We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel
Ranked #292 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
glasgow, scotland, uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for money hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Ok so the hotel could do with some TLC but overall great value for money. Location is brilliant across from wet and wild. i trolley stop, KFC, pizza shop and 24 hour walgreen ( handy for your coffee, juice and snacks) are only a few yards away.15 minute direct walk to universal studios. Rooms cleaned every day with fresh towels supplied, staff very helpfull phoning taxi's, giving directions and information on local attractions Down stairs is a laundry room with microwave and ice, juice and snack machines. Small pool which we had to ourself most days with plenty of sun loungersto catch some rays. It also has a games room next to the pool. Overall it is excellent value for money and my son is arranging to return next year with his friends.. :D

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool might get some noise,so ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ziggypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    396
    472
    205
    314
See reviews for
563
403
97
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We got this hotel as part of a package. We were very nervous before coming, as we read some terrible reviews. We nearly paid for another hotel!
When we got there, yes it need TLC but it looked OK. The lady at recpetion was nice and helpful. We stayed in room number 317. It was nice, clean and spacious room. It definitely suited our needs! Everyone is saying it is dirty- but we didn't think so. The maid came in every day and spent quite a while in the rooms.
The pool was really good- a nice way to relax after a day at the parks!
Watch out for people who post flyers through your door! Tell reception immediately- as they shouldn't be there!
This hotel is very close to Universal- which is very good!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Although this is a budget hotel, I explained to the staff that budget does not mean filthy.

Stayed here for 8 nights. The bathroom was smelly. There was grime around the edge of the bathroom. When I ran a cotton wool bud along the floor it was black. The shower did not work properly. The cabinets in the room were dirty.

NO MATTRESS OR PILLOW PROTECTORS under the sheets meaning that everyones drawl etc was in direct contact with your face/body in contradiction to hospitality regulations.

When politely explaining these problems to the Front Desk Manager (a Russian male) he was abrupt, rude, did not understand and became argumentative. He then handed me over to the Housekeeping Manager who listened, was understanding and helpful. He had the room deep cleaned however this does not help how tired the rooms look.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this disgrace of a hotel. Shame on them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisBSouth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

im a bit late writing this but ah well, we went to orlando as part of our honeymoon last year, (20 may) we wanted a hotel near the main attractions and somewhere to sleep.
this hotel was clean, the staff were very help full, its in a fantastic location....$6 for a taxi to universal, r a 10 min walk. ..disney is a lot further away but we were not so interested in that. the staff were always helpfull if we needing information. the hotel is across from wet and wild, there is an ihop bus stop outside, plenty food places, and there are a few bus routes too.
the only downside of the hotel was the breakfast, it was only toast and cereal....but to be quite honest there are so so many cheap food places around that you dont nee dto have breakfast in the hotel
it is a busy hotel, there were a lot of kids there when we were, which could be quite annoying.....but everyone is there to have a good time!!!
our room was cleaned every day and we got fresh towels....there is a plaque in the bedroom, if you want your bed stripped then you put it on the bed, we only done this once, and the bed was stripped and made fresh.......all the people moaning about not having a stripped and fresh bed everyday....do you do that at home??? i doubt it, so why moan about it on holiday??
they have free wi-fi in the lobby and at certain areas by the pool.
i would stay at this hotel again no bother, its good value for money, its a basic hotel and you have to keep this in mind when you go, if your looking for a good location, and a clean hotel its great!!! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbierobb109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights... and they were most definitely 8 of the most horrible nights of my Hotel life. Yes, we didn't pay a lot for the experience so I expected old, what I did not expect was grime... EVERYWHERE! The first day we checked in convincingly, although the woman behind the desk was abrupt at best, you couldn't exactly call it a welcome. Upon checking in we found 7 long womans hairs throughout the room... the bathroom was filthy and contained 4 of these. There were small (fruit?) flies absolutely everywhere in the bathroom. The fan in the bathroom was caked in dust and dirt. The shower mat we were afraid to use (so didn't) as it was black. We tried the WiFi which although there was a signal, didn't work, after calling front desk it turned out that a seperate signal only worked in the lobby... totally useless. We were absolutely exhaused so decided to just climb into bed, which was the only half decent thing about the room as the beds were comfy. In the morning, we were better rested, less eager to criticise and decided to continue with our holiday, expecting that this was just a poor clean the day before. There were 3 more hairs on the bathroom door... and they were still there when we returned, for 4 days in a row. After day 4 we decided to strip the beds ourselves as they just remade them each time, upon doing so we discovered there was a single mattress protector on the double and a missing pillow protector, which are Florida Tourism requirements. When questioned about the cleanliness and protectors, the Front Desk Manager didn't even know what a mattress or pillow protector actually was until summoned into the back office where we heard him being advised as to what we were talking about by we assume, the General Manager (who never appeared). Eventually we were given the Rooms Manager to speak to who instructed the housekeeper as to what was missed, it was cleaned again and still as filthy as the first time. Eventually he came and did it himself (the first indication that maybe, our custom was valued). We gave them adequate chance to bother to clean the room to an acceptable state over the 4 days, but it remained the same day after day, and almost noone seemed to care. Back to the WiFi, in the evening the lobby was packed, and the WiFi system simply couldn't take the pressure so essentially it was utterly useless to everyone. We could have got a far better deal by spending an extra $50 and I urge you never to stay here, and to actually pay the extra money to go somewhere else. Even at the price paid, this was NOT value for money.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IcyPlanetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Continental Plaza is basic but adequate if you are wanting somewhere to use as a base.

Here's my main observations...

*The self service breakfast room has been replaced with a cafe
*The room was clean
*The whole place is a bit old and shabby looking
*There were lots of hairs in the towels provided
*There is nothing plaza or continental about it, it's more like a motel
*There is only wi-fi in the lobby not the rooms
*The pool was clean and the seating around it never got too busy
*The staff were a bit rough and ready and far too busy to say hello but helpful when approached
*The location is fantastic - it's across from Wet and Wild (3 mins walk) Universal is a 20 mins walk and coaches pick you up and take you to disney for free

It's perfectly fine if you aren't wanting to spend much time in your room, if you are easily put off by shabbiness and a basic service then you might want to try somewhere else.

Chris

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christocatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

ok, well as i had read the reviews before we travelled but ...after...we had booked i was not expecting too much. firstly the room was ok , clean and the maid service was daily and very good.the furniture is old but functional. and served its purpose, the fridge in the room was a welcome bonus .the reception staff were helpfull and friendly and the pool was clean with plenty of loungers available.local restaurants are close by and walmarts supply all the everyday things you may need. universal is about 15 mins walk away.international drive is 2 mins walk where you can get buses or i trolley to disney(there is a free shuttle from the motel which is ok but only 7.30am and 11.30am and 6pm,9pm return).if all you want is a place to sleep then this is fine. its a budget hotel and you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: we were in a room at the side of the hotel and we couldnt hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolag2860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#246 of 337 in Orlando
1,469 reviews
Heart of I-Drive
#289 of 337 in Orlando
811 reviews
Florida Center
Floridian Express
Floridian Express
#296 of 337 in Orlando
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Orlando
#196 of 337 in Orlando
320 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#215 of 337 in Orlando
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel

Property: Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel
Address: 6825 Visitors Cir, Orlando, FL 32819-8227 (Formerly Riande Continental Plaza)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi located only in lobby and pool areas. Free shuttle to theme parks Close to several attractions and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Plaza Orlando
Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing