We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely excellent from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #164 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I've just spent 10 days at this hotel with my son and just had to leave a review as all of the staff have been very friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome when we arrived. The room and facilities were excellent; have to say the beds and pillows were amazingly comfortable. We had a fantastic stay and if/when we come back to Orlando, we would definitely stay here again. Big thank you to everyone :-)

Room Tip: We had a twin room, which had two really comfortable good sized double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write and share such a wonderful review at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    829
    378
    132
    122
See reviews for
928
503
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is right across the street from Universal and offers a shuttle there. It is also close to Wet N Wild which we would recommend going to also. Many restaurants close by including TGIFridays right in the hotel. Kids eat free there, but you have to get a coupon everytime from the front desk. The hotel itself could use a little updating. The hallways and doors are a little worn. The pool was too warm. We met Titus who seemed to be in charge of the pool area and he was super nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejs192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thanks for writing your feedback from your recent stay at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We appreciate your kind words towards our friendly staff. We invite you back the next time you travel to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here 8-15 April 2014 and had no complaints at all. Upgraded to 2 bed suite, and would definitely book the same again next time. Lots of room for my family of four!! 15 minute walk to Universal was perfect, although only $5 in taxi if your feet are aching at the end of the day. Beds were made and towels changed every day. All staff were friendly and helpful, and even when TGI's was busy, having a drink at the bar while waiting for the table didn't make the wait seem too long. Just a short walk to other Alehouse if you want a change of scenery. Was a bit concerned after booking this hotel, and then reading other negative reviews (especially regarding pets and cleanliness) , but had absolutely no issues whatsoever. No indication at all that there had been any dogs/cats around and we have allergies. ... Would definitely recommend this hotel as a base for visiting Universal!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmfinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We’re thrilled that you had a great stay with and are pleased to hear you had a great time. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do! Please stop in again next time you visit the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the week of spring break. It is truly within walking distance of Universal. All be it the walk is about 15-20 minutes but not a difficult. Parking at Universal is expensive so we left the car and walked everyday. The TGIF attached to the restaurant is nice for an evening night cap. Some weekdays they have great specials in the bar. The front desk staff is helpful. Parking is free and there seemed to be plenty of it even on spring break. We had a small kitchenette which was very helpful. There is a Walmart of Kirkman Road about 3 miles from the hotel, where we stocked up on snacks.

The hotel is busy and the rooms are showing their age. The beds were clean and comfortable but there were several maintenance things that need to be addressed. As an example in our room several of the bureau's were missing their pull handles, the tub facet dripped and the caulking around the tub needed some work. Those items added to hit and miss housekeeping made me give it only three stars.

A couple other notes that did not effect me review of the hotel. The theme park folks that are on site ranged from helpful to downright odd. It really depended on who was at the desk and at least during our stay it was never the same person. Don't count on the shuttle to the theme park. The times are very limited. But again the major plus about this hotel is you can walk there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your comments! We are looking forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights while in Orlando. I chose the hotel due to it's location beside universal and I'm happy I did!! The hotel is literally just around the corner from universal and they lay on buses to and from the park daily for free which was great! They also lay on a free bus for disney but they are not as frequent, but I also took advantage of that. The hotel it's self was a little date but the room was huge! We had two queen size beds, a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, tv and all other things needed like a hair dryer, iron etc was there. The bathroom was big also but once again the decor was pretty dated. The reception staff were so friendly and they even allowed me to check in 3 hours early (which was great as it allowed me more time at Universal:)) They also have a desk where you can buy your tickets for the parks, which I recommend doing as it saves you time waiting and queuing to do so at the park. There isn't really anything near by the hotels other than a TGI's and a few other shops. So if you don't drive you don't really have much to visit. I would definitely stay here again if I was ever back in Orlando to visit the theme parks.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share such your. We are glad you have discovered that we offer the perfect place to stay for visiting Universal or any of the other fun Orlando themed attractions. We invite you to stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is such a good location for visiting Universal Studios. Even though we had a hire car we walked in on the first day, took the free hotel shuttle on the second, and used the car for our third visit. The room was comfortable and clean and had a coffee maker, microwave and a very useful fridge. We were on the 10th floor and had no trouble with elevators, never waiting more than a minute or two. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, with one or two exceptions. One criticism is that when we arrived, extremely tired after a long flight, there was no help to unload our luggage even though there was a porter at the entrance. On the whole we enjoyed our stay and would definitely use the hotel again. There was free wifi in the rooms which was very useful.

Room Tip: As far as we were aware there were no restaurants within walking distance except TGI Fridays which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vetsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®, and discovered we offer the perfect location while visiting Universal, or any of the other fun Orlando attractions. We appreciate your comments regarding luggage assistance. We do have scheduled during select times a dedicated bell person, and when not scheduled, our entire Team of Engineers, Security Officers, Front Desk Agents, and Management are standing by to assist with any guest luggage assistance request. We look forward to seeing you again soon next time your travels take you to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The statement "does what it says on the tin" perfectly sums this hotel up. Too many times people pay budget hotel prices, expect five star standards and then review accordingly. Reception staff were excellent, we were booked in quickly, handed our car park pass, given the Wi-Fi password and directions to our room. Room was ok, there is a microwave, fridge, coffee machine and an iron. Rooms were cleaned daily. The TGI Fridays on site is ok, but there is a Millers Ale House, A Golden Corral and a Chinese restaurant within a ten minute walk. Universal is only a fifteen minute walk away, which saves 17 dollars for parking. Pool area was clean. Would rank this hotel 3.5 out of five. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for sharing the great experience you had while staying with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#111 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing