass at Disney we had 2 days left of our vacation. We decided to just hang-out at the resort. There's so much to do (i.e. mini-golf, 7 pools/jacuzzis, arcades and bike rentals). The pools are wonderful! Our kids loved it!

The location is great. Take a right out of the resort and at the 1st stop light take another right and your on the road to Disney. Across the street is a grocery store so you can stock up your full kitchen. The General Store at the resort also has a nice selection and the prices aren't too bad.

Also, on our last day we wern't ready to check-out by 10:00 a.m. so I called the front desk and told them why we were running behind. There was no problem at all letting us take our time in departing (we checked out by 11:00 instead of 10:00). Because our flight didn't leave until much later that day, they let us "stay-and-play" around the resort grounds after check-out. They were very accomodating. If you have any questions or problems, call them, the staff really works with you.

A few tips: #1: Get a rental car. Don't rely on hotel transportation. We like the freedom of coming and going as we please. With kids, the less you have to wait for something the better. Also, we used the car around the resort - Sheraton Vistana is HUGE! Car rental was handy. Parking at any Disney park is $8.00/day. It's worth it! #2: Don't answer your phone for the first few days of your stay. They are trying to sell you time-shares for the resort. This is our only complaint. We're on vacation and didn't like being bothered with sales-pitches. But after a few days they stopped calling. #3: Ladies, bring your own hair dryer. The one's they provide are "cheesy". Not much power out of it and it took forever to dry my hair! #3: Bring quarters for the kids. They have .25 food dispensers around the ponds in the resort so you can feed the ducks. While my husband and I were getting ready in the morning we sent the kids out to feed the ducks. It became their morning routine. They loved it!

We give the resort 5 stars! In a few years we're coming back and we're staying here again! We will try to request the Cascades Section. We did this time but didn't get it - but that's okay. Everything was clean, comfortable, convenient and roomy. We had a wonderful vacation.... Thanks, Sheraton!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,230
    1,906
    563
    250
    183
See reviews for
4,071
660
34
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 October 2004

We are a family of 6, and have just arrived home from a 2 week stay at the Vistana. I must admit that I was rather worried about our holiday after reading some of the reviews. I am the sort of person that expects to get exactly what it says in the brochure when I book a holiday, no compromise !
We we given an apartment in the Fountains section, which in the beginning I was not to pleased about. However, although the master bedroom was not what I was expecting, I can honestly say that I was more than happy with our huge apartment. We had a fully equipped kitchen, washer and drier, spacious lounge/dinning area, two double bedrooms and two bathrooms (the master had a whirpool bath). HOUSEKEEPING were EXCELLENT. we had our room cleaned daily. The whole complex is clean and well maintained. We did it without a car and didn't have any problems. There are a few places to eat off the resort that you can walk to. There are also shops within walking distance (not many though) taxis are cheap and the Disney shuttle service is great. (if you get Top as your driver your in luck) We did the breakfast, and got a great deal on our park tickets. The majority of the staff at Vistana were very polite and helpful, with the exception of one lady in the booking office, whom I found rude and aggressive. Apart from this my family had a wonderful stay at the Vistana and we would stay there again.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2004

We stayed here for two weeks at Easter. Two adults and 3 children 15, 11 and 7.

The position of the resort is excellent for Disney as it is only 5 mins away by car.

Vistana Resort is a time share resort but there are also plenty of apartments for vsitors to rent. You will not be pestered to buy a time share (our worry). If you want you can find out about it quite easily but there are no salesmen approaching you.

Apartments differ, some are older than others. We stayed in the most recent part and it certainly looked much more modern. Our apartment had 2 bedrooms (one with two double beds for the kids with its own shower room and one with a king size bed, bathroom and huge whirlpool bath in the sleeping area. This was perfect after a day walking round the theme parks!)

There was a lounge (with sofa bed) dining area and kitchen. All was very well appointed and comfortable. Decor was clean and fresh and furniture was in good condition and very comfortable. The kitchen had a cooker, microwave, huge fridge and all the equipment one needed to cook a meal. Apart from breakfast we never cooked. There is also a good washer/drier which was perfect with 3 kids.

There is maid service every day so no need to worry about housework. Our toilet became blocked but the caretaking staff were superb and had it fixed in a jiffy.

There is a small balcony with seating and we had a view of one of the lakes which was lovely to wake up to.

Plenty of parking right outside your apartment. Plenty of accomodation suitable for wheel chairs.

There are several pool areas, we tried most of them out. All the pools were great but they did get busy especially in the afternoons when people returned from the Disney parks. We always found a sunbed but sometimes we had to hunt a bit. Plenty of towels were available.

As this resort is for families expect lots of children and a bit of noise round the pools. It didn't bother me as I was glad I didn't have to worry about shushing my children.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

The restaurants are low key serving glorified burgers and salads. They are not expensive.

There are plenty of other restaurants about 5 mins drive away and we ate at many of these. In general, food (for us brits) was cheap in Orlando and we had lots of very tasty meals.

This is a gated community and only those with pases can enter so it is safe to let the kids hire bikes and explore or go for a wander to other pools. My eldest soon made friends with other teens.

There is a good shop on site with a video library. Yes there is a TV and video in your apartment. Some evenings the kids were happy to have a pizza delivered (Dominos onsite) and watch a movie whilst we went shopping or to a nice retsaurant.

We found this a much cheaper alternative to two hotel rooms and it was just as comfortable and relaxing.

We enjoyed the resort and would return. There is also a newer Vistana Villages resort about 10 mins drive away and we would also go there.

All in all a great place for a family to stay when visiting Disney.

Helpful?
4 Thank gill63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 October 2004

We stayed at the Vistana Resort August 18-25. After a lot of searching and reading reviews we thought this would be a nice place to stay. When you check in and get your map to your room, don't be fooled by the big beautiful rooms you'll pass. If your luck is like ours, you too will be driving to "the back of the bus", you know what I mean!?!? These rooms are old and the landscaping is horrendous, not even mowed. The paint is chipping off the outside of the buildings, and they are just dirty! Although our room was great in size for 4 adults, and the large pool was nice, we will not stay there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2004

After reading various reviews, we canceled a reservation at Summer Bay Resort to stay at the Vistana. We couldn't have been happier. The only small problem we had was that the first unit they assigned us had not been cleaned yet but when we called the front desk, they immediately sent a bellman with a key to a different unit on the same floor. The new unit turned out to be a little larger and nicer than the first one.

We had a two bedroom/ two bath unit in the Cascades section immediately across from the general store and pool. The pool was excellent, the kids really enjoyed the waterfall and the sprays in the shallow section. The pool towels were really nice beach towel size, not the little hotel towels you sometimes get.

There was not daily maid service but that was clearly explained up front and we were very satisfied.

Can't say enough about the pool. The kids just really loved it, and I loved the layout, because you could so easily watch the children.

Helpful?
2 Thank klo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 October 2004

Had a good time and was generally pleased with the rooms. Ended up in an older section but it was well maintained. Only real complaint was with housekeeping. They missed the first day so we called and were promised they would show up the next day. The next day came and same result. After having this happen 3 days straight I called and canceled housekeeping and asked for credit. They finally came that afternoon but then skipped us again the last 2 days. We are still trying to get the credit resolved with Sheraton/Starwood because they refused to credit us at checkout since the reservations came through Expedia. It's a fine place to stay, but don't count on housekeeping!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 October 2004

After reading the reviews here and taking everything into consideration, my husband and I chose this resort for our family of 6. This is the perfect place to stay for a large group. We stayed the week of Sept 14-21 and in the Lakes section. We had a two bedroom/two bath. A must with four girls, and their mommy! The three TVs were great! Some of the property was looking a little tattered (the grounds), but that was to be expected from the past hurricanes. Workers were all around sprucing the property up. Housekeeping was excellent! We had fresh towels, clean bathrooms, beds made every day. I felt guilty about it, so two of the days, I just put the "do not disturb" out. We saved so much money having breakfast in our room (i.e., cereal, oatmeal, pop tarts, etc.). That way we could start our day early in the parks, without having to stop for breakfast (not fun with 6 people!). Exercise rooms were great, pools were a blast for the kids, and there are so many activities for the kids to do if they get bored. Disney is about a 10 minute ride by car. We would definitely stay here again, even without the kids.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#55 of 337 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,913 reviews
2.0 mi away
Floridays Resort Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 337 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
1.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Tuscany Village
1.5 mi away
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista

Property: Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Address: 8800 Vistana Centre Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Orlando
#45 Family Hotel in Orlando
#50 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#95 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Walt Disney World Good Neighbor® hotel featuring one- and two-bedroom villas providing fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, separate living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Enjoy resort amenities including 7 pools without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Orlando
Sheraton Vistana Orlando
Vistana Resort Orlando
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista Orlando, Florida
Sheraton Vistana Resort Florida
Sheraton Vistana Resort Orlando Florida
Orlando Sheraton
Sheraton Vistana Florida
Sheratons Vistana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing