We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay close to universal studios”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #167 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay close to universal studios”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family and I stayed here for one night. We were spending our vacation in Clearwater but since we wanted to go to universal studios we decided to get a hotel close by so we could hit the park early in the morning and only have to travel one way each day. We found the hotel very nice. The room was clean. The staff was helpful and polite. The pool was heated and was clean. Best of all it was directly across the street from Universal Studios.
If I had to identify why I give 4 stars instead of 5 I suppose it's due to the pestering woman near the front desk who tries to lure you into timeshare nonsense. She is obviously renting space from the hotel to do her marketing or something of that nature but she was very hard to get away from. She tried to lure us in with cheap theme park tickets but you have to sacrifice pretty much a whole day's vacation to a time share meeting in order to get them. I feel sorry for the people with children who get sucked into this stuff. For most people vacation time is extremely valuable and this woman must find it hard to sleep at night after robbing families and children of their quite possibly once in a lifetime vacation to be sitting listening to a time share meeting.

Sorry for the rant on that but it did upset me. Other than that this is a great place to stay when visiting universal studios.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thanks for writing the great feedback from your recent stay at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are glad you have discovered that we do offer the perfect location to stay while visiting Universal, or any of the other fun Orlando attractions. We invite you back the next time you are in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    839
    382
    135
    123
See reviews for
938
514
48
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great stay at the Holiday Inn across from Universal studios. If you have a family coming to Universal studios park, the stay here at this park saves you $300 (no car) as you walk to the park. Great staff and excellent service. I showed up 1 day early (accidently) to what I actually booked and the staff took care of me and my family got me a suite. How about that for service. This place rocks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tman8458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your comments! We’re thrilled that you had a great stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are happy to hear you had a great time. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do! Please stop in again next time you visit the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn across from Universal late April/early May 2014 (end of Easter).

We booked a one bedroom suite for two single women, so we'd each have our own space.

The hotel was easy to find and has free parking.

The reception area is fine, it has a waiting area with tv plus a games room just round the corner. It also has two further desks that you use to book the complimentary shuttles and to buy Park tickets. We used both desks and the staff were great. The general reception staff got used to seeing us pretty quickly as we had one of the last safes/lock boxes (which we used for our laptop etc every day).

Safes - this a bit of a sore subject at this hotel. They still have safety deposit type safes at this hotel; they're located in a room behind reception... and there are only about 20/30 of them (we were lucky to get one).

The carpets and general decor of this hotel in the public areas (other than reception) could do with updating; there was bit of a musty smell for a few days from the carpet, but they saw to this and had the whole area cleaned (guess someone had dropped something).

Our suite was great, can't really fault it. Two big TVs, one in each room. Kitchen area with fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster etc. The bath was little small, but to be expected in a hotel of it's age. The beds were lovely and comfortable to me, but too soft for my friend, luckily she was relegated to the sofabed which she found to be fine.

Housekeeping was pretty hit and miss for our whole stay, forgetting to replace towels, cups and coffee. Reception always had a stock, so it was easy to replace the missing items, but it was annoying to keep having to ask.

The pool is very small (the pictures online make it look much bigger than it is) and there were only a handful of sun loungers, plenty of table and chairs with parasols though.

TGI Fridays is attached to the hotel, which came in very handy when we had some pretty spectacular storms (which we watched from our 9th floor room window; amazing). We didn't need to go out into the torrential rain to get dinner, like I'm sure others had to, so we were pretty happy. We didn't try their breakfast, however it looked like it'd be a much smaller selection from the buffet area size than you'd get at a Ponderosa etc.

The hotel is one of the closest to Universal, with DoubleTree being the same just across the road. The walk to the Universal is actually quite nice, but we also used the free shuttle a few times.

All in all, if I were going back to Orlando and planned to be going to Universal a lot, I would stay at the Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. If you want a view of Universal, you can't have a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon next time your travels take you to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ive just come back from two weeks staying at the Holiday Inn opposite Universal.

We travelled as a family, Mom, Dad and 5yo son.

The positives

Great location - only 15 minute walk to Universal down a good footpath. We did it several times in the day and evening, no problem (a little hot though on occasion!).
There are several restaurants very close (within walking distance if you don't have a car).
The rooms are quiet and comfortable we got a good nights sleep every night (although the wife did complain about my snoring!)
Front desk staff are helpful and pleasant.
There is a small pool if you fancy a quick swim, but its not the kind of pool you would spend the day sitting around.
Free parking and Wifi (which we used every day)

The negatives

TGI Fridays the attached restaurant is worn and tired it desperately needs an update and isn't the cleanest. Although it is very busy most nights and the staff are helpful and pleasant.
There isn't much else to entertain you at the hotel apart from a small games room.
Limited TV channels.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and our staff at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the tv channel selection, as we felt our 41 channels represented a vast variety for our guests. We do hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville FL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed at other hotels including Holiday Inns. I would just like to inform customers of what to expect at this location. I read TP all the time before I travel to make the best experience for all my trips. First upon arrival an hour earlier then check-in at 4p which was not a problem because sometimes there r rooms available. But at 4p the lobby was full of customers waiting. 4:30 finally got a nice room. Had 3 friends staying in one room together n were having a time getting enough clean towel n fresh for next day. WIFI was free but computer in business center cost money to use. The card eyes for room has to be tried over n over to get it to open doors. Had an adjoining door n could hear the family next door that stayed up very late. Make sure u ask about not getting this kind of room. Good part is the staff are very nice. Easy on n off I-4 interstate hwy.

Room Tip: Make sure there is no adjoining door because u will hear their activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as this will help us review areas of opportunity for continuous improvement. We invite you to stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Candace at the front desk was very sweet and accommodating at 1 in the morning. The room was nice but there was a faint smell of smoke. Didn't know that they still had smoking rooms. TGIF's is connected to the hotel and has a nice breakfast buffet.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonlcms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words and posting such great review. We are thrilled to learn your time with us was most enjoyable, and we will share your great comments with Candace. We are proud of our entire Team of Guest Service Specialists, as they each share the passion to provide the positive memorable stay experience we are known for. Our smoking rooms are only on one floor so we apology you were placed on that floor somehow. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My family came to Orlando for five days. Our stay here at the Holiday Inn was great. The people that work here were very helpful. The hotel was clean, warm and inviting. When we got here, we found our room very clean. We had no trouble sleeping since it was so quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are delighted that you had a great stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We invite you back to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#112 of 337 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing