We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Universal Studio vistors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #170 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for Universal Studio vistors”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here over New Years 2013/14 for 7 nights with my girl friend. Overall, was a pleasant experience. We did not have any major issues with the place. My review of this hotel is highly influenced by the nightly rate, which was very cheap considering what you get.

We stayed in a standard deluxe room, with two beds. Room was clean and spacious. We did our own housekeeping due to traveller's paranoia, but our housekeeper was very friendly when we ran into her outside and got fresh towels when reuired. Sleep quality was fine for us, but I must say that rooms neared to the elevators must be annoying, as they are quite noisy.

Service was good, both at check in and out. We did not use any other services. For those wondering, there is a Disneyworld shuttle bus, but only at selected times. I've uploaded the times while we were staying there. The only downside is there is no late shuttle bus back, so if you want to stay for the fireworks, you'll have to cab it back, which is about $40 - $50. The service is free though, so can't complain too much, but this impacted our disneyworld experience.

On the upside, location was great when visiting Universal Studios. Only a quick10-20 minute walk, which meant you can take your time at the parks. However, we found it really hard to find good food places within walking distance. TGIF is terrible and expensive at dinner time (never went to breakfast). We found a Hooters, McDonalds and some other restaurants but ended up eating at the theme parks most nights instead which was expensive again.

Overall recommendation - great place to stay for visiting Universal Studios, but would recommend staying closer to Disneyworld if that is where you're staying the majority of your stay for more convinence and better food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jediRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thanks for writing the great feedback from your recent stay at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®.. We invite you back the next time you are in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    864
    396
    143
    127
See reviews for
980
533
49
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located across from Universal Studios. I suspect that due to the location and it's pet-friendly policy, that there are a lot of pets frequenting here.
The front desk is always backed up and it takes quite a while to check in. Upon getting our room key we dropped off our luggage in the room and turned the air as low as it could go - it was super stuffy in the room and reeked of heavy perfumes trying to cover up something. We left to get dinner and returned 2 hours later. The room wasn't any cooler and the smell was still overwhelming. I went to the desk to change rooms. We were upgraded to a suite (nice of them - but not worth the money if we were paying for it). The suite had the same problem, it wouldn't cool off and I started having a full-blown asthma attack that I couldn't get under control. While trying to see if there was a way to change to the nearby Holiday Inn Express, I realized that this particular hotel is pet-friendly, meaning people bring their dogs and CATS to the hotel while they play at Universal. Great for them, not so great for someone allergic to cats. So the housekeepers obviously try to cover up the smell but the combination of dander and horrible cleaners and scents was too much for me.
Management did issue a refund as there are no pet-free areas of the hotel. We checked out and checked in basically next door at the Holiday Inn Express (highly recommend them).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alexa_Faulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share information about your recent stay experience with us. We are extremely saddened that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as this will help us review areas of improvement opportunities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

let me start by saying this one of the best holiday inns I've stayed in. the lobby looked nearly renovated, and the staff were very friendly and always willing to help you. the room was big and spacious, the bed and pillows were very soft and clean. the bathroom looked newer and well maintained. the mini fridge was a blessing for little snacks to keep cool overnight. my only things no praising this hotel was there was no free breakfast included and there's slim picking of restaurants near the hotel. although you can walk to universal from this hotel it's about 15-20min walk so that's a major plus considering parking is 15$ + a day!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovemuffin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
We appreciate your kind words towards our location, friendly staff, and amenities at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. Please stop in again next time you visit the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently and have a very positive experience. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful and they have some very useful amenities for Universal Studios as a shuttle is available as well as the ability to purchase tickets on site.

The room was very clean which is, sadly, not as common as it used to be. Even the higher up ledges were free of dust. We did find the bedroom a bit dark with no overhead lighting but the main room did have some so it wasn't that surprising. What was surprising was that in a room with 2 beds there was only a single outlet on the bedside. After a short jousting match over who got the convenient location another wall outlet had to be located for the loser.

The rooms are also slightly dated including some popcorn ceilings as well as yellowing on some of the white appliances. The bathroom was a bit tight as the door swept in to the only clear area not occupied by a toilet or bathtub but it was manageable.

The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet and there was no annoying menu to navigate on the TV. The wireless also consistently recognized devices even after they went to sleep which meant not having to annoyingly reconnect and re-accept the terms and conditions every 5 minutes.

Overall I was very happy with the stay and would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
We thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. Thanks for your comments, as we use them to help our team continually provide an excellent experience for our guests. We look forward to having you as our guest again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My sister and I stay 3 night here while visiting universal studios. I called the hotel about a week before the trip to confirm the room and they only had me down for 2 nights not three. Seance I booked the trip as a universal studios package I call the park and they were able to fix the issue. I called the hotel back the next day and they had me down for 3 nights.
Once we arrived the check is was quick and easy. The lobby was inviting but the halls were very uninviting so bad that I was worried about the room being the same but the room was perfect bed were great, both of us slept great all 3 nights. The room was clean for the most part a small amount of mold in the shower other than that it was fine.
We eat at at the TGIfridays for dinner all three nights and breakfast all three mornings the dinner meals were great and the prices were very fare the breakfast was good too nothing special. The free wifi was great the first night slow the second night and didn't work the last night kinda a pain but didn't bother us too much.
The location was great for us a twenty minute walk to universal and iride trolley pickup right in front of the hotel. The front desk was very helpful with info and they let me print my boarding pass right from there computer right at the front counter without a fee.
I would highly recommend this hotel if visiting universal studios and don't want to stay at one of there very expensive resorts.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomaheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and our staff at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. TGI Fridays does offer great food and amazing drinks at our location, just down a hallway from our main lobby. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two weeks in November last year. The hotel was always clean and staff courteous. Our room was cleaned every day to high standard.

I would like to mention and thank Chris (Jacksonsville Jaguars fan) who drives for the company organised by the hotel who drove myself and boyfriend to Discovery Cove. When we hadn't rang for our return journey from Discovery Cove by an expected time, Chris had become a little concerned. So when we did ring to be picked up the dispatcher was aware of us and awaiting our call. It's that attention to detail that makes all of the difference :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank timothymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for the review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I was a guest at the hotel from January 2nd - January 9th. Staff are great, rooms are clean, and location was perfect. I would stay here again and also recommend this hotel to others. TGIF is horrible food and service, this restaurant needs to be replaced.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write and share such a wonderful review of our hotel. We are sorry that TGIF did not meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon next time your travels take you to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#125 of 339 in Orlando
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing