We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not even there yet....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #170 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My boyfriend and I separately called the front desk just to ask some questions. When you call, sometimes you'll have to try a few times before someone answers. Every time we actually spoke to someone, they answered as if we were interrupting them from a nap or something or answered as if we were suppose to already know the answers. We are only calling because we are considering switching from another hotel with much better customer service, to this one which is much closer to universal with not so great customer service so far. Not sure what we will do....

*again, I have not traveled yet*

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Faydubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Please accept our apology for the disappointment. We value our guest’s feedback and strive to ensure that our guest service exceeds our guest expectations. We will be reviewing your comments with our team to ensure our phone service is consistent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

You get what you paid for. I booked it for the convenience to Universal Studios. But when you are w/ a child that 10-15 min walk seems like a lifetime. The shuttle bus takes even longer since it picks up fr about 5 hotels after. My issues our room never seemed clean enough. And they skimp on everything including wash cloths. I would not stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank 192aliciar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as this will help us review areas of opportunity for continuous improvement. I would like to discuss this matter with you further, please contact me at the hotel at your convenience.
David Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is exactly what you would expect from an holiday inn in the UK I.e a tidy and clean hotel with pleasant staff members which you go back to during the evening to have a good sleep before dealing with the next days activities, if you want to live in the hotel during your trip then this place likely isn't for you.

We stayed in the hotel with another couple, us on the 2nd floor (non smoking), them on the 6th floor (smoking) neither of us could fault the room, both rooms contained 2x queen sized beds, fridge, microwave, coffee maker (you can use it for hot water only) with an en-suite. All of the rooms were spotless with visits from the maids daily, bath towels are also included. Car parking is also included. We also had a courtesy from the desk on our first night asking if everything was ok with the room which is good customer service.

The hotels location is fairly conveniently for people with/without a car:

Universal/City walk is 0.8 miles away (yes you can walk it and the walk is fairly pleasant once you got across the main road outside of the hotel).

The I trolley bus for the green line south is directly opposite the hotel, you go to stop 7 (from memory double check this) and get onto the red line which takes you all the way down international drive, make sure to buy a full ticket so you can hop on / off whenever for both the green / red line, it's around $7 or so for 3 days of travel.

For drivers, the I4 is pretty much outside the hotel so you can get anywhere easily. We drove and never had trouble parking at the hotel, the car park is pretty huge, you just need to ask for a pass at reception.

Shops can be found across the rd, 0.3 miles or so) there is a Walgreens , Dominoes and a few other things.

Improvements that would be a bonus for a stay in the future:
1. Bigger swimming pool area
2. Safes in the room

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gadge E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

we stayed here on 24th may for 2 weeks and was very happy with the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful the rooms were clean and tidy, some people on hare are saying they were dated but our room was great. the hotel was in great location only 15 mins walk to universal studios, i would recommend if possible upgrading to a suite which had two bedrooms and lounge kitchen area, all had modern flat screen tv in every room and because we were on the top floor it was very quiet, the beds were very comfortable and bathrooms of which we had two were clean and tidy. the hotel had an outdoor swimming pool which was ok however there wasn't really enough loungers around the pool area for the amount of people using it but other than that the four of us had a very enjoyable stay here and would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: would recommend if you are a family of 4 getting an upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and our staff at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

On arrival to holiday inn & suites 5905 kirkman road on Sunday1st june to commence our family holiday,i was met at the reception by a lovely manager that was on Duty he was extremely helpful and had lovely customer relation skills and he upgraded us to a suite without any extra cost,this hotel for us was perfect in every way,staff was helpful and friendly,top marks from me,keep up the good work guys...holiday

should be proud to have such a fabulous team ,helen from ireland

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank helen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel had an okay location, but the rooms are out of date and need some upgrades.

The bathtub was VERY small and squatty, it was not optimal for a ten day stay.

The pool area had only SEVEN sun lounge chairs which made for a lacking pool experience. For a hotel of this size it was just ridiculous.

Employees were very friendly.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahjean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay experience with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. Comments such as yours provide us with a valuable feedback in identifying areas that we can improve upon. We look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After reading through many other reviews which gave quite a good impression on the hotel we thought we would stay here. Firstly upon arrival we asked for a safe box which we did not receive we then asked a further 5 times throughout our stay and still did not get one! We stayed in this hotel for two weeks, the rooms and maid service was excellent, nice and spacious rooms which we found up to date. Really good location for Universal although if you do plan on doing Disney I would strongly recommend not staying at this hotel. There were two buses one at 7:20am and 9:50am which were ok times although you then had to wait till 8pm or 10:30pm to get back!!!!! We found trying to leave the park and get back to the hotel ourselves a nightmare catching numerous buses which was an absolute nightmare. The pool area was small and only had 7 sun beds for a big hotel this was just stupid. Not much to do around the hotel, Overall would not recommend or stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you very much for choosing us during your recent stay. We are disheartened to hear that your experience left you with a negative impression of our Hotel. We apologize that we have missed the level of service our guests have come to expect from us. We will use your valuable feedback as opportunity to improve the quality of our Hotel experience for all. We remain hopeful you might stay with us again so we may rebuild your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#149 of 340 in Orlando
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Hotel & Suites
#19 of 340 in Orlando
4,948 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £70 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing