We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy even for an economy hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East
Ranked #227 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unhappy even for an economy hotel.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Here is the letter I wrote to customer service tonight. On top of the issue addressed in the letter, we called the front desk to ask for clothes hangers ( the room had none) they never brought any. We had to go to the front desk and get them ourselves.

I'm staying in the hotel now and am disappointed with my room. My daughter and I Specifically choose a Jacuzzi tub room and paid the extra $$. We are only here for the night (attending an event tomorrow) and thought the tub would be a fun addition to our busy day. The problem is that there is so much black gook being spewed from the jets I wouldn't let my dogs get in that water. We filled, ran and drained the tub three times and still can't get rid of the slime. If I were you I would be ashamed in the grossness that is this tub. Not only is it nasty but Im sure it is also a health hazard.

I won't be coming back to Holiday Inn Express. I realize this is an economy hotel but it should at least be clean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlancaBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bal G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear BlancaBunny,

Thank you for taking time to write a candid review of our Holiday Inn Express Orlando Ocoee East. We sincerely apologize for issues you encountered during your stay. Please know that our Maintenance department has been diligently working through some challenges to ensure our guests’ comfort. However, a compensation was provided during your check out by GM of the hotel with 50% off your bill.

It our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to contact us.


Sincerely,
Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    47
    19
    6
    10
See reviews for
57
33
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The staff was very helpful with sharing information about the area and taking care of my needs. Nice breakfast which had raisins and walnuts for the oatmeal. Safe and comfortable place to stay. Very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streamwood, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Denise is a gem! She’s a wealth of information for anything you need to know and she will make sure your stay is great! Not just Denise, but Usha and the rest of the staff were all awesome!

Our room was clean when we arrived and was well kept up with during our stay. The pool is simple but clean and roomy. My sister and I enjoyed the palm trees as we floated on our blow up rafts while we burned in the afternoon sun while the rest of the family went to the parks…what more could we ask for.

Breakfast is the usual Holiday Inn, but this one seemed to have better cheese omelets. They were browned around the edges and the cheese seemed more real than that Velveeta type. So is Greek yogurt new for Holiday Inn? It wasn’t available in February. Glad they have it now…(Chobani).

Overall, this is a very good place to stay. It’s only 15 minutes from Universal and there are plenty of restaurants and stores within a couple of miles but not in the heavy tourist traffic area. We always found a close parking place at night between 9 and 10 PM even when the hotel was full.

We would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed there for one night due to some home repairs. The ac stopped working around midnight; the gentleman stated that the fan was working and wanted to move us but our son was not feeling well and we did not want to move so late in the night..the breakfast was not much to talk about. The room had some damage by the window; I asked the front desk if there was anyone to send up to assist me and my son with our lugguage (since my husband left to go to work); she said no and a guest ended up assisting me to my car with my luggage...there were male employees there that could of helped but the front desk clerk appeared to not care as much until I told her that i would not recommend anyone to stay at hotel for that price. The clerk did give a 10 % discount for our inconvenience but the hotel still lacked adequate customer service and values were poor.

Room Tip: make sure that the staff acknowledge your concerns and attend to it before a guest does!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mal1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bal G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Mal1888

Thank you for taking the time to write a candid review of your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Orlando Ocoee East. We're terribly disappointed to have fallen short on your expectations during your stay with us. Please know we take your comments very seriously and have shared your review with the entire hotel staff! As we continue to work on improvements, we hope that you will visit us again! Thank you again for your feedback!

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I used my points to book this place because there was no availability closer to Disney,its location is really poor for any of the parks, and is in a rundown area of Orlando,lots of the buildings on the main street are boarded up or closed
,the reception area nice and clean , the two ladies on reception did not have name tags on them so i don't know there names, did not greet me as a IHG member, no free water was offered,(not that i care, but i stay in holiday inns most weeks) and that is a nice touch,
anyway , the room was a king on the 3rd floor, fairly nice room but stains on the carpet in the hallway and in the room, the chair had a tear in it, air conditioner very noisy, there was a microwave and a fridge in the room both worked good,
however the room generally was not very clean, the staff were very indifferant to the hotel guests i never heard them say to any guest in the three days we were there good morning or any greeting , the only staff member that did a great job was Karen in the dining room, who filled up the breakfast items very quickly and was very helpfull to the hordes of people in the dining room ,the other strange thing is the ice and soda mahines or only on every other floor
considering the hotel is not very old it generally is in poor state , needs cleaning properly top to bottom and all the staff need retraining,i would not stay there again , there are much better Holiday inns and other hotels around Orlando for the same price .

Room Tip: world plaza hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear hotelguide1950,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied with the location of our hotel and the service you received did not live up to your expectations. We also apologize for the room accommodations you had was less than satisfactory. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a good place because it was close to my work site, otherwise I would not have stayed in this location. It's close to all the eating locations, but not close to the outlet malls. The staff was nice, the room was ok.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacolemanjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This place is very dated. I got it via Hotwire which showed really great reviews. But the reality it is junk. For nearly the same price you can get something much better that doesn't have dirty sheets, dirty floors... I will not even try breakfast in the morning. I do not recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brunodeatlanta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Brunodeatlanta1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Best Western Orlando West
#236 of 339 in Orlando
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgewater Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winter Garden
547 reviews
Florida Center
Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn
#55 of 339 in Orlando
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East
Address: 7474 W Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL 32818-6747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Orlando/Ocoee, Florida, just 15 minutes from beautiful downtown Orlando. Conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers, our beautiful 104-room property is centrally located to some of the world's most famous family attractions such as: Walt Disney World, Universal Studios, SeaWorld, Aquatica, Discovery Cove, and Wet 'n Wild. Start your day with our Express Start breakfast or work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center. We provide a complimentary business center and meeting space for your social/business events. For our valued guests with allergies, our hotel is a non-smoking and pet-free hotel. Also, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Orlando/Ocoee is within short drives to several state-of-the-art medical institutions and Florida's largest public college, theUniversity of Central Florida. Central Florida Fairgrounds is also located close by.We are within walking distance to several area restaurants, including: Logan's Road House, Chuck E Cheese's, Ale House, Red Lobster, Chili's and Olive Garden Beautiful Starke Lake, located in Ocoee is close by for boating activities, such as fishing, tubing, water skiing, and jet skiing riding. On the shore of the lake are picnic areas and a dock for fishing. Let the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Orlando/Ocoee be 'your home away from home.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Orlando-Ocoee East
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing