We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lousy,needs a complete overhaul” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #165 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Warwick,RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lousy,needs a complete overhaul”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2007

The hotel is in a great location to all the theme parks is the only good thing I can say about hotel. The rooms a very old. The beds are not comfortable at all. The drapes are falling off the windows. The public areas need cleaning. The staff is naot at all helpful

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the hotel itself
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank terk16985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    815
    372
    126
    120
See reviews for
905
497
46
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2007

We got a super deal of $79 a night for this hotel, which is located very close to Universal Studios. As a Priority Club member I was plesantly surprised when I was upgraded to a suite free of charge. The room was spacious and well maintained. The location is awesome, it is right across from the main gate to Universal Studios. Their is a complementary shuttle (which was pretty gross) which we took in the mornings to Universal (also runs to Wet and Wild and Sea World) and we usually took a cab back from the park because the shuttle dosne't run too frequently and we didn't want to wait for it. The cab was about $5. There is a TGIF's close by as well as a Cracker Barrell and some other restaurants within walking distance, which is nice after eating theme park food all week. The cab to the airport was about $35. If I returned to Universal I would definitely stay again as I feel it was a great value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ISellSyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2007

The hotel overall was good. The only problem I had was the looks of the room. It was an older room maybe saved for the use of internet bookings. You could see paint chipping from the walls, bathroom, etc. It was clean but you could tell from the looks that it was not a modern room. You just expect more from a hotel as such.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Denise369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2007

I just want to say that even though there are alot of bad reviews on this place, its really not that bad! You get what you pay for, but you can't beat the location for Universal Studios! Me and my boyfriend stayed there for 2 weeks in June of 2007. The staff were very friendly and willing to help you. Our room was decent. You could tell that it hadn't been cleaned right before we had arrived so we just called down and someone came right up to clean it. The best parts about staying here is the T.G.I. Fidays restaurant they have on site and the Craker Barrel restaurant they have down the road. T.G.I. Fridays have a evening happy hour where select drinks and appitaizers are just $4! Plus, the bartenders there are amazing! They are awsome with doing tricks behind the bar with the liquor bottles when they are making drinks! They also have a healthy menu which is great when you are trying to still eat right while on vacay. The Cracker Barrel down the road serves an awsome breakfast! Their sourdough french toast is to die for! Their pancakes with fruit are amazing! Me and my boyfriend could have a big breakfast for $15, and we could also have a meal of oatmeal, muffin, coffee and eggs for like $7 total for the both of us! We always left full and it would carry us until a little after lunch for a day out around exploring. There is also a WalGreens about a block down where we bought a cheap styrofoam cooler. We bought our bottles of water in cases here, and brought it back to our room and used the ice in the hotel to fill it up. It saved us ALOT seeing as how a bottle of water in the parks is $3, and we could get a case of15 for about $5. We also walked to Universal all the time. They have shuttles, but its only a 15 min walk, and its on a nice path with lots of greenery. That's about all I can think of at the moment to share, but just to sum it up for now...I would definately go back :)
We had our flight and hotel for 2 weeks for like $2,200.00. That's amazing. We went the year before and stayed at a Disney Resort hotel for only a week, and it cost about the same, if not a llittle more.

  • Liked — Spacious room, friendly service, T.G.I. Fridays' on site
  • Disliked — cleanliness, but it wasn't that bad
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank roxie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

I booked this hotel through an airline website as a last minute air/hotel package. What a big mistake...I assumed the hotel would be fine just by the Holiday Inn website. When we checked into our room, there was a dead cockroach in the middle of the floor. We called down to the desk and they moved us across the hall. Where...surprise...there were cockroaches in this room too but they were alive. (9th floor) Our tub drained the first day after taking showers, but by the 3rd and final morning it was 1/2 full with dirty water that was not draining. After talking to the front desk at checkout I found out we paid $53/night...cheap but I rather have slept in my rental car! Yuck!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Having to sleep there
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Traveler_1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn March of 2007, and overall we had a pretty good trip.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were pretty impressed with the looks of things. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. They had booked us for a normal room, however after reading the reviews we decided to upgrade to a suite. This was no problem, and we weren't charged extra for the suite! When we got to our room, it was nice a big. It included a kitchenette, however there was no stove. (Not a big deal though because we ate out every night.) There was a good sized living room beside the kitchen, and the bedrooms were in another room. The room was clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was pretty average, although the sink seemed rather slow.

The hotel is located directly across from Universal Studios, which is nice. It's about a ten minute walk into the park from the hotel, which can save you money, because the Universal Studios parking garages were pricey.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel, but there we did manage to see a good sized pool, a games room, and a business room. Because I don't own a laptop, it was nice to have that business room there, with accessible computers. ($)

Attached to the hotel is a TGI Fridays restaurant. We ate there once and I really enjoyed the food. Down the road from the hotel is a Cracker Barrel Restaurant for those who prefer more homestyle cooking.

Lots to see and do in the area. Definitely enjoyed the Universal Studios theme parks. Ideal location. But I really reccomend staying in the suite as appose to a normal room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking lot
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank stephanie-03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

2 bedroom suite can not be beat for under $200. I only had 5 people but 3 rooms with 3 tv's, 2 baths & kitchen are the best for function and privacy. Rooms were clean, kitchenette and large fridge were great. Halls do smell musty and lobby not as grand as I am accustomed but great rooms are the key. Blankets were double wrapped in clean sheets like expensive hotels. You have the option of 3 or 4 pillow types: quickly brought to your room. Maids forgot to replenish coffee but desk bent over backwards to send refills up to the room. Kids used the pool and loved it. Attached Friday's restaurant was better than expected and many dining options in walking distance. I often drive to Universal then regret it when parking takes me longer and gets me no closer than walking from the hotel would (stay on the sidewalk). I have stayed here often with 4 to 10 people but always in a 3 room suite. I have no idea what the regular rooms are like but definitely recommend the suites.

  • Liked — 3 rooms, lots of privacy
  • Disliked — musty smelling hallways
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Clarion Inn & Suites
#107 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Sea World and Wet n' Wild. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando, Sea World and Wet n' Wild. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, IHG, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing