We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here 24th May to 7th June.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #168 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed on the 10th floor in a two bedroom suite. It was clean and tidy and although the bathrooms were dated they were very adequate. The beds were lovely and comfy and it was very quiet, we didn't hear any outside noise at all. It is within walking distance of Universal, we walked quite a few times. If you do get a taxi, we often walked there and got a taxi back, it's about $5. The shuttle to Disney left at 7.20am or 9.50am which was fine, but it didn't pick you up until 8pm or 10.30pm, which we found was too late. It is then quite a trek to get back via buses!
Going back to the hotel, I used the laundry room twice and found it very useful. $2 for wash and $2 for use of a large dryer! Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We managed to get a safety deposit box on the second day for the rest of our stay, but I don't think there are enough for every room, so this could be a problem at busy times. The pool was lovely, although there aren't many loungers, so wasn't always able to sunbathe. We would definitely stay again, the two bedroom suites are enormous!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Tracie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for posting such great review of the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are thrilled to learn your time with us was splendid, and we look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just back from the Holiday Inn & Suites, my husband and I had a brilliant time. The hotel is clean and tidy, the staff are excellent and the location for Universal Studios is amazing. Just to be clear, the parking structure you see from the hotel is the Universal Studios and Island of Adventures car park. It is a very slow 15 minute walk to get to the bag check area just before you enter the park. Also, if you don't want to walk, the hotel runs a complimentary shuttle bus to Universal, Island of Adventure, Wet and Wild, Sea World and Aquatica, I believe it also runs some to the Disney resorts as well. So you really don't need a car.

If you decide to get a car, then be very careful and challenge everything. When we picked up our car, they tried to add on all sort of extras, e.g., toll passes, don't be fooled, unless you are intending driving a lot, don't buy this. Also, challenged the cost of the upgrade, we got ours for free, along with a discount on the additional driver. However, for ease of return, it's worthwhile paying for the prepaid fuel. I wouldn't get a bigger car again, we ended up in a people carrier.

When we go back to Orlando, we will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites again.

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ET0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your comments! We’re thrilled that you had a great stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward in seeing you again the next time you visit the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great Locatiion if your visiting Universal Studios. 10 - 15 min walk, couldn't be easier. Across the road, which is very busy, take care! And straight up and then turn left and walk for 5 mins and your there. Didn't us the shuttle we were told it takes longer to get there? This and the Double Tree are the closest hotels unless you want to stay and pay the price of the Universal Hotels. Great location and cost, we booked through Thomas Cook for the hotel only and paid for a deluxe room, 4 nights £166.86. for the 3 of us. The room is spacious and well laid out but the aircon was noisy and no safe in the room!! We were surprised by this and asked reception. Reception have safety deposit boxes behind reception but here's the thing, 390 rooms and 10 safety deposit boxes I believe. The hotel leaves a disclaimer in your room excepting no responsibility for your valuables and recommend you get a safe deposit box, but then can't give you one when you want one. We weren't happy at the thought of carrying our money and valuables around with us but fortunately a box became available the next day. Put your name down..
Apart from that the hotel is great for a short stay to visit Universal.
The bus stop is across the road for the bus to take you down international drive and to the outlet shopping centres, you do need to change buses though to the red ones at stop 7 by WET and Wild. They stop running at 10.30 though so becarefull if you go out for a meal, we had to get a taxi back from the top end of international drive and it cost $20.
Budget car hire in reception which is handy, we booked a car with Budget in the UK to take us on from Orlando and having the office in the hotel was great. Fridays is next to the hotel and children get a free breakfast with adults.
Would use this hotel again for location but also would check out the Double Tree if only for the safe.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with two double beds is great if you have children rather than a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for our future guests to read. We do invite you back to stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel, the room was quite good size but bed was extremely small for 2 people. There were constantly dirty dishes on the corners of the hallway attractng flies, in every corridor you have several vending machines incredible loud noisy that we could hear throughtout the night.
I was also shocked when told at check-in that tey serve breakfast for a $14 per person at the TGI fridays next door, when they clearly advertise to include breakfast buffet!
The stay was expensive, and really, you better off driving to universal yourself, their free shuffle runs only twice a day from 9am to 10pm and from 6pm to 8pm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

It is of deepest regret to learn that your recent stay with us was anything less than exceptional. We appreciate that you took the time to provide this feedback. Our hotel holds a high level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We sincerely hope you will allow us an opportunity during a future stay to rebuild your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just returned from a stay, we had a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite. Everything was wonderful. I can't say enough about the staff super friendly and helpful. The free shuttle to Universal runs at various times and is complmentary, this is fantastic, however you can walk across it is that close. There are several restaurants in the area. Just park your car for the duration unless you plan on exploring. We are season pass holders for Universal that this is so convienent, we will definately come again. My only con is I wish they would upgrade their coffee machines in the room to something like a Keurig, what they have is just ok however the coffee is terrible. The rooms and hotel are immaculate great beds no complaints other than the suggestion about the coffee machine in room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelertoday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for sharing the great experience you had while staying with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are pleased you found our staff super friendly and helpful. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a one room suite with a king bed. It was a very nice hotel, clean and friendly staff. Would recommend it. Great location, food places aren't far, literally across the street from Universal studios. Also, Fridays does room service.

Room Tip: Suite was super nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowlingpenguin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We are happy to hear you had a great time. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do! We are looking forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This Hotel is close to Universal and Islands of adventure. Also has many restaurants close by. For travel there is easy on access to major highways taking you where ever you may want to go.The staff were friendly and location was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We strive to provide an extremely comfortable, clean and friendly environment. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the accommodations during your stay at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We invite you back the next time you are in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
The Point Hotel & Suites
#19 of 341 in Orlando
4,884 reviews
Clarion Inn & Suites
#141 of 341 in Orlando
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £69 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing