We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #168 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Sawyerville, Quebec
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The purpose of our trip was to go to Universal Studios, therefore the location of this hotel is perfect. It takes about 10 - 15 minutes to walk and it is a nice pathway to get there, it may seem longer on the way back after a day at the park. We never used the shuttle. Pool was clean and never over crowded, great way to cool off after a long day at the parks. Having a restaurant attached is handy. We had a standard double room which had a small fridge it would be nice if they added a microwave, however the room served the purpose for the amount of time you spend in the room awake. Beds were very comfortable. Walgreens just a short walk up the street as well as liquor store and farther up a few fast food restaurants. For us the Hotel provided what we needed, but the internet service was very slow. Our room was on the 3rd floor and had a view of the pool which was very nice. The I-trolley pick up was across the street for a quick and cheap way to get to the outlet shops.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker33_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    848
    388
    139
    126
See reviews for
952
524
48
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My teenage daughter and I checked into a one bedroom suite at the end of April. Our plan was to spend three days at Universal Studios and one day outlet shopping. This hotel was perfect. Some tips...You can walk to Universal, but after a day of walking we were too tired to walk back to the hotel. A taxi will cost you $5 tip included. You can also take the city bus, #21 which will pick you up at the same spot that you would get on the itrolley (G4) and drop you right at Universal. It was $2. The itrolley doesn't seem to run on a very reliable schedule and it was really hot sitting and waiting for it, especially since you really have to transfer onto the red line to go anywhere. We took the itrolley to the premium outlet at International drive. The itrolley is kind of painful in terms of having to wait, but it does get you where you need to go if you don't have a vehicle. Head towards the Double Tree hotel and you will easily find the Walgreens and a liquor store.Bring at least one small bottle of water with you to the park. It's $3.50 a bottle there. Go to Harry Potter World at dinner time (5:00pm on). We did the big HP ride 5 times over the three days. The line up in the morning is crazy. Go after the little kids are tired out! Spend some time by the pool at the hotel. It is really nice. We had an early evening flight and all we had to do was ask for an extended check out and they were very accommodating. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffindorOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This hotel is right across the street from Univerals Studios Orlando. We had a 1 bedroom suite for 89$ a night and while it was clean, the 'remodeling' only consisted of some fresh paint. The staff were very helpful and Ramon at Guest Services was very friendly and professional. The man at the shuttle desk was horrible and didn't show up for 2 days so we had to walk across the street to another hotel to book shuttle service to Seaworld. The shuttle Driver, Janine was fantastic. For the price, this is a great hotel for your family. The suite has a refrigertor, microwave and dishwasher. There was ample room to walk around and it made the trip very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for 4 nights recently while visiting the Universal Studios park for our sons 12th birthday and thought it was a perfect choice for us. The room (a studio) was immaculately clean, well furnished, and had plenty of room. The property itself was located just across the street from the entrance to Universal, so we walked over each day (about a 15 minute walk from the front door to the Park admission gates). We only ate one breakfast at the TGIF that was attached to the hotel, mistakenly thinking it was included (kids under 12 eat free for all meals but all others pay regular prices), and it was fine.

The hallways are dated, but they are in fact, just hallways, so we didn't care. The lobby had people at all times to help with tickets to attractions, directions, etc., and the people were in general very helpful.

We used the pool several times and it was very clean, the water temp was fine, and it fit the bill. This isn't the Ritz, but it was a great price, a perfect location, and clean and friendly, so for us - a great place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merunner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Our family (2 adults & 2 teenagers) stayed here for 6 nights the week of April 3 and it was the perfect accomodation for us! First impressions: the lobby is nicely decorated, nothing elaborate, but certainly clean and inviting. I was a little worried when we were approaching our room, as the hallways seemed a little less than perfectly kept and were not air-conditioned (probably a cost-saving measure?). But once we got inside our room, we were all very impressed. We stayed in a regular room with 2 double beds (no need for a kitchen), but it was spacious and had everything we needed: a mini-fridge, good size newer model TV, climate control, and plenty of dresser/closet space. We are particular about bed comfort, and found that the beds totally measured up. Our 13-year old enjoyed the free wi-fi and we found it handy when needing to look up where to find restaurants, etc, in the area. We did eat dinner once at the TGI Friday's onsite, which was reasonably good, and ate the breakfast buffet once, which we wouldn't do again...poor quality and limited choices, and melamine plates...By contrast, for one night we stayed onsite at Universal (just so we'd get use of Express passes for 2 days at Universal) and found it a poor value...you pay extra for everything (parking $15, wi-fi $10 per day, no mini-fridge in room. I've heard that you pay extra for the fitness room privileges too. But yes, they do have a more luxurious pool area, and you get to take the water taxi to the parks.) When you pay about $300 per night, compared to this place which was roughly about a third of that, there's no comparison. It was about 10-15 minutes to walk to the parks, but since you're walking all day anyway, we found it was just fine. The hotel is just across the street from the parking garages, anyways, so you're not much farther away! The pool was nice, not luxurious or anything, but perfectly great to cool off. The staff was pleasant and quick to respond to any requests. Parking is free. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyBlueSkyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed in a newly renovated suite with our 4 and 9 year old. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The kids LOVED the heated outdoor pool and we enjoyed relaxing in the outdoor area. The fitness center was also great with plenty of choices of new equipment. The location of the hotel is perfect for the Orlando area. We were able to get to all of the local attractions easily since it is right next to Universal and also next to the highway. I would HIGHLY recommend this property to others!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank downatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2011

The service at this hotel was actually quite good and doesn't match the total lack of quality of the hotel. Furniture wasn't bad, bed was very comfortable. Hotel was mostly quiet.
Kitchen area was shabby and not stocked for even light cooking. Fridge didn't work, doors missing in the room, bathroom flooded & smelled like urine, spit on the floor of elevator and never cleaned up, walls and base boards banged up, hotel turned water off 10am to 4pm on one day & didn't receive prior notice-they said they put a notice under the door by we didn't receive one nor did many of the others in our group. 2am wake up to fire alarm and hotel evacuation-this wasn't the hotels fault but added insult-to-injury.
Almost $200 a nite for a 1 bedroom suite. Definitely not worth the money and could have found a much nicer hotel for the money.
Come on HI, you can do MUCH better than this shabby hotel. Give your employees and guests something to be proud of!

Room Tip: No tip for the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepitreal5851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#115 of 337 in Orlando
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing