We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Nearby Hotels
US$353
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$139
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$267
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caribe Royale Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
US$232
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marriott's Grande Vista(Orlando)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$346
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$511
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$277
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$393
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,255)
Filter reviews
2,255 results
Traveller rating
594
926
432
159
144
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
926
432
159
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstgi fridayskirkman roadminute walkstayed at the holiday innupgraded to a suitekids eat freefree shuttlegolden corralcity walkbreakfast buffetguest servicesone bedroom suiteuniversal orlandotwo double bedsinternational driveshuttle servicegift shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
907 - 912 of 2,255 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights and arrived very early in the morning. The hotel had the room ready early and let us right up.
The room was clean and comfortable with lots of room.
We used the hotel laundromat which was handy and ate at the TGI's connected to the hotel. They had a great breakfast program set up and it was amazing value with delicious food.

We went to Universal Studios and it was only walking distance away however there was also a bus option for those who didn't want to walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you travel into the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed on the 10th floor in a two bedroom suite. It was clean and tidy and although the bathrooms were dated they were very adequate. The beds were lovely and comfy and it was very quiet, we didn't hear any outside noise at all. It is within walking distance of Universal, we walked quite a few times. If you do get a taxi, we often walked there and got a taxi back, it's about $5. The shuttle to Disney left at 7.20am or 9.50am which was fine, but it didn't pick you up until 8pm or 10.30pm, which we found was too late. It is then quite a trek to get back via buses!
Going back to the hotel, I used the laundry room twice and found it very useful. $2 for wash and $2 for use of a large dryer! Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We managed to get a safety deposit box on the second day for the rest of our stay, but I don't think there are enough for every room, so this could be a problem at busy times. The pool was lovely, although there aren't many loungers, so wasn't always able to sunbathe. We would definitely stay again, the two bedroom suites are enormous!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Tracie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for posting such great review of the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are thrilled to learn your time with us was splendid, and we look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just back from the Holiday Inn & Suites, my husband and I had a brilliant time. The hotel is clean and tidy, the staff are excellent and the location for Universal Studios is amazing. Just to be clear, the parking structure you see from the hotel is the Universal Studios and Island of Adventures car park. It is a very slow 15 minute walk to get to the bag check area just before you enter the park. Also, if you don't want to walk, the hotel runs a complimentary shuttle bus to Universal, Island of Adventure, Wet and Wild, Sea World and Aquatica, I believe it also runs some to the Disney resorts as well. So you really don't need a car.

If you decide to get a car, then be very careful and challenge everything. When we picked up our car, they tried to add on all sort of extras, e.g., toll passes, don't be fooled, unless you are intending driving a lot, don't buy this. Also, challenged the cost of the upgrade, we got ours for free, along with a discount on the additional driver. However, for ease of return, it's worthwhile paying for the prepaid fuel. I wouldn't get a bigger car again, we ended up in a people carrier.

When we go back to Orlando, we will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites again.

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ET0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your comments! We’re thrilled that you had a great stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward in seeing you again the next time you visit the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great Locatiion if your visiting Universal Studios. 10 - 15 min walk, couldn't be easier. Across the road, which is very busy, take care! And straight up and then turn left and walk for 5 mins and your there. Didn't us the shuttle we were told it takes longer to get there? This and the Double Tree are the closest hotels unless you want to stay and pay the price of the Universal Hotels. Great location and cost, we booked through Thomas Cook for the hotel only and paid for a deluxe room, 4 nights £166.86. for the 3 of us. The room is spacious and well laid out but the aircon was noisy and no safe in the room!! We were surprised by this and asked reception. Reception have safety deposit boxes behind reception but here's the thing, 390 rooms and 10 safety deposit boxes I believe. The hotel leaves a disclaimer in your room excepting no responsibility for your valuables and recommend you get a safe deposit box, but then can't give you one when you want one. We weren't happy at the thought of carrying our money and valuables around with us but fortunately a box became available the next day. Put your name down..
Apart from that the hotel is great for a short stay to visit Universal.
The bus stop is across the road for the bus to take you down international drive and to the outlet shopping centres, you do need to change buses though to the red ones at stop 7 by WET and Wild. They stop running at 10.30 though so becarefull if you go out for a meal, we had to get a taxi back from the top end of international drive and it cost $20.
Budget car hire in reception which is handy, we booked a car with Budget in the UK to take us on from Orlando and having the office in the hotel was great. Fridays is next to the hotel and children get a free breakfast with adults.
Would use this hotel again for location but also would check out the Double Tree if only for the safe.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with two double beds is great if you have children rather than a sofa bed.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for our future guests to read. We do invite you back to stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel, the room was quite good size but bed was extremely small for 2 people. There were constantly dirty dishes on the corners of the hallway attractng flies, in every corridor you have several vending machines incredible loud noisy that we could hear throughtout the night.
I was also shocked when told at check-in that tey serve breakfast for a $14 per person at the TGI fridays next door, when they clearly advertise to include breakfast buffet!
The stay was expensive, and really, you better off driving to universal yourself, their free shuffle runs only twice a day from 9am to 10pm and from 6pm to 8pm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

It is of deepest regret to learn that your recent stay with us was anything less than exceptional. We appreciate that you took the time to provide this feedback. Our hotel holds a high level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We sincerely hope you will allow us an opportunity during a future stay to rebuild your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews