We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with friendly and helpfull staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #175 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights while enjoying Universal Studios. The location is excellent. We were acknowledged for our loyalty membership and status, and the upgrade was greatly appreciated. If you are going with your family to the parks, book a suite here and you will be very happy.

Room Tip: Join the Priority Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncleRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

This hotel has a great location if you can handle a 15-minute walk to Universal Studios. You have to cross one busy street but the crosswalk is good; many families were doing it with us.

We got a 2-bedroom suite since we had 5 people, all over 18, in our party. The room was a little larger than we expected. The kitchenette was nice. I had read a few reviews about bugs but we didn't notice any. The room was a little musty but reasonably clean when we arrived.

We were disappointed that the room attendant left fewer and fewer towels every day. A bottle of disinfectant was left in the room one day. The trash bins were not emptied for the 4 days we were there. (Maybe this practice brings the bugs that others have mentioned.)

We called the front desk one night to ask about a shuttle to another park. They told us to call after 7AM the next morning for information. We called the next morning and were told that you had to reserve the shuttle the night before! We wound up driving to the other park. This was disappointing.

The check-in and checkout processes were accurate but handled by rather gruff and surly employees. I am not sure why as I didn't see anybody being unpleasant with them.

Overall, the hotel was fine but the service was disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSPTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear MSPTraveler2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I loved this hotel. The staff was fun, friendly and informative. They had a free shuttle that took you to and from universal studios. If you missed the bus, it was a short fifteen minute walk to the park. Or the hotel called a taxi which cost you $8.00 to get to the park. The hotel rooms were clean, with a microwave, coffee pot and fridge. The shower was brilliant white. The maid service gave new towels but did not reorganize and rifle through your stuff, which i like. There was room service available and a heated pool! Really enjoyed our stay here and perfect location for the parks. Booking with universal and using this hotel with a 3 day park ticket ran us about $500. I think a very good deal!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennigirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here for a night. 4 adults and 4 kids, they were accomodating and gave us a suite because they couldn't give us adjoining rooms. When I called to book and even when we checked in, we were never notified that their "shuttle" only runs every 1/2 hour and you have to book it in advance to get on it!!! we were so upset! had to pay an extra $20 to park at universal. Hotel itself was just ok. kind of older.... We had stayed at the Lake Buena Vista and had such a great experience, we were just so disappointed here in comparison.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hfeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear hfeo,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our shuttle service. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Great hotel if all one cares is proximity to the Universal parks, good beds and a huge room with no frills. It was all we were looking for and we were quite happy about it. Forget about hotel services. There is no breakfast in property and the odds you will take all your luggage to the room are Huge. On the other hand, check in was ready faster than the speed of light, parking is easy and free and it costs 7 bucks by cab each way to the amusement parks. It was very easy and fast to reach my aimed destination.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ernesto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Found several cockroaches in our room and the night managers are extremely unhelpful. Also woke up in the middle of the night sweating bullets because the AC sucks. Would recommend Hyatt place right across the street. They are much better and affordable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leasindomino21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear Leasindomino21,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. It is a disappointment that we were not able to deliver on the cleanliness of the room as well as the air conditioning unit. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Once again, thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

this is a good standard hotel, staff were efficient and friendly, room was clean and good size..shows a little wear and tare which you would expect with a hotel that's obviously used especially by those wanting to go to universal..I wouldn't suggest walking as the road across is extremely busy...in all happy and would use again...

Room Tip: would guess the suites offer a better option always go for a higher room it's,quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glassmen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#121 of 339 in Orlando
469 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £43 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing