We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel to/from Park Options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #175 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 23 March 2014

While it would be nice to stay at one of the Universal hotels, for an inexpensive getaway, this hotel satisfied our stay in the area, for almost half the cost of staying on-campus. It's a pleasant 15-20 minute walk to park entrance, which felt safe both by day and night. There are also free shuttles to Universal/Islands of Adventure in the morning, and return options in the evening. Only drawback there was that it made a couple other stops, thus did not make it much faster than walking. Sign up the day before with guest services for shuttle passes. For a late-night visit to City Walk, we requested a taxi at the front desk… they have a car service they work with, which cost the same ($5 plus tip) and we were picked up in a black luxury SUV. Driver provided us a card to call at anytime for the return. Needless to say, there are plenty of options for transportation to and from the hotel and parks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSolorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We appreciate your words towards our location. We are looking forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

For me, this was one of those hotels that you really look forward to returning to. I agree with a previous reviewer- the location and staff make this hotel an awesome choice.

Before arriving at the hotel, I was under the impression that it was an easy walk to Universal. WELLLL, let me just say that "across the street" doesn't really mean "across the street". It's across a very busy intersection. THEN, you have to walk through, or around, or past a huge parking structure. Then that gets you to an entryway. Then you walk through City Walk. THEN you arrive at Universal or Islands of Adventure. Instead of all of this, I paid each day for a cab to take us to the entryway before CityWalk. $5 each time. I preferred that. After walking around and through the parks all day - my feet and ankles hurt majorly. So did my 8 year old son's. We could barely make it to the cab stand, let alone a 20 minute walk back to the hotel.

We had a one-bedroom suite and I loved it because it gave us each enough space. I wasn't forced into watching cartoons or Disney channels in the evening or during our down time in the hotel and he wasn't forced to watch my shows. We each had our own tv - one in the bedroom and one in the living room.

The staff is PHENOMENAL. Never once did I run into a staff member who didn't smile and say hello. Having a TGIFriday's attached to the hotel was awesome. You pick up a voucher from the front desk before each meal and your child eats free in the restaurant. Just don't go for breakfast. It was a clustered mess. We didn't receive our drinks (which were wrong when she brought them) until after we were finished with our buffet breakfast.

Our five nights here were fantastic. Beds comfortable and no, this hotel isn't as nice as a five-star, but we didn't require that. I will say that it was noisy. Doors to rooms slam shut and you can hear what is going on next door fairly easy. But we were so tired after our days in the theme park that we just passed out when it was bedtime anyway.

I will certainly return to this hotel and I look forward to doing it!

Room Tip: Choosing a suite is the best choice for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Meghuneyntyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for your comments! We are extremely pleased you have discovered that we are one of those hotels that you really look forward to returning. We are thrilled to learn your time with us was splendid, and we look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

As family of four we stayed for 4 night in early March 2014 in a one bedroom suite. The staff were exceptional friendly and helpful. With two teens we were mostly heading to Universal theme park which is a very pleasant 15 minute walk away. We took the shuttle he first day, but there really isn't any need. We also walked back to the CityWalk for dinner one evening though we chose a cab ($5) back to the hotel at night.
We had one Disney day and we were especially grateful to the Concierge desk that encouraged us to get to the Magic Kingdom mid day and to stay until nighttime. The electric light parade, the light show on the castle and the fireworks were fantastic and made that day worth while. We took the free shuttle there (leaves promptly at noon) and returned by cab ($45). To get a cab back from Disney, take the monorail to the Contemporary Hotel and the valet there will get you a cab right away. We stayed for the 10pm fireworks and got back to our hotel around11:30pm, so it was very quick way back and much faster then driving and parking.
We rented a car for our stay, but really that wasn't necessary though it did allow us to get to Agave Azul, a great Mexican restaurant above a mile down the road (probably a $5 cab ride).
We mostly used it when some of us took a day trip to the Kennedy Space Center which is a bout 1.5 hours away (they liked it).

All in all: great value, great location and friendly staff make this a perfect choice for visiting Universal. Unless you can pay for the on site resorts (that I explored and do look nice and fancy) I would suggest this hotel and a great alternative.

Room Tip: Suite has kitchen for easy breakfasts and snack preparation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MainLineExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

We are pleased to hear you and your family was comfortable and enjoyed the accommodations during your stay. Thanks for writing the great feedback. We invite you back the next time you are in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We read reviews on TripAdvisor before we went from March 1st to 8th. We didn't spend much time in the hotel room and this hotel was fine for what we needed it for.

Pros:
Really close to Universal Studios (took us 15 mins to walk) and about 10 mins to Seaworld and 15 mins to Disney. Also close to Outlet malls.
Beds are quite comfortable.
Rooms are spacious
Pool is heated

Cons:
The doors slam shut behind you when you leave the room so when your neighbors leave their rooms, it can be quite loud if they don't bother guiding the door shut.
You can hear everything- it's like there is no insulation at all.
The bathrooms are small.
The pillows are small and super soft.

If you visit the TGI Fridays attached to this hotel and want to have an alcoholic beverage, make sure you ask for a table in the bar. We sat in the restaurant the first time and it took 45 mins to get our drinks. I can't comment on the breakfast as we chose to eat elsewhere (IHOP, Dennys, and Perkins are all short drives away).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brewerangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. Your feedback is most valuable to us, as we take every opportunity to improve our physical conditions, services and associates performances. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Location across from Universal Orlando gates was perfect and the hotel provided a free shuttle service into the Universal complex if you didn't want to make the 15 minute walk. There is also a TGI Fridays attached which had an excellent breakfast special. Lastly it was adjacent to the Florida Tourist Bureau. All of this made it especially easy to go to the park every day.

We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival which was much appreciated and there is no charge for parking. The hallway carpets appeared to be new - however (and most likely due to the volume of tourists) the walls were pretty banged up and in need of paint. Plus the room doors had been over painted through the years and were in need of replacement. Lastly the bathrooms, closets and kitchenettes are all in need of upgrades. Having said that the rooms were clean and the linens and pillows were fresh (always a plus).

All things considered I would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for the review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found we offer the perfect place to stay for visiting Universal, or any of the other fun Orlando attractions. Looking forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel, the hotel is really clean and the staff very helpful. There is a TGIF attached to the hotel and the morning you could go for breakfast. Universal studios is really a 12 min. walk and 15 minutes to Magic Kingdom.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joann1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to having you as our guest again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I looked for a hotel that was a walk away from Universal Studios and Holiday Inn is perfect. It’s about 10-15 minutes walk away. I booked it as a package through Universal website and because it’s one of their preferred hotels we got an hour early entrance to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter (check out my review) and a discount for some of the Harry Potter merchandise.

Things I liked about the hotel:

- Very friendly reception staff.
- Free parking
- Free wifi
- Close to Universal Studios - 10-15 minutes walk.
- Very specious room

On the negative side, the cleaning staff was very loud at the corridors. They would come to our floor in the afternoon, just as we were coming back from Universal for a quick nap. I don’t know if that’s because we were on the last floor and they got there later or they just started cleaning later in the day. Some of them would talk on walky-talkies which made it even worse. Also, one night we could hear the neighbour from one of the rooms snore so I don’t think the sound insulation is very good.

I would give them another change if I can get a good deal and maybe just ask for a lower floor hoping that they clean those in the morning like most places do. Overall the experience was positive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to seeing you again next time you travel into the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#121 of 339 in Orlando
469 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £43 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing