We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,416)
Filter reviews
2,416 results
Traveller rating
641
978
460
170
167
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
978
460
170
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tgi fridays kirkman road minute walk stayed at the holiday inn kids eat free free shuttle upgraded to a suite golden corral breakfast buffet city walk one bedroom suite universal orlando two double beds full size fridge international drive shuttle service gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
1,041 - 1,046 of 2,416 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just back from the Holiday Inn & Suites, my husband and I had a brilliant time. The hotel is clean and tidy, the staff are excellent and the location for Universal Studios is amazing. Just to be clear, the parking structure you see from the hotel is the Universal Studios and Island of Adventures car park. It is a very slow 15 minute walk to get to the bag check area just before you enter the park. Also, if you don't want to walk, the hotel runs a complimentary shuttle bus to Universal, Island of Adventure, Wet and Wild, Sea World and Aquatica, I believe it also runs some to the Disney resorts as well. So you really don't need a car.

If you decide to get a car, then be very careful and challenge everything. When we picked up our car, they tried to add on all sort of extras, e.g., toll passes, don't be fooled, unless you are intending driving a lot, don't buy this. Also, challenged the cost of the upgrade, we got ours for free, along with a discount on the additional driver. However, for ease of return, it's worthwhile paying for the prepaid fuel. I wouldn't get a bigger car again, we ended up in a people carrier.

When we go back to Orlando, we will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites again.

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ET0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your comments! We’re thrilled that you had a great stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward in seeing you again the next time you visit the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great Locatiion if your visiting Universal Studios. 10 - 15 min walk, couldn't be easier. Across the road, which is very busy, take care! And straight up and then turn left and walk for 5 mins and your there. Didn't us the shuttle we were told it takes longer to get there? This and the Double Tree are the closest hotels unless you want to stay and pay the price of the Universal Hotels. Great location and cost, we booked through Thomas Cook for the hotel only and paid for a deluxe room, 4 nights £166.86. for the 3 of us. The room is spacious and well laid out but the aircon was noisy and no safe in the room!! We were surprised by this and asked reception. Reception have safety deposit boxes behind reception but here's the thing, 390 rooms and 10 safety deposit boxes I believe. The hotel leaves a disclaimer in your room excepting no responsibility for your valuables and recommend you get a safe deposit box, but then can't give you one when you want one. We weren't happy at the thought of carrying our money and valuables around with us but fortunately a box became available the next day. Put your name down..
Apart from that the hotel is great for a short stay to visit Universal.
The bus stop is across the road for the bus to take you down international drive and to the outlet shopping centres, you do need to change buses though to the red ones at stop 7 by WET and Wild. They stop running at 10.30 though so becarefull if you go out for a meal, we had to get a taxi back from the top end of international drive and it cost $20.
Budget car hire in reception which is handy, we booked a car with Budget in the UK to take us on from Orlando and having the office in the hotel was great. Fridays is next to the hotel and children get a free breakfast with adults.
Would use this hotel again for location but also would check out the Double Tree if only for the safe.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with two double beds is great if you have children rather than a sofa bed.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for our future guests to read. We do invite you back to stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel, the room was quite good size but bed was extremely small for 2 people. There were constantly dirty dishes on the corners of the hallway attractng flies, in every corridor you have several vending machines incredible loud noisy that we could hear throughtout the night.
I was also shocked when told at check-in that tey serve breakfast for a $14 per person at the TGI fridays next door, when they clearly advertise to include breakfast buffet!
The stay was expensive, and really, you better off driving to universal yourself, their free shuffle runs only twice a day from 9am to 10pm and from 6pm to 8pm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

It is of deepest regret to learn that your recent stay with us was anything less than exceptional. We appreciate that you took the time to provide this feedback. Our hotel holds a high level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We sincerely hope you will allow us an opportunity during a future stay to rebuild your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just returned from a stay, we had a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite. Everything was wonderful. I can't say enough about the staff super friendly and helpful. The free shuttle to Universal runs at various times and is complmentary, this is fantastic, however you can walk across it is that close. There are several restaurants in the area. Just park your car for the duration unless you plan on exploring. We are season pass holders for Universal that this is so convienent, we will definately come again. My only con is I wish they would upgrade their coffee machines in the room to something like a Keurig, what they have is just ok however the coffee is terrible. The rooms and hotel are immaculate great beds no complaints other than the suggestion about the coffee machine in room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelertoday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for sharing the great experience you had while staying with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are pleased you found our staff super friendly and helpful. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a one room suite with a king bed. It was a very nice hotel, clean and friendly staff. Would recommend it. Great location, food places aren't far, literally across the street from Universal studios. Also, Fridays does room service.

Room Tip: Suite was super nice
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We are happy to hear you had a great time. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do! We are looking forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews