We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,472)
Filter reviews
2,472 results
Traveller rating
654
997
469
178
174
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
654
997
469
178
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tgi fridays kirkman road minute walk kids eat free stayed at the holiday inn free shuttle upgraded to a suite golden corral breakfast buffet one bedroom suite universal orlando city walk two double beds international drive booked this hotel fridge and microwave gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
1,104 - 1,109 of 2,472 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

When I was going to take a shower in the morning I found a woman's lingerie on my shower curtain. Called the front desk and was asked to talk to the manager, I did not have time because I had to leave early. The manager sent me an email about the complaint and you know the rest of the story .... Anyway, the hotel has a free shuttle bus to Universal Orlando (I don't know whether they have buses to other amusement park or not, I believe they have). If you want to you can walk to Universal Orlando (which I always did). The way the bus works is you have to go to the Universal Orlando by the bus so you can come back to the hotel by the bus. The bus fills quickly so book a seat the night before. There is a TGIF restaurant next to the hotel.

They also have a self-service laundry room. There is a soap dispenser and a bill changer also.

Room tip: Ask for a higher floor rooms. But if you take the room on the ground floor it is closer to do the laundry.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhapsoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for choosing to stay with us this time while visiting the Orlando area. Please accept our sincere apologies that we missed an article of clothing from a previous guest. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here last week. Great location for Universal Studios. Not for walking there though. 5 mins in the car.
TGi's on site which is handy. Beds are fantastic and choice of pillows is great. Best nights sleep at any hotels for years!
Rooms only have 5 coat hangers which is rubbish. 9 sun beds round the pool which is pathetic for the size of the hotel. I did tell them this on check out and they said thanks for the feedback.
Free wifi which was great for keeping the phone bill down.
Would recommend a stay here but we would stay elsewhere as like a change on every visit to Florida.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TheBoyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for our future guests to read. We are happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and our staff at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Could not fault the hotel at all. We arrived 6 hours late due to a delay at Gatwick with Thomson. Receptionist told us that we had 2 reservations, one for five nights and one for fourteen nights. After that was sorted out we got to our room and found that it was a smoking room, we had asked for non smoking. The receptionist apologised and asked if we could stay in the room for 1 night as there were no rooms available. Good to her word we were upgraded to a suite on the 9th floor the following morning. We were near the lifts, so you could hear them going up/down but we were so knackered it didn't make that much difference to sleep quality.Room was clean and facilities were good. Air Conditioning in rooms also good. We used the guest Laundry facility a couple of times (had no dirty washing when we got back except for the travelling clothes). Both Washing machines and dryers were $2 in quarters. (Washing took 27 minutes, dryer about 45 minutes). Pool area was clean and comfortable although we only used this once. Location of Hotel is perfect for those who are concentrating on universal as its only about a 10-15 minute walk and there are crossings to cross the busy kirkman road. There is an trolley/Lynx stop outside the hotel where you can get to international drive and outlet malls easily.

Room tip: If you are a very light sleeper ask to be clear of the lifts
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks for writing the great feedback from your recent stay at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are pleased you have discovered we offer the perfect place to stay for visiting Universal, or any of the other fun Orlando attractions. We invite you back to stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What can we say but a BIG BIG THANK for making our 2 weeks vacation absolutely fabulous.

The service my wife and I received was just AWESOME. The friendliness, courtesy and attention to detail from the team was fantastic.

Nothing was too much for the staff. The rooms were really clean and tidy and a BIG Thank You to the housemaids.

Thank you to Mr David Hall the manager, the front desk team of Lesh, Sandra, Haggie, Yamil, Hamid and Shairee, Brenda and Liz were just BRILLIANT.

Thank you for making our vacation so wonderful.

Partha and Jane
UK

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adultcpl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to having you as our guest again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hotel is clean and comfortable, our suite was nice with beds particularly lovely! Short walk to Universal Studios and 20 min drive to Disney World. Pool very nice, especially welcome after busy days in the parks. Internet is not the best but it is free which I don't often encounter! Reception staff mostly very friendly and helpful. Was a bit worried about not having a safe in the room but was able to access the one we were allocated at reception at any time with absolutely no problems. At the end of a very long day at Disney/Universal all we wanted was to put the TV on, shower and sleep so this hotel suited our needs perfectly. TGIs next door is also very handy when you don't have the energy to go further afield. Would stay again!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erica_12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your comments! We are pleased to hear you were comfortable and enjoyed the accommodations during your stay at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We invite you to stop in again next time you visit the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews