We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Your Chances”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #165 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take Your Chances”
Reviewed 25 July 2007

I will admit the price and location swayed me into booking this hotel for my 9 year son and I. Be warned, this hotel is old. We had to switch rooms 3 times. #1 was over the kitchen area and the room smelled like propane gas and was filthy. Mold on ceiling and holes in the walls. #2 had pubic hairs on bathroom floor, dried urine on toliet, mold in tub, mold on ceiling and water on the carpet around the AC unit and under the bed by the window. The room also smelled like a sewer. Management finaly put us into a suite which was simple but clean. The pool did not have chlorine, was warm and had a "salty" taste if it got in your mouth (most likely from the users sweat). The pool area was rundown aand in need of some work. The staff were very plesent and TGI Fridays were the saving grace for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floridanative1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    842
    384
    136
    123
See reviews for
942
517
48
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

If you're planning on going to Universal Studios Orlando and you're on a budget, Holiday Inn maingate to Universal (across the street) is definetly the place to book your stay! We had a wonderful experience and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It was clean and comfy and a short walk to Universal/Islands of Adventure/City Walk. Although you do have to cross 5 lanes of traffic initially, the traffic lights do provide you a leisure pace to cross. The walkway to Universal is very clean, peaceful, and tropical. It took us approximately 10 minutes to get to the entrance. Now mind you, this hotel is nothing lavishing or fancy, so if you're looking for something really upscale than you might want to stay in the park and pay a ton of money. But for the price, the Holiday Inn was worth it. The pool was refreshing- and the staff at TGIF's was at hand to serve you food and drinks by the pool. My family and I stayed in a one bedroom suite, (which was great) because we have a teenager and the bedroom provided privacy for my husband and I while my teenage son enjoyed the pull-out sleeper with his own t.v. in the living area. The cleaning service was A+. Our room was cleaned spotless every day and there was plenty of clean towels and extra bedding on hand. Also to keep in mind, while the Double Tree hotel is also within the same vicinity and walking distance, what I didn't like about the Double Tree (if you observe in photos) is that none of their windows open for ventilation. While all the rooms are air conditioned at Holiday Inn (as I'm sure with the Double Tree), at least at the Holiday Inn you're able to get some fresh air from the windows as well. I would definetly recommend this hotel if you're planning a trip to Universal.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank jewlsinri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Rock, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

We stayed here for a week beginning May 29. We had a two room suite which was nice, clean and roomy. There were a couple fo drain/faucet problems which they fixed right away. The fitness center was being renovated so they gave passes to a nearby fitness center. I would bypass the information desk as when we asked for about discounted park tickets, they wanted to take us on a resort sales tour. Had plenty of plug ins for the needs of today's traveler.

We spend most of the time out site seeing so this room met our needs for the week.

  • Liked — The roominess of the room.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank QuiltAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

Never, ever again, this place is the dirtiest place that we are stayed in The United States, the bathroom was stinking and dirty and the room smell like a pig

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rey922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornersville, MO
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

Let me first start by saying, after reading all of the negative reviews on TripAdvisor.com, I was worried about staying at this hotel. However, I did contact the General Manager, Matthew Downs, and he quickly put all of my concerns to rest. He personally gave me all of the personnel contact information that I may need during my stay (just in case something was unsatisfactory during our stay). I could not have asked for better service or a nicer hotel for the price. There were 18 of us and we stayed in 3 of the 2 bedroom suites. It was plenty of room for us. The hotel staff was excellent to deal with and Brenda Keller (the Reservation Manager) made sure all of our needs were met. She is extremely nice, will answer any questions that you may have, and will go out of her way to make sure that your stay is a pleasant one.

The hotel is located very close to Universal Studios. We stayed June 2nd – June 7th, 2007. Check-in went smoothly.

Our suites were located at the end of a long corridor on the 8th and 9th floors. We entered a room with a sleeper sofa, chair, coffee table, TV, small dining table with two chairs and a small "kitchen" that included a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, sink, microwave and a small assortment of dishes, silverware and utensils. The suite had two bedrooms, each with its own bath. Both rooms had two double beds in each bedroom. The bedrooms were nice size. The bedspread, curtains, pillows, etc. seemed to be very new and were of a very nice quality. The bathrooms had a shower/tub room with the toilet and the sink/make-up counter was off the bedroom itself. Everything was reasonably clean. There was plentiful hot water and good water pressure. Small toiletries were provided - mouthwash, shampoo and hand lotion. Lighting was good. Each bedroom had a TV set and adequate storage.

The hotel restaurant is the adjacent TGIF Friday's. They deliver room service and also deliver to the pool area. There is a Walgreens nearby. The hotel has a gift shop, tour desk, shuttles to Universal, business center and pool.

As far as the negative remarks are concerned, I can only say one thing….if you are looking for a 5 star hotel then this hotel will probably not meet all of your needs. However, if you are looking for a 3 star hotel, this hotel will EXCEED all of your expectations. The rooms were very clean upon arrival and the cleaning staff did an excellent job of cleaning up after each of us daily.

Overall, I was very impressed with our stay and will stay there again. Thank you again to Brenda for making sure our stay was a pleasant one.

  • Liked — location / suites
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank nucoryamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

I must be one of the few people who visit this hotel only because I was attending a business convention at a nearby (and infinitely more pleasant) resort hotel, and had zero interest in the theme parks and other attractions nearby. However that resort hotel was double the price of the HI, and that influenced my colleague's and my decision to stay here instead. We survived.
My initial reaction on arrival was that the place was a dump: I was located in a pretty basic, and clearly old, room. Old furniture, peeling wallpaper in the bathroom, with stains I didn't even want to think about. And with room-service food from TGIF, it doesn't get much worse (in a mainstream US city, that is). My colleague was upgraded to a suite on level 7, and although it was somewhat cheerier than my cell, it was nothing special. This is a very basic HI, and given its proximity to Universal, and the relatively cheap price, one could do worse. Although, the morning TV bulletins about tourists being attacked in other motels in the immediate vicinity tended to amplify the slightly seedy atmosphere and added a certain frisson of danger.
Otherwise, the front-desk staff did nothing wrong, and were pleasant in my brief dealings with them. The room was made up properly every day, and I left with my health and luggage intact. This was despite the risk of combustion from the maze of wires and cables under the desk, where I enjoyed complimentary high-speed internet. (See picture.) I know that electrical equipment is an afterthought at many hotels, but this particular array of wires, cables, plugs and devices must surely set some sort of record.

  • Liked — Reasonably cheap and handy location
  • Disliked — TGIF supplies the food
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AntonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

I spent two days arriving to Orlando with my partner. It was very conveniently located in Orlando and very close to Universal Studios, where we spent the following morning.
Hotel is nothing special. Very family-esque with screaming kids in the swimming pool. Staff are friendly and you can use their free shuttle service to go to Universal Studios.
We wanted to use their gym, but they were refurbishing it, so they gave us free passes to an even better gymnasium, which was a nice treat.
Overall a little bit worn out, old furniture, but clean and handy for Universal studios

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kyrikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#114 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing