We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel
Ranked #293 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not recommended!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our first impression should have warned us what we were getting into!
The lobby was filled with OLD armchairs all of them worn out, with big slits in the upholstery and sagging seats and there were black plastic "massage chairs" were lined up along the outer wall. The man at reception could barely speak English.
The rooms were filled with old, beat up furniture, the bathroom was small a had some mold, but it was not too bad. Although there was an ironing board in the room, there was no iron. The bed sagged in the middle and the room was not well cleaned. All in all not a comfortable feeling room or hotel.
The location was not bad...there is a Denny´s, IHOP and Red Lobster within walking distance. But you would be better served to book at the near-by La Quinta for the same price!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie25524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    396
    474
    205
    315
See reviews for
565
403
98
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Spent a few days here over Christmas 2013. The room was clean and well enough equipped but there's nothing fancy about it. The staff on reception are very pleasant and helpful. There's also a tourist information desk onsite which is handy if you want to book any trips or buy theme park tickets - assuming you haven't already done so before arriving. A free shuttle bus runs from the hotel once a day (in the morning) to Universal and return around 8.00pm which gives you a good bit of time in the park. Wet and Wild is quite literally across the road. Within a couple of minutes walk there's a few shops including a large Walgreens which is primarily a chemist but stocks a bit of everything. There's a KFC on the corner and a few steps further a Black Angus Steakhouse - which is pretty good. There's bus stop outside on I Drive which runs every 20 mins or so taking you either further up or down I Drive where you'll find a variety of premium outlet malls, and restaurants.
On the negative side I would say don't go expecting luxury - you're not paying for it so don't expect it. There is no doubt the place could do with a face-lift but we certainly didn't encounter any of the apparent horrors that some of the previous posts mention - ie, dirty bedding, bugs, damaged fixtures and fittings etc. - perhaps we were lucky.

Room Tip: the poor rating I have given for the restaurant and fitness centre is because there is neither. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Ok.. before I start the review - Can I just say that I always stay at budget hotels and never really have any issues.

The continental plaza is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. We arrived on the 23rd of December and Natalia was on the front desk, probably the best member of staff that they have, and we had to change room 3 times due to the disgusting smell. We settled on room 408 (top floor and has a view of wet n wild and Universal-one of the only good things about the place.) One way i've been describing this place to friends is for them to think of 'my name is earl'. Basically you enter the room on a balcony and the outside wall is 1 big window.. so you can't leave the curtain open at all if you're in the room! There isn't a window to open either .. so the only way to get air into the room is with the air con which is loud! The rooms smell of damp and the closets have mould patches on them. The cleaners didn't clean the rooms on a daily basis even though the latest we left was around 11am (we even left some crumbs on the floor to see if they hoovered, but they were still on the floor for about 3 days). The sheets smelt weird and im pretty sure the top cover has never been washed!
The hairdryer didn't work... there was no Iron in the room although there was an ironing board! The Safe didn't work at first! There were weird brown stains on the bath. The Fridge was so cold that everything we put in there was frozen solid by the next day.
Some of the good things- 15 min walk to Universal Studios, Wet n Wild over the road and and iride stop outside the hotel. BUT there are so many hotels close by and you'd get these benefits and a nicer hotel!
If this hasn't put you off then you'll have to learn the hard way! We had to and stayed there over Christmas! we even booked a night at a different hotel for 1 evening! Don't do it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is that is close to Universal and because we waited till the last minute to make a hotel reservation for New Year's Eve we had not many choices I will never stay at this property againg

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alina42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The place was filthy, stains on the carpet & black with grime. Cigarette burns in soft furnishings, everything was sticky, shower had holes in plastic moulding & mould too, my partner went & mentioned the extractor in the bathroom was clogged & needed cleaning as it was making a terrible noise (staff just disconnected it!!) towels thread bare. To cap it all off I got bitten every night, been told since I'd been attacked by bed bugs. We wouldn't stay here again or recommend anyone staying here. Econolodge cheap & immaculate (stayed in one)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We arrived at this hotel in the evening and asked about a shuttle to Universal studios, was told they did not have one. 1st problem. Secondly we were on the second floor and the room was horrible, from the bed, pillows, blankets to the bugs on the floor in the bathroom. 2nd problem. In the morning we contacted AARP who booked our trip and were told to go to another hotel. Sure, with what money that we have already put out. In the meantime we spoke to a very nice woman at the front desk who apolgized and transferred our room to the 4th floor. Not much better. 3rd problem. There was no cold water in the room, and there were lightbulbs out. We complained again and asked that the problems be taken care of. We were told they would be. We also asked again about the shuttle and of course there is one. We left for the day and upon our return we opened our door to find the room was never cleaned, still no cold water and the lightbulbs were still out. 4th problem. We called the front desk again, and was told that they do not change sheets, ok, how about cleaning the room. They stated that the do not disturb sign was up. 5th problem. That would of been a logical answer, yet we had no sign in the room. We then tried to use our WIFI and her is the 6th problem. You can only get WIFI in the lobby and the two workstations were out of order. Now the next day comes and you know what I am going to say. We were out all day and came back to a dirty room with still no hot water. 7th problem. We went downstairs once again, were told that they just missed the room and that they would clean it tomorrow. We asked to be moved to another room or be compensated for all of this and basically were told that the hotel was sold out and only the GM could do anything about refunds or discounts. Do yourself a favor, don't book with AARP if you are going to stay at this hotel or any other booking companies. Pay the extra and get a good night rest.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has been updated if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjkary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I will start by saying we have stayed at this hotel before and do not expect luxury at a bargain price but oh how this place has gone downhill. The first room we were given was filthy but after arriving late at night we went straight to bed. we changed rooms in the morning but this was just as bad if not worse. In the past this Hotel has offered a free breakfast but not any longer which is probably just as well given the state of the place.The in room safe didn't open and after maintenance man attended and failed to open, he told us supervisor would attend ('m still waiting) . In all honesty i didn't want to touch the safe as it looked like it had never been cleaned ugh!!!. The furniture was old and the air conditioning unit was working but protective grills were smashed and elements showing, dangerous if kids in room. The wi-fi is only available in reception area and can take 20 mins to connect with 30-40 people trying to use at the same time. My advice is go to KFC next door and use there which is free and fast. Reception staff were friendly and helpful especially Natalia who we knew from previous visit. The female who works on guest services seems to think everyone is deaf as she bawls at the top of her voice at everyone, not good. We use this hotel as its really convenient for shops,restaurants, transport etc but this will be the last time. There are nicer hotels close by and just as good value. I never saw the pool being cleaned in the nine days i was there, needless to say we stayed clear. Its a real pity this has happened as on previous visits we have enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#245 of 338 in Orlando
1,480 reviews
Heart of I-Drive
#289 of 338 in Orlando
816 reviews
Grand Hotel Orlando
#188 of 338 in Orlando
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Floridian Express
Floridian Express
#298 of 338 in Orlando
1,498 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#218 of 338 in Orlando
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel

Property: Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel
Address: 6825 Visitors Cir, Orlando, FL 32819-8227 (Formerly Riande Continental Plaza)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi located only in lobby and pool areas. Free shuttle to theme parks Close to several attractions and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Plaza Orlando
Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing