We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #170 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overnight stay for business”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

As a former resident of Orlando for 25 years, I am aware that the hotels in the attraction areas are generally filled to the brim with the ubiquitous tourists. I attended a convention nearby, but chose to not stay at the host hotel. Since I had a satisfactory stay at this same property a month ago, I decided to stay again. The front desk staff is courteous, friendly and efficient. Both times, I received an upgrade to a suite, which helped with the noise of children (and partying adults) playing and talking loudly in the hallway (and as a business traveler of many years, I always find myself wondering if these casual travelers slam their doors at home, too!). I opted this time to order room service from the adjoining restaurant (TGI Fridays) and received my meal very quickly. It was very good. Upon checkout, I met Ms. Brenda Liz, who was just delightful, as was the gentleman who checked me in! I have never encountered anything but good old fashioned hospitality at this h. I won't hotel. I won't hesitate to stay again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenEnglish_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing the great experience you had while staying with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    863
    396
    143
    127
See reviews for
980
533
49
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 10 nights here and had an excellent stay. On arrival we were allocated a smoking room, which as a non-smoking family was not pleasant as the room smelled strongly of smoke. One of us popped down to reception where they were incredibly helpful and helped us to change room immediately. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Although the rooms have recently been painted in contemporary colours with contemporary bedding, the rooms still feel a little dated as the walls and ceiling are either woodchip or artex. The beds are very comfy and the room has everything you need including ironing board, iron, tea and coffee, microwave and fridge, flatscreen tv and hairdryer. Towels and drinks were replenished every day. The location is great and close to all major attractions. A little bit noisy in regard to being able to hear next door and doors slamming, but because there is so much to do in Orlando, you're so tired that the noise doesn't have too much effect! Really excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for posting such great review. We are thrilled to learn your time with us was splendid, and we invite you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 3 and have just spent 14 days in this hotel. Usually we stay in the Hilton hotels on the I-drive but this matched up to their standards. The check in was fast and the room was spotless for the entire stay.The teas and coffees were not refilled daily but a quick call to reception soon resolved the issue and the items were delivered to our room within 10 minutes every time we called. The only negative I can say is the cleaning staff were not very friendly, was in a lift a couple of times with 3 cleaners and they never even acknowledged us and carried on talking in their language. If you like the Universal Parks this hotel is ideally situated for this reason, the I-drive was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel so you have easy access to the I-trolley. For all of the other parks free transportation is provided and can save you a small fortune. We never ate at the adjoining TGI restaurant but it was always busy so must be popular. Cab fares were $5 to Universal, $12 to the Premium Outlet Mall, $15 to the central point of the I-drive and $40 from Disney. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd-Fogerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to having you as our guest again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I've just spent 10 days at this hotel with my son and just had to leave a review as all of the staff have been very friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome when we arrived. The room and facilities were excellent; have to say the beds and pillows were amazingly comfortable. We had a fantastic stay and if/when we come back to Orlando, we would definitely stay here again. Big thank you to everyone :-)

Room Tip: We had a twin room, which had two really comfortable good sized double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write and share such a wonderful review at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is right across the street from Universal and offers a shuttle there. It is also close to Wet N Wild which we would recommend going to also. Many restaurants close by including TGIFridays right in the hotel. Kids eat free there, but you have to get a coupon everytime from the front desk. The hotel itself could use a little updating. The hallways and doors are a little worn. The pool was too warm. We met Titus who seemed to be in charge of the pool area and he was super nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejs192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thanks for writing your feedback from your recent stay at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We appreciate your kind words towards our friendly staff. We invite you back the next time you travel to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here 8-15 April 2014 and had no complaints at all. Upgraded to 2 bed suite, and would definitely book the same again next time. Lots of room for my family of four!! 15 minute walk to Universal was perfect, although only $5 in taxi if your feet are aching at the end of the day. Beds were made and towels changed every day. All staff were friendly and helpful, and even when TGI's was busy, having a drink at the bar while waiting for the table didn't make the wait seem too long. Just a short walk to other Alehouse if you want a change of scenery. Was a bit concerned after booking this hotel, and then reading other negative reviews (especially regarding pets and cleanliness) , but had absolutely no issues whatsoever. No indication at all that there had been any dogs/cats around and we have allergies. ... Would definitely recommend this hotel as a base for visiting Universal!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmfinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We’re thrilled that you had a great stay with and are pleased to hear you had a great time. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do! Please stop in again next time you visit the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the week of spring break. It is truly within walking distance of Universal. All be it the walk is about 15-20 minutes but not a difficult. Parking at Universal is expensive so we left the car and walked everyday. The TGIF attached to the restaurant is nice for an evening night cap. Some weekdays they have great specials in the bar. The front desk staff is helpful. Parking is free and there seemed to be plenty of it even on spring break. We had a small kitchenette which was very helpful. There is a Walmart of Kirkman Road about 3 miles from the hotel, where we stocked up on snacks.

The hotel is busy and the rooms are showing their age. The beds were clean and comfortable but there were several maintenance things that need to be addressed. As an example in our room several of the bureau's were missing their pull handles, the tub facet dripped and the caulking around the tub needed some work. Those items added to hit and miss housekeeping made me give it only three stars.

A couple other notes that did not effect me review of the hotel. The theme park folks that are on site ranged from helpful to downright odd. It really depended on who was at the desk and at least during our stay it was never the same person. Don't count on the shuttle to the theme park. The times are very limited. But again the major plus about this hotel is you can walk there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your comments! We are looking forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#125 of 339 in Orlando
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing